We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely intimate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #148 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a great find, booked as a secret hotel on last minute.com. Charming staff, with the doorman remembering our names straight away. We were invited to cocktails overlooking the park (regular Wednesday event), hosted by the staff. Chatted easily to Evan who was a friendly host. The hotel is well looked after with all areas in good condition. Our room was fantastic with lovely touches - like free soft drinks and snacks and fresh milk for tea and coffee. Good value for such a brilliant location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review! We are glad you enjoyed guest cocktails as this is our favourite event too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at The Athenaeum. From start to finish, the service we received was fantastic. Before arrival we received a questionnaire asking about my 22 month old niece's favourite things. We told them "anything peppa pig"... So we were delighted to arrive and find peppa pig toys and books in the room. The bellman asked our name on arrival which was relayed to reception. From this point on we were always addressed by our names which was a nice personal touch. I left the key in my room one afternoon, and went to reception to ask for another. I didn't even have to remind them of my room number. They remembered! Breakfast was a very high standard... A mixture of buffet and a la carte items. And we enjoyed room service too. (Their club sandwich is delicious). It was lovely knowing that the snacks and soft drinks in the room are complimentary... As the prices can soon mount up. A very nice touch. Another bonus was children eat free... When dining with an adult... So we always had a free meal for our niece. Turn down service was a nice touch when so many hotels now do this on a request basis only. We loved the ultra powerful shower over the bath and the fantastic range of REN toiletries. Would highly recommend this hotel to families as you will be looked after very well. A fantastic location on Picadilly too... A few minute walk to Park Lane.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank CraigNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments Craig. We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to your London home again soon ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What makes this hotel so very special? It is the service. For example, the concierge found out that my husband had caught a small virus and ran over with tea bags & honey to make him feel better. They arranged tickets, transportation, dinner reservations with humor and a smile. Even better, there were milk and cookies delivered by housekeeping each afternoon for my children. (Not to mention X-box and board games waiting for us upon check in!)

For a family, the apartments are ideal. We had five in our party (2 parents, 2 children & grandmother) and booked 2 connecting apartments at 3 Down Street (2nd level). They were IDEAL...sunny and spacious. Our package included breakfast & airport transfers. The location by the park and the separate entry were also perfect. In short, FABULOUS.

Room Tip: Apartments are on a side street in brownstone buildings and are VERY quiet. They have washer/dryers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to welcome you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I spent one night at the Athenaeum Hotel with my dear friend, on a girls trip to London to celebrate her birthday, and chose the hotel because of its reputation and wonderful, central location. We loved everything about the hotel from the gorgeously, sumptuously quirky decor to the cosy ambience of the Whiskey Bar (where we enjoyed a lovely cup of tea but didn't get round to the whiskey selection ... next time maybe!). The staff were without exception charming and attentive - even responding within a couple of minutes to my request for plasters for my poor blistered toes (forgot to bring sensible walking shoes with me!). There is a lovely, slightly old fashioned glamour about the Athenaeum and it has a warmth that some other expensive five-star hotels can lack. Our room, although quite small, was comfortable (blissful beds) and stylishly furnished. We both enjoyed every moment of our stay and will be hatching a plan to return ..........

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you Debbie, we would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My partner booked this beautiful hotel as a surprise for my birthday. I was certainly not disappointed . Our room had a lovely view overlooking the park..... The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had everything you could need...The mini bar was excellent and the staff more than helpful..The only thing I could say that is a little negative would be the size of the changing facilities when we went to use the spa /jacuzzi...very small .. All in all I loved this hotel and hope to stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the park cannot be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandAGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for a beautiful review, we look forward to welcoming you to your London home again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our second visit in as many weeks for afternoon tea. The afternoon Tea was excellent the first time and it was equally good the second. A big thank you and much praise to hostess called Iuila. On our first visit she was incredibly welcoming and looked after us attentively throughout out afternoon tea. Nothing was too much trouble. She replenished the afternoon tea without being asked and refreshed our tea during our visit when she noticed it was running low.
The ambience in the afternoon tea lounge at the Atheneum was soothing and unhurried. The quality of sandwiches scones and cakes were top class. A lovely surprise was that once you have finished with the main tiers of sandwiches / cake the hostess brings around a separate cake trolley with a delicious assortment of gateux, cakes and pastries. Just in case you haven't quite had enough. It was lovely that Iuila recognised us on our return visit and gave us such a warm welcome back and once again she made our short visit to the Atheneum a memorable one. Excellent afternoon tea and amazing service. The best afternoon tea experience I have ever had and will definitely be back. I just hope Iuila will be there to look after us.!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are delighted that you are becoming a regular guest Sebastian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My friend and I stayed eight nights in March, 2014. We each had lovely base level rooms. I actually moved rooms to get closer to my friend, so I experienced two rooms. The rooms are very comfortable, with plenty of storage and nice fittings. The IPod dock was much appreciated.
The breakfast was fabulous, could not have been nicer. We were given astute advice regarding
Sunday morning, when the restaurant would be very crowded: we were told to have room service which was very fun and gorgeous. Hot and tasty! Each service person was warm and helpful.
We loved the weekly cocktail party for guests which is a very nice touch. All in all, a beautifully run hotel. We liked the high tea at the hotel so much we did it twice. The concierge was also
extremely helpful and efficient. I will long remember this lovely hotel and our stay. Location is
very central.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerWaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#56 of 1,076 in London
1,114 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,805 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £247 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing