We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delightful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have a wonderfuyl stay at the Athenaeum!....We were greeted warmly and given a room upgrade upon arrival: a lovely room, light and spacious, with a view of Green Park. We found the service outstanding and the breakfast was, in my view, the best breakfast I ever had in comparable hotels!...
We had read reviews commenting on the need for the hotel to be refurbished, and the manager told us they were starting to work on the renovations. But our room was absolutely perfect in every detail. We simply loved the Athenaeum and plan to go back as soon as possible!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank windinthewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    504
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,061
104
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

Last week we managed to obtain a late deal at this hotel.Having stayed in many London hotels over countless years, always 4 or 5 star, we found this non-chain establishment to be a little gem.
The Doorman was always helpful, carrying bags,getting taxies,opening the doors and making sure you did not slip(in the rain). So often today the doormen seem to disappear when needed.
The gentleman on check-in was very helpful & efficient. Unfortunately our room was still being cleaned,so we had to wait about 15 mins during which time we were offered the use of the spa and refreshments.
Our room was not huge, but comparable with other London hotels. It was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. It had all the normal facilities you would expect from a first class hotel, incuding hangers with hooks(those clip in things are my pet hate) plus a useful London information guide to keep.
The breakfast/dining room was very comfortable,with a choice of a buffet and cooked breakfast,as well as a good selection of items to order. At first glance the buffet looks quite small, but this is an advantage as everything is freshly topped up. There was a good choice of meats, cheese,cereal,yoghurt,fresh fruit - it even had fresh honeycomb. The cooked breakfast could not be faulted and refills of tea & coffee were always offerered by the attentive & polite staff.
We did not dine a the hotel but we had an excellent lunch snack in the lounge.
At this hotel all we can say about "Afternoon Tea" is just have it and enjoy !!
Altough we did not use the concierge service it seemed excellent : you actually sit down at a desk unlike other hotels where you stand at a counter. Throughout our stay the Executive Manager always stopped to chat & ask us if everything was OK and if we were enjoying our visit. Indeed all the staff were equally attentive & helpful.

To sum up, this hotel is what many hotels aspire to but because of limited & untrained staff, nearly always fail. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Liked — Comfort,convenience but above all the service.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomerol-People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

My family (2 adults and 2 kids) and I have just returned from staying at this beautiful boutique hotel. On arrival, we were immediately greeted by Jim (Doorman) who asked for all our names and remembered them during our stay, I would have to say that it was the best welcome we've ever received and our kids loved it. He was also very helpful and gave us some good advice. I loved the decor and thought the lounge was extremely beautiful. The bedrooms are a good size although I feel that they are in need of redecorating. The location is excellent. We had no problem with road noise and we would stay there again. We found the staff very pleasant but special mention goes to Jim!

  • Liked — Location and the beautiful Lounge
  • Disliked — Bedrooms a little tired
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asturias
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

I can't really say anything too bad about this hotel. The location is superb and so is the staff. However, we found it quite difficult to sleep there due to the noise. We had a room on the seventh floor overlooking the main room and the noise of the cars, sirens and honks at night time was unbearable. I would expect a 5 star hotel to have proper windows to isolate the noise but unfortunately this was not the case. The pilows were also quite bad (paper thin) so I had to call reception to get new ones. The size of the room and bathroom was quite small for a 5 star hotel but good enough for London. The overall impression would not be very good if the hotel were not in London, but in this case it was, so i'd recomend it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alvarezgranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

Got a room as part of a theatre package and was stunned at both the quality of the hotel and staff.

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Liked — Top quality and very clean
  • Disliked — It was all good !!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Charlville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

it was the first time we stayed at the athenaeum and we will never come back again, we will rather advise everyone not to visit your hotel at all!!! when i called the hotel directly i was "welcome" by switchboard who didnt even say any name. when i had asked speaker about her name, she said "i said it jet, Meg speaking" she sounded as she was forced to do so. at last she had transfered me to the resevation department where i had very nice conversation with Kinda who made the booking very efficiently informing about all facilities provided. i thought it was over, but when we got to the hotel, we had been waiting for checkin in for 5 mins,before indian guy who was doing something asked if we would like to check, in fact there was noone else, that was like a nighrmare, very poor customer service, we both work for abn amro and we will inform our department

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank martin9023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

One of the best locations in London, the park across the road, a stroll to Piccadilly and St James. Great restaurants nearby (try the fashionable Wolseley), Fortnum & Mason, bookshops and art galleries. We had an apartment on the side road of the hotel, which was extremely comfortable. Would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank provence3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#210 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing