We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #157 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend! ”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I took my wife here for her 30th birthday and we had an amazing time from the moment we arrived. The doorman Jim welcomed us in and the lady at reception took us up to our room which she had upgraded. The view was lovely of the park and to our surprise a wonderful birthday cake arrived to our room. The room was spacious for Mayfair and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was also top notch. Great location. Overall, the athenaeum made our weekend very special and we would return without hesitation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightfox2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are delighted to have been part of such a special celebration! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    513
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,085
104
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visited the hotel for afternoon tea as part of my birthday celebrations and once again had a delightful experience. The food is plentiful and delicious, and staff went out of their way to treat our young daughter like a VIP and ensure that she enjoyed the afternoon. Service was superb and at no point did we feel rushed. We'll be sure to return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LellyCaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I took my wife and younger daughter for tea for my wife's birthday today. My wife has a serious egg allergy and I requested in advance that whatever the chef could make for her without eggs would be appreciated. That was confirmed and she had sandwiches without egg, scones especially made without eggs and a selection of deserts again without egg. Indeed as part of the dessert trolley for all guests, there were white chocolate moose parcels in a chocolate casing which were exceptional. The staff were excellent, the choice of teas superb and towards the end of our tea the chef appeared with some surplus non egg scones in a carrier bag for us to take home.

All in all a superb experience and also very good value. There is even a dog stand near the reception desk with a bowl for water and one's dog can be looked after during one's stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Chef will be so pleased that he got a mention! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

As usual, we stayed in the Anthoneum which truly is our home in London. we were celebrating a family wedding and it seemed that the whole staff were part of our family joy. I had a small mishap at the wedding,(not at the hotel) and needed advice on where to go for medical help. Used the brilliant NHS and upon my return the entire staff kept asking how I was doing. They brought up all that we needed to get me back on my feet.
The hotel is going through some renovation, but i believe that although things aren't as usual, they are handling the situation extremely well. Any such place needs regular facelifting, it is how the staff handle it and make you feel, that makes for a grade A establishment. You kind of get sucked into things and feel part of the family here, well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for such a heartfelt review. We are so pleased that you feel like part of our family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I've stayed here a few time now, and this is one of my favourite hotels in London. It is particularly convenient for the West End. Servce is very good. On this occaision, reception was being rennovated, which meant the choice of a dingy sevice elevator or using the stairs.This aspect was disappointing/ breakfast was excellent, I highly recommend the kidneys on toast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are delighted to hear that we are one of your favourite hotels in London! Sorry to hear that the renovations affected your stay, but we are pleased that the breakfast seems to have made up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our 2nd time having afternoon tea at The Athenaeum. It did not disappoint. Staff are very helpful and can't do enough to make your visit memorable. You could have as much sandwiches, tea, scones and cakes as you could eat! They were all delicious! We have also stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and can say that each visit has been excellent. We will definitely be coming to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 195Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks Michelle. Really glad to hear that you will be coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Athenaeum Hotel just represents a lot of British charm kind of a mix between English hospitality and the whole Beatles Edge. The staff of the Hotel from the concierge to the doormen are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right opposite green park and a 10 minute walk from St. James Park and Buckingham Palace. Loads of shops/ places to eat around Green Park a visit to Fortnum and Mason is a must for all foodies. The rooms are extremely comfortable with a Nespresso Machine and the mini bar being free to use which is an interesting touch. Really nice spa area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#172 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#218 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing