We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #162 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have stayed several times, a regular destination for me on Business trips to London. Right of the corner of Hyde and Green park. Not a ton of amenities within walking, but the place is great. Rooms are a little small, but good quality, nice finish, great amenities. Gym was small. Top tip. If you are a runner, head out and do some laps of Hyde PArk. They have laminated maps at the front door of the routes to take with distance and lanyard cables to sling over your neck. Lovely touch. I recommend the Rotten Row, a 4.8m loop takes you around the outside of the park. Perfect way to start the day.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. Its the Athenaeum :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Wetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, its great to hear positive feedback from a regular guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    525
    163
    73
    50
See reviews for
457
1,113
108
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was a birthday treat for my wife.. and what a lovely treat it turned out to be.
Spot on three o'clock we were shown to our table in a lovely private alcove in the garden room salon.
The maître d' brought us menus and serviettes etc and we we not rushed into our choice. .. we chose the Evergreen tea with a Glass of Lanson Black label Champagne.
Tea was selected from a rather impressive wooden menu with disks showing samples of the
actual leaves - Plenty of choice 4 Black Teas, £ green teas a white tea and a couple of Herbal Infusions .
The Cake stand, when It came, gave plenty of choice, delicious sandwich selection , Fresh Scones and Home made Strawberry Jam and Clotted Cream (or home made lemon Curd)Plus Cakes.
Anything could be reordered from the very helpful waiting staff - but save a bit of room for the Cake trolley !..Amazing selection :-)
Relaxed, leisurely, private special and totally delicious ... an essential afternoon London Experience.

Go hungry and savour every moment !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strummer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We are delighted that you chose us for such a special occasion! Thank you for a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked an evening at The Athenaeum and would strongly recommend that you do likewise! Wonderful views of Green Park, the rooms were very comfortable and the service was second to none. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had on our travels and where do I begin with the choice of whisky in the bar, heaven for whisky lovers! From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, no fault to be found in any area. Within walking distance of Knightsbridge, Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus and Theatreland. We will definitely be returning and soon!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for such a wonderful review! We hope to welcome you back again soon ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed in a Green Park Suite with connecting room for kids. Amazing views (saw fireworks over the London Eye). Location is walkable to many sites and green park tube station close by. Very kid friendly. Bar and restaurant just ok. Booked thru Amex and got great add on amenities (car to/from Heathrow).

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our stay at the hotel just got better and better. Some highlights at the hotel are great room facilities, luxurious bathroom, spa facilities, beautiful decor and super comfortable lounge/bar with extensive whiskey menu. Great, attentive service and helpful concierge really made things extra nice. It has a really central location, in walking distance of popular attractions and great views of Green Park. At the end of a very, very long week, I was able to celebrate my birthday in a really special environment. Thank you Athenaeum!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0andMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are delighted that you chose us for such a special occasion! We hope to welcome you again soon ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

What a great find, booked as a secret hotel on last minute.com. Charming staff, with the doorman remembering our names straight away. We were invited to cocktails overlooking the park (regular Wednesday event), hosted by the staff. Chatted easily to Evan who was a friendly host. The hotel is well looked after with all areas in good condition. Our room was fantastic with lovely touches - like free soft drinks and snacks and fresh milk for tea and coffee. Good value for such a brilliant location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review! We are glad you enjoyed guest cocktails as this is our favourite event too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at The Athenaeum. From start to finish, the service we received was fantastic. Before arrival we received a questionnaire asking about my 22 month old niece's favourite things. We told them "anything peppa pig"... So we were delighted to arrive and find peppa pig toys and books in the room. The bellman asked our name on arrival which was relayed to reception. From this point on we were always addressed by our names which was a nice personal touch. I left the key in my room one afternoon, and went to reception to ask for another. I didn't even have to remind them of my room number. They remembered! Breakfast was a very high standard... A mixture of buffet and a la carte items. And we enjoyed room service too. (Their club sandwich is delicious). It was lovely knowing that the snacks and soft drinks in the room are complimentary... As the prices can soon mount up. A very nice touch. Another bonus was children eat free... When dining with an adult... So we always had a free meal for our niece. Turn down service was a nice touch when so many hotels now do this on a request basis only. We loved the ultra powerful shower over the bath and the fantastic range of REN toiletries. Would highly recommend this hotel to families as you will be looked after very well. A fantastic location on Picadilly too... A few minute walk to Park Lane.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CraigNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments Craig. We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to your London home again soon ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#50 of 1,069 in London
1,096 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,069 in London
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing