We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,764)
Filter reviews
2,764 results
Traveller rating
1,860
576
185
86
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,860
576
185
86
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green park a park view room buckingham palace afternoon tea mini bar the main hotel secret hotel nespresso machine piccadilly circus home from home hyde park five star hotel an upgrade lovely room deluxe room birthday treat the ritz
Filter
Updating list...
1,717 - 1,722 of 2,764 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel
As it was my birthday my room was upgraded to a suite with a cake
Fantastic service and fabulous suite
Perfect location within a easy walk to the tube and only a short walk to Piccadilly.
Would definitely stay again

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Thelanes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We think it is wonderful that you chose to spend your birthday with us! Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here with my friend I was welcomed my a charming and very friendly doorman named Jim who made me feel extremely welcome after checking in and visiting the beautiful room we went to the restaurant and met a lovely waiter called Pedro who worked very hard to ensure the service and experience was fantastic.

Can not recommend the hotel Enough was lovely and can't wait to stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edyta307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for recommending us! This will make Jim and Pedro's day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just spent one night in this hotel whilst visiting London, and this hotel was every bit as good (and more) as the reviews we read.

Firstly the excellent staff. We were met by Jim the doorman who carried our cases in and then valet parked our car nearby, then Betty at reception made us very welcome when booking in. We were then shown our room which was spacious, well appointed, with comfy bed and large flat screen TV. We were then advised apart from alcoholic, everything in the mini bar was complimentary such as soft drinks, crisps and chocolate. Also tea and coffee making in the room. The en suite was also of high standard with large shower.

The location was great (which is why we chose it), and very close to Hyde Park and just a short easy walk to Harrods. The Hyde Park underground (on the Piccadilly Line) was just a few minutes up the road which took us strait into Covent Garden. Also nearby are as good selection of restaurants including Hard Rock Cafe (just a few doors up) and Prezzos just around the corner.

The cosy bar was great for a quiet evening drink, and breakfast in the garden room was a really pleasant experience.

Granted the hotel is not cheap, but then this is Mayfair. We did "shop around" for the best price and the discounted one we chose included continental breakfast which suited us fine. Bear in mind though if you have a car there will be a daily charge for parking, we paid around £35.00 and the car was valet parked (by Jim) when we arrived, and returned to outside (by John) when we were ready to leave. What more could you ask.

What else can I say, except thanks to all the staff who made our very short stay such a pleasant experience. We look forward to returning.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are so pleased that you felt at home with us and enjoyed the fabulous location! We are very lucky having the best of London on our doorstep. The team will be delighted that you mentioned them by name, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home - and do feel free to book directly with our best rate guarantee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just stayed one night in an apartment but hotel was very nice. Mini bar comped, concierge great. Staff overall very helpful. Would definitely go back when next in London. Right near St James park which is nice for getting out. Duck food in room for the kids as well.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnClimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here as a birthday treat for him. Firstly we were greeted by the bellman who took our bags and asked for our names. We arrived early and were shown our room straight away which was very pleasing as I had arranged a busy day for us. We then went downstairs to the spa - massage was amazing. On leaving to go to the Marylebone, the bellman complimented us on our way out. On arriving back to our room late that evening, we were surprised with a cake and a note that wished my boyfriend a happy birthday! On the next morning, we went down for breakfast which was divine! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that something special.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmvb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words; we are so pleased we could be part of your special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews