We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the Park Lane Hotel next door!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #148 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Much better than the Park Lane Hotel next door!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed there for two nights this week. Everyone was very polite and helpful. My room was a bit on the small side but adequate as I was on my own. The location is great - on Piccadilly opposite Green Park.
I used the gym which is also pretty small. If you want to run, use the park.
I didn't use the restaurant or bar as I had functions to attend.
I think most London hotels are overpriced which is why I rated it average for value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arqueros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    520
    162
    72
    46
See reviews for
447
1,097
107
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here a few days ago for our 10 year anniversary. The room was pristine and the views over looking Green Park were sensational. The location is an absolute dream and considering the central location, there was no noise from the road despite staying at the front of the hotel on Piccadilly.

The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make us feel at home and even came to our room with a card and two gorgeous cupcakes to say Happy Anniversary.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience and will definitely return to this Hotel.

However, the food (taster menu) was poor - we had 50% off luckily as if we had paid full price we would be very very disappointed. One of our courses was burnt and we complained at reception the following day. We were given £20 off the food bill (despite having had the 50% off deal) and an apology was given. We felt very pleased with this outcome as they were very sincere in their apology.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and thank you for providing such excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniejones1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for choosing us to be part of such a special celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I recently spent two night here with my teenage son just prior to his 14 birthday. We were warmly welcomed and even though it was only Midday we were able to go on up to a lovely twin room. Having spent the afternoon out shopping we arrived back to a lovely birthday cake for James waiting for him in the room. He was delighted and he also loved being able to raid the mini bar at any time as all the soft drinks and snacks were free (a nice touch, instead of being charged the usual five star rate of £6 for a kitkat!). The concierge was great and helped make restaurant bookings both before and during out trip as well as being chatty and fun. I have stayed here before and will stay again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are delighted that James felt so at home with us - thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
320 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel has an excellent localization, close to theatres, hyde park, picadilly circus, etc. The staff (porters, reception, concierge) are very efficient and polite. We stayed in the apartments, they have a good size, not usual for London, and with modern bath and amenities like coffe, soft drinks, snacks, all free. The wi-fi is free and with goos connection. The bed, linen bed and towell are very good. The only problem we had is that the replacement of mini bar was not efficient, and I had to ask to replace during three days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raferria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for a great review - we are delighted to hear that you loved your apartment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked an afternoon tea here as a Christmas present for my Mum, and we travelled to London specifically for this event as I had read how wonderful the afternoon teas are. The staff were warm and welcoming. We had arrived early due to torrential rains, the nice waitress lead us into a lounge area and offered us coffees. We were glad of this and waited for our afternoon tea slot until the table was ready. We were taken into the garden room which was beautifully decorated, a real visual treat! I was very cold and we were the first table to be seated, and we were sat right next to the door and the kitchen door. I asked to be moved, we were told this was not possible, I did not mind this, I understand they have pre-reserved seats so that was no problem. It was uncomfortably cold and I was disappointed the waitress fobbed me off saying she would see if her manager could help... we heard nothing more about it and continued to wear my coat throughout the experience which made me uncomfortable. The food arrived, and I was dismayed at how sparse the selection was considering the cost. One cake stand was presented, with sandwiches, and some cakes. The cakes were beautiful, and the sandwiches okay. We were allowed to try only one type of tea, the menu charmingly warned us we would be charged additiionally should we wish to try another type of tea, or require more sandwiches or cakes. Very disappointing for the amount of money paid, in comparison to other afternoon teas I have had in London. For example The Berkley hotel provdes a wonderful afternoon tea, with unlimited cakes and sandwiches, as do most luxury London afternoon teas. To ask for a supplement, I feel, cheapens the experience. Anyway, we received our bill and I was again dismayed to find that we were charged £5 EACH for the coffees we were OFFERED in the lounge whilst waiting. In my opinion, a very overpriced experience, would not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments Amy. I am sorry to hear that the weather affected your experience, it is miserable when you get soaked in the rain! I am glad that you were looked after when you arrived and offered a hot beverage to warm up. Unfortunately we would need to charge for this, as we would all our guests. We believe our award winning afternoon tea offers a lot of value for money, and we price this competitively. Unfortunately this does mean that we cannot offer an unlimited selection - although, you can have as much tea as you like providing you stick to the same type! I hope we will see you again on a sunnier day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My family and I were in London for a week. We have been to London many times and have stayed at several different places (including Four Seasons) Wed found the Atheneum hotel to be our best overall stay. Because there was 5 of us we took two adjoining apartment style rooms. There was a great amount of space, full kitchens, and a washer and dryer (very handy with children). The drinks in the refrigerator were fully complementary. Kids ate for free with adult orders. The service was flawless and prompt. The Atheneum is located in Mayfair in a prime location and right next to Green Park where you can see and walk to Buckingham Palace from. They even left duck food in the room to encourage us to visit the park and feed the ducks. We all had a wonderful time and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are delighted to be your favourite hotel in London! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful three-night stay at the Athenaeum. We travelled with our two young daughters and stayed in one of the hotel's apartments. The apartments are exquisite and contain a small kitchen complete with washing machine, microwave, hob and oven. Our daughters especially loved the cookies, toys, colouring books and of course the Disney princess book that were all left for their enjoyment, it's touches like this that make the Athenaeum so special. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We can't wait to return in April.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Himsworth946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for the heart-warming review, we hope to see you and your family at your London home again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,067 in London
1,090 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#167 of 1,067 in London
1,643 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#133 of 1,067 in London
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing