We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #153 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We booked through lastminute.com with one of their top secret hotel deals. We were delighted after reading the reviews on here and were very much looking forward to our stay. We had two rooms and stayed for one night, the location was ideal for what we had planned. We walked to Victoria from here, winter wonderland and the Ritz is just a few minutes walk away. Location is worth every penny!
We didn't eat here or have breakfast as we had other plans but the rooms were very clean, very comfortable and the team on the front desk/doorman couldn't have been more helpful. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of age or occasion, certainly 5-star.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank 8-HappyTraveller-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
There are newer reviews for The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our first visit but I´m sure it won´t be the last. It was a weekend special offer and we are very glad that we chose it. The room was very comfortable with some special touches such as the coffee machine. All staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was first class. Location was perfect. Bar prices were quite expensive but staff really went out of their way, such as creating custom cocktails!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for the five star review! It's great to hear you met our sommelier and enjoyed a custom made cocktail!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I have been coming here for about 20 years and have never been disappointed. The staff has always been attentive and caring . They go out of their way to accommodate. Pricing may seem a bit high, but there is good value here for a London hotel of this quality. The location is hard to beat - across the street is Green Park and a convenient walk to the Palace, should you need to see the Queen (we saw her driving out the gate in a Range Rover one morning).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We love hearing from our regular guests, thank you for reviewing us! Such luck to have spotted The Queen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was booked in to this hotel at late notice through work and it turned out to be a fantastic treat:

- the room was contemporary but very comfy, perfectly clean and fairly spacious
- nice location although a bit of a hike down to Piccadilly Circus if you are carrying bags
- great restaurant, with some great menu choices
- extremely friendly, fast & helpful check-in & check-out

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wf1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thanks for the kind words about our rooms and restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I brought a friend here for the quintessential English "Afternoon Tea" experience, as a surprise birthday treat. Many hotels in London offer this but Athenaeum had won the Teamaster's Guild overall prize in 2012 so I figured it had to be good. We were not disappointed - a sumptuous sitting room, 14 different tea blends, traditional sandwiches (as many extra sandwiches as you want!) delicate petit fours and lovely homemade cream & jam on scones. We stayed for a good 2 hours and enjoyed every second of it! Champagne trolley available for those who want to splash out :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mweernink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you, we love Afternoon Tea too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here and found it very cosy and intimate, an therefore a nice environment for a woman travelling alone on business. I took advantage of the spa and sampled the afternoon tea which really deserves its top ranking.

Room Tip: 909 is a super suite - would recommend it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

It is great to hear you felt safe with us Sue! We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stand in one of the apartments. Excellent service from start to finish the Staff where welcoming and extremely helpful, the apartment was well appointed. Well worth the 5* rating and more highly recommend we will definitely be booking again next year when we revisit London. Excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

So pleased to hear that you felt welcome in your London home - our apartments really are perfect for a couples weekend! Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,072 in London
1,109 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,072 in London
1,749 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £244 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing