We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Luxury in Mayfair!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“A touch of Luxury in Mayfair!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

While on an overnight business trip during December in London, I stayed overnight at the Athenaeum on Piccadilly. Arrived at the hotel around noon, assuming that I would be too early to check in but hoping to leave a bag in the care of the concierge while attending business and dinner meetings. I was delighted to discover that my room was ready so that I could unpack and have a Nespresso in my room before heading out again. I was also impressed by the efforts of front desk staff to find a recharger for my Mac Book Air (which I had omitted to pack) and by the elegant yet cosy Christmassy feel of the lounge and the lobby. Green Park Tube is just a few minutes walk from the hotel and taxis are plentiful in the area. My room was kitted out in a manner which befitted its 5-star status (and price) and the wifi and iPod docking station, along with the Nespresso machine, all made me feel like this was "home from home". In my experience, hotel beds that are as comfortable as my own are a rarity indeed and while the beds in the Athenaeum are comfortable, I am not one of those guests who is prepared to phone down looking for a different type of pillow in the middle of the night. My in-room Nespresso machine again came into its own for breakfast and shower/toiletries were as good as you would expect. I cannot comment on the hotel breakfast as I didn't stop to enjoy it. This is a well appointed hotel and if you are not looking for a budget stay, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for a lovely review Anne. We are so pleased that you felt at home! Thank you for highlighting our staff too, its means the world to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    503
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,057
103
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have to admit this is the best 5-star hotel I've ever been to. I can still remember the whole experience as a fairy tale. Great location as it is near Green Park, excellent taste in decoration-from the pictures on the walls and the furniture (king-sized bed with all comforts) to the marble type used in the bathroom. In the morning my friend and I had breakfast in our room, and it was just like the movies. Silver teapots and porcelain plates, british muffins, porridge, english tea. Nothing to say about the room service, appropriate behaviour and appearance. Also, kind and helpful bellboys and reception. In all, a posh environment with amazing organisation and atmosphere. You should visit it if you feel like spoiling yourselves ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie-Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for this gorgeous review, your time sounds well spent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My Husband and I were lucky enough to be guests at the Athenaeum in the run up to Christmas. It was happy mixture of business and leisure and we could not have been better looked after in either regard. The hotel looked beautifully decorated for Christmas. All the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. We also went to the Keeper's House the new Royal Academy of Art's cocktail bar. It was a memorable visit for all the right reasons and hope to be a guest or having a business function there in 2014 as we were so well looked after. Thank you.

Room Tip: There is a beautiful meeting room overlooking the Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
It's lovely to hear that you were so well looked after! Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A lovely hotel with pleasant staff. The room that I was given was an apartment which seemed not to be located in the main hotel area. The route to the room was very long winded and the route that I was taken, seemed to be the "back of house" area being taken in a service lift - not something that you expect when staying in a hotel like that.
The way to the room was confusing and I managed to get lost on a couple of occasions.

The room itself was lovely, nice and spacious with plenty of hanging space for my clothes. As the room I had was on the ground floor, facing on to a side street it was surprisingly quite.

I would stay at this hotel again, but most likely would try and request a room rather than an apartment type room purely for the fact of convenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emz2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite your misgivings about the service lift. We are undergoing lift refurbishment to provide an even better experience for our guests, and so we have made use of our service lifts when the guest lifts have been unavailable. This should have been explained to you and we are sad to hear that this put a dampener on an otherwise five star experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and restoring your faith in us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We fancied a few days in London again to experience the Christmas ambience.So we booked in again for a few days at "OUR LONDON HOME",The Athenaeum Hotel,which we so love.So friendly and welcoming.Again this year we did a lot of walking around to see the London sites.
The bedroom was so comfortable with everything to make our stay just right with drinks and refreshments in our room,all that we could need. Staff so attentative.The breakfasts were wonderful and set you up for the day.Evening meals were excellent too.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward again to the next time.

Room Tip: ask reception to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that we are your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We booked through Secret Escapes and were up-graded to a king room with a side view of St James' park in the 5th floor. The room was lovely, very comfortable, beautifully decorated and very quiet. The location of this hotel is spot on. The staff were wonderful and welcomed us 'home'. The only negative was the turn down service at 10.30 pm which was a little late, I refused at that time of night and the lady was very sweet and asked me if I needed anything for the room and supplied me with a new box of tissues as we had run out. We will certainly be returning. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Delighted to hear that you will be returning Sue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This place never fails. We arrived at 11 am on a Saturday expecting our bags to be stored whilst we went to lunch. Instead Lewis on reception did all he could to give us an available room so we were checked in by 11.15! All staff are obviously well-trained and it shows. Rooms are very nice and London sized but well appointed, great linen/goose feather duvets/etc

We had the tasting menu (7 courses with champagne wine and single malts for £99! This is central London. You can spend that in Nandos!

Of course it isn't cheap but it is special. We'll go back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BumpkinWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for complimenting our staff, it means such a lot to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,088 in London
1,071 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,088 in London
800 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#209 of 1,088 in London
4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing