We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Grange Over Sands
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Another great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here. Love it,great location. Lovely staff. Room was lovely not as big as last time but in main building.Love the tea/coffee in the room with a fridge / snacks. All included. Only thing this time was two of the days we got back to our room for a nice hot drink and found our fridge hadn't been restocked. Sorted quite quickly just surprised after the first time it happened again. Small glitch will certainly be going back. Have stayed in quite a few in London but very much our favourite.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you Pauline, we are so glad that you will be returning to your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    504
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,063
104
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great weekend stay here for a special birthday occasion. Accommodation best found in London so far........! Service excellent, friendly personable staff. We had a gratis upgrade from a Green Park room to a Green Park suite because of the occasion.
Location is excellent, will gladly return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Green Park are good, the noise for a busy city is kept out well by the double glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChalmersFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

It's a cracking location to be based in London, i have stayed here 2-3 times, once in the apartment round the corner which was great. It is not 5 star, not by at least a star and a half to be fair, but it is super friendly, rooms are great and the location across from Green Park and Bettys Palace is fantastic. A short walk through Shepards Market to the West End . . I thought this place ticked a lot of boxes for a London hotel. . . Doorman was a good fella too . . . .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank for taking the time to write us a positive review Dave, we will relay your comments to our Doormen! We are very proud of the 5 stars awarded to us and hope that you will help us understand your experience on your next stay so that we can ensure it is perfect for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great location, fantastic staff ,breakfast is highly recommended. .The rooms where very clean with a lovely view of the park, the Afternoon tea is the best in London we where well looked after. the champers went down very well. We will be using you again in September when we will be using the spa and the evening restaurant. Your staff are the best we where made to feel very welcome and special. See you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for such a warm review Philip, we are delighted that you will be returning to your London home in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband had chosen this hotel for our stay in London to celebrate my birthday. We were booked into a standard room, but were offered an upgrade at a reasonable rate, which we took. The room was spacious and overlooking Green Park. The bed was comfortable and my husband loved the complimentary mini bar! My favourite was oddly enough the shower... First time in the UK that I've encountered sufficient water pressure!
Our rate included breakfast and the selection was very satisfactory! And the birthday cupcake was a sweet touch! The entire staff was very friendly and attentive.
But the absolutely best part of this hotel is the location! It's virtually within walking distance to EVERYTHING!
I'll happily book the Athenaeum again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We are so pleased that you would like to come back Thess, and look forward to welcoming you back to your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place itself is really nice! The ambience, the decor, and excellent service. The cakes and pastries are fresh and delicious! And the quantity was sufficient. We paid about £34 each including service charge which is pricey compared to other places but to be expected of such a place...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed our afternoon tea! Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived at check in time on a Sunday; there were no standard rooms ready due to late check outs from the Saturday night. The polite and efficient receptionist immediately offered an upgrade that was ready straight away.

The room itself had a lovely view across Green Park and was spacious enough. However, it was getting a little tired. The bathroom in particular is starting to feel a little outdated with an older style (albeit wonderfully powerful!) shower over bath and dated marble.

The bed was comfortable enough but nothing special. A nice touch in the room is the complimentary mini bar (all the non alcoholic bits that is!).

This would have been a 3 star review if it weren't for the fantastic location and friendly staff; from the doormen to the concierge to the receptionist they were welcoming without being intrusive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and in particular for highlighting our wonderful staff! We are very proud of our location opposite Green Park - and opposite Buckingham Palace - I and I am very glad that you were upgraded and were able to enjoy them. We hope to welcome you to your London home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing