We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athenaeum London, You can't do any better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #142 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed this week at the apartments at the Athenaeum Hotel in London. Luxurious and comfortable is the perfect way to describe it! Having all the convenience of a hotel and the
comforts of your own home.
First class service is what you can expect here . Located on the Green Park across from Buckingham Palace, you will feel like royalty . From the moment you meet Jim, the 7 foot tall doorman and his cheerful smile , you will know that you have made a great decision regarding accommodation in London.
This was our 7th trip to London and hereafter will always stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovefood51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank for reviewing us - we are delighted with your comments and hope to welcome you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

As the hotel claims, this hotel really does make you feel at home every time you return from a day at work in the city or shopping in the west end. The hotel is brilliant for families with children and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Best doormen in the city.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank TLK-hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank for you writing us such a nice review! We are delighted that you were made to feel so at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I rate this hotel so low because it is advertised as a 5 star hotel and there were too many things that show limited attention to detail. It has great location and would be a nice option for half the price and half the pretense. Some examples:

- The showers do feature cheap and flimsy shower curtains mounted to a straight rod. In other words, a cheap shower curtain is sticking to your skin for the whole duration of the shower (unless you have tiny shoulders). While I would have expected better than a cheap shower curtain anyway, the fact that they did not even spent a tiny bit more on a rod that curves into the room to give me shoulder space is ridiculous. I just hate a flimsy curtain sticking to my skin that stuck to the previous guest's skin the day before.

- On my departure day, I was woken up at 8:30 am from a person that wanted me to come to the door and tell her exactly when she can do housekeeping. I find 8:30 very early to wake customers up for housekeeping (and most hotels don't disturb me at all on check-out day), but to make things worse, usually some form of grunting and indicating that I am still in the room makes them go away and come later ... not here. You have to leave bed, open the door and tell them when you are finally gone so they can do housekeeping. I guess they really wanted to get rid of me.

- The internet was fast and reliable but one of these deals where you have to enter a login/password to re-gain access every time you turn away from the computer / tablet.

- The people throughout the lobby were generally not very friendly. I often entered or left the hotel without any friendly face, "hello" or "goodbye" or something like that. The doorman was often in conversation with somebody else blocking the door for others rather than open the door. My check-in was routine and un-personal, same for my check-out. I really did not get the feeling that anyone genuinely cared about having me as a customer. I do work for an American tech company with no dress code so if you wear suit and tie you might get treated better ...

Other than that, location is great, beds are so so, the chairs in the room are ornate and terribly uncomfortable.

I don't write reviews very often and I would not have bothered about these things on a 2 or 3 star hotel for half the price but somehow it irks me if a hotel positions itself that highly with not real attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment and hope that you brought this to our attention during your stay so that we were able to respond and tailor your experience. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly via info@athenaeumhotel.com, so that we can restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in an appartment at the Athenaeum for four nights, the rooms of which were spacious and very well appointed and maintained. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful which made for a very comfortable and memorable stay. The breakfast was of a high quality, with a wide selction of fresh and tasty food. We will definitely return and I recommend this hotel for anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your warm review. We are delighted to hear that you want to return to your London home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good and really central location on Piccadilly, nice view to Green Park from sixth floor and decent sized room. When staying in London I can hardly ask more. The decoration of the room was bit late 90ish though definitely done much later. When I arrived I was bit worried that Piccadilly traffic might make the sleeping problematic but this was not an usual English building. Soundproofing was good and I did not pay any attention to traffic. Room was clean and non-alcohol services of the minibar were complimentary. Hotel personnel was service oriented. I found out that hotel also has apartments and I will surely consider those as alternative when I'm next time in London with my family. I did not use restaurant service so unfortunately I'm not capable of rating them or the bar. Only minus was that one of the two elevators was under renovation during my visit and that caused some challenges but nothing that was intolerable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryWasteland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Henry, and for your patience during our lift maintenance. We are always working towards improving the five star London home experience for our guests, of which the lift maintenance is a part of. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and i love staying here, we use about 3-4 times a year when we go to London for a special occasion. It could be that we're getting used to it, but it doesn't feel quite as amazing as it once did. On arrival reception was busy and there was a slight delay getting to our room. Only one lift was working which meant longish delays. When we came back to the hotel in the early evening we had a call in our room from reception veryfying who we were and what time we would be checking out??? which made us feel a little put out that they saw us as intruders?!? We were celebrating my birthday, and in the past we have had a cake and card waiting in our room, nothing this time.

As i say, maybe we're getting used to how brilliant this place is, but we didn't leave feeling as totally satisfied as we have in the past.
All petty comments aside, we'll definitely be back as it's still a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: Over looking the Park, but you'll probably need to pay the premium, but worth it in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write Ian. Your comments are not petty in the slightest, they are truly valuable especially coming from a regular guest. I have shared your feelings with our Guest Services Manager who I am sure will join me in reassuring you that you most valued. We look forward to restoring your faith in your London home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked three nights via the Lastminute.com "Top Secret Hotels" section. I was delighted to get the Athenaeum rather than the Park Lane which is just nearby. The Athenaeum has a lovely atmosphere (I have stayed here twice now) and compared to many hotels in London the room was huge. There were all the expected amenities, iron, minibar (Complimentary soft drinks), free wifi, complimentary Telegraph every day and a decent quality i pod dock. The bed was two singles made into a double but this did not bother me. The bathroom was stylish also but had only a shower, no bath (Again not a bother for me). Breakfast, so often a barometer of how good a hotel is, was excellent. THey have the best cold / fruit buffet of any of the hotels I stay in regularly. There was no dreaded hot buffet with solid scrambled eggs sweating on a hot plate (As in the Park Lane) and the freshly cooked breakfast is served promptly in an appropriate (ie not overly huge) portion and, so rare even in the best hotels, the toast came fresh at the same time as the breakfast, which is how it should be. Criticisms, well they could make their own bread, but apart from this I have none. I really like this hotel and so does my wife (We stayed on different occasions!) which is high praise indeed from a very discerning critic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we love hearing from our regular guests! We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#115 of 1,078 in London
1,885 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,078 in London
4,173 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#65 of 1,078 in London
1,131 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,078 in London
3,702 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,078 in London
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £225 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing