We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #138 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Good service, nice building, perfect location at a reasonable price.
The people are very kind and open to help.
The breakfast was stunning! Not very big choices, but everything was really good (I suggest the smoothies).
Highly recommended for business and holiday stays.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Belinteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you feel we are kind and helpful. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel
As it was my birthday my room was upgraded to a suite with a cake
Fantastic service and fabulous suite
Perfect location within a easy walk to the tube and only a short walk to Piccadilly.
Would definitely stay again

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Thelanes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We think it is wonderful that you chose to spend your birthday with us! Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here with my friend I was welcomed my a charming and very friendly doorman named Jim who made me feel extremely welcome after checking in and visiting the beautiful room we went to the restaurant and met a lovely waiter called Pedro who worked very hard to ensure the service and experience was fantastic.

Can not recommend the hotel Enough was lovely and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edyta307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for recommending us! This will make Jim and Pedro's day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just spent one night in this hotel whilst visiting London, and this hotel was every bit as good (and more) as the reviews we read.

Firstly the excellent staff. We were met by Jim the doorman who carried our cases in and then valet parked our car nearby, then Betty at reception made us very welcome when booking in. We were then shown our room which was spacious, well appointed, with comfy bed and large flat screen TV. We were then advised apart from alcoholic, everything in the mini bar was complimentary such as soft drinks, crisps and chocolate. Also tea and coffee making in the room. The en suite was also of high standard with large shower.

The location was great (which is why we chose it), and very close to Hyde Park and just a short easy walk to Harrods. The Hyde Park underground (on the Piccadilly Line) was just a few minutes up the road which took us strait into Covent Garden. Also nearby are as good selection of restaurants including Hard Rock Cafe (just a few doors up) and Prezzos just around the corner.

The cosy bar was great for a quiet evening drink, and breakfast in the garden room was a really pleasant experience.

Granted the hotel is not cheap, but then this is Mayfair. We did "shop around" for the best price and the discounted one we chose included continental breakfast which suited us fine. Bear in mind though if you have a car there will be a daily charge for parking, we paid around £35.00 and the car was valet parked (by Jim) when we arrived, and returned to outside (by John) when we were ready to leave. What more could you ask.

What else can I say, except thanks to all the staff who made our very short stay such a pleasant experience. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are so pleased that you felt at home with us and enjoyed the fabulous location! We are very lucky having the best of London on our doorstep. The team will be delighted that you mentioned them by name, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home - and do feel free to book directly with our best rate guarantee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just stayed one night in an apartment but hotel was very nice. Mini bar comped, concierge great. Staff overall very helpful. Would definitely go back when next in London. Right near St James park which is nice for getting out. Duck food in room for the kids as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnClimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here as a birthday treat for him. Firstly we were greeted by the bellman who took our bags and asked for our names. We arrived early and were shown our room straight away which was very pleasing as I had arranged a busy day for us. We then went downstairs to the spa - massage was amazing. On leaving to go to the Marylebone, the bellman complimented us on our way out. On arriving back to our room late that evening, we were surprised with a cake and a note that wished my boyfriend a happy birthday! On the next morning, we went down for breakfast which was divine! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that something special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmvb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words; we are so pleased we could be part of your special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My fiancee and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. On arrival, we got an upgrade to a park view room which was a wonderful way to start our trip. Thank you Serena in Guest Services. The staff - from housekeeping, the bellman, front desk, the waiters to the concierge - were all so pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Special cudos to housekeeping who seemed to make our room twice per day and to Darren The Concierge who was so helpful in suggesting restaurants and our sighseeing. The location is fantastic; a 10 minute walk from the hotel in either direction will take you to Harrods in one direction and to Piccadilly Circus and the Theater District in another. The Hotel while older had a great English feel which is something we were looking for in a London hotel. The Hotel is small, and all staff seemed to know our names, which helped made the hotel feel very cozy and intimate. Again, just what we were looking for. The restaurant had great food, including a very nice Thanksgiving turkey dinner, and if you like whiskey, the bar is the place to be as it seemed to have more times there than I knew every existed. Free snacks and soft drinks in the mini bar were also a great touch. All in all a great trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your review Henry; you have picked up on all the things we try really hard to provide for our guests, e.g. a London home! I am really pleased that you had such a wonderful time and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#69 of 1,081 in London
1,147 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#118 of 1,081 in London
1,950 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#140 of 1,081 in London
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#41 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £236 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing