We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 104 - but the food is to die for..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #155 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Avoid room 104 - but the food is to die for..”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Easy to find near to Hard Rock Cafe bus stop. The stop going out of town is Green Park / Constitutional Hill which is opposite the hotel. Great welcome from all the staff and shown to room. We were persuaded to upgrade to a better quieter room and, to be fair, it was very nice, but turned out to be next to the Service Door and we were woken up at 03.30 by a laundry van and a bakers van and the noise continued all night. We complained in the morning and were promised an upgrade. Bit disappointed by the "they shouldn't be using that door" response but we were upgraded to a suite overlooking Green Park so had a great weekend.
The whisky selection is amazing and they don't skimp on the measures. Very attentive staff. We had a meal in the restaurant and despite it being a rather quiet sunday night the food was excellent. The rabbit was unbelievably delicious. My wife mentioned it was my birthday during conversation and they brought a cake and candle to us in the bar.
Checkout was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near service areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - especially as a fellow whisky fan! It is a shame that the error in the deliveries affected you but we are glad that you were moved to somewhere you were happier. We can assure that this is not a regular occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    515
    160
    71
    46
See reviews for
444
1,086
104
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our second visit to this hotel and it won't be the last. I always feel at home here, the staff are friendly and welcoming. We were given one of the townhouse rooms - lovely high ceilings and spaciousness - a really comfortable night's sleep.

The breakfast was excellent and different - in fact I could easily move in!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoescape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are delighted to hear that you feel so at home with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel, everything was fantastic. Fab location, very friendly staff and gorgeous suite. The suite was large with separate seating area with great views of the park. Free mini bar - very well stocked. We had afternoon tea, which was one of the best I've ever had. Breakfast was very good - so overall this hotel is definitely 10 out of 10

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Asoumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for such a warm review. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Athenaeum for one night in February and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The room was just perfect - the bed was so comfortable and the pillows were heavenly. Our room overlooked Green Park and although the road is busy we could not hear any traffic noise. All the staff that we met were lovely - really gave us the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. We were shown to our room by a young lady called Kathryn, who explained how everything worked and was very pleasant and friendly, as were all the staff we met. Our check-in and check-out went very smoothly and Betty who checked us out was so polite. We will definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments Chris, we are delighted to hear to you were made to feel so welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here just one night and from the minute we arrived and were greater by Jim the huge and friendly doorman the staff we're just great. It just reminds you how staff can either make the stay miserable or pleasurable. A very easy and friendly check in, all the team were conversational. One neg review on this place said that she felt like she was being grilled is just plain daft. They politely enquirer what brought us to London, business or pleasure etc etc. The team in the bar were again very welcoming and I was pressed with how many people remembered my name. The breakfast was very good although it wasn't as hot as it could've been to be honest. All in all a great place and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A friend of mine was living at the Athenaeum for six months in 1997. I traveled to London to be at the opening night of a play that he was the creative force for. I stayed there one night as I already had an apartment I had booked near Hyde Park. This hotel was absolutely beautiful. Great location. Although a little busy out on the street, it is still a great place to say as far as location. If I ever decide to travel to London again, I would definitely book the Athenaeum.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you Karen, we hope to welcome you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed there for two nights this week. Everyone was very polite and helpful. My room was a bit on the small side but adequate as I was on my own. The location is great - on Piccadilly opposite Green Park.
I used the gym which is also pretty small. If you want to run, use the park.
I didn't use the restaurant or bar as I had functions to attend.
I think most London hotels are overpriced which is why I rated it average for value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arqueros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#175 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#85 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#215 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing