We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, even better service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 week and love it. You can't beat the location (next to Green Park, and 1 block away from the Buckingham Palace). All of the staff are great and friendly. Fabiano (spl?) was the stand out as he brought our luggages to our room and helped us settled in. We were having electrical outlet issues (our converter didn't work and actually trip the wire). He came back several times to with converter for us to borrow. We were so impressed with his service that we gave him a "TripAdvisor Excellent Service" pin.
The hotel also has nice touch such as water and towel by the front in the morning for runners (me). We were also there during one of their afternoon/early evening cocktail hours so that was nice. We had the opportunity to meet the manager and their marketing team along with other guests.
I had an opportunity to sleep in one of those days and had a "do not disturb" sign on. The maintainence staff actually didn't do any work in the hallway in front of my room until I left, which is well after 12pm. Very thoughtful service!

Room Tip: We stay in the hotel building but heard that their apartment room is nice as well (has separate spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy and John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us, and especially for mentioning our wonderful staff! We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    504
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,063
104
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights lovely hotel the staff are very good and look after all your needs the bed it to die for we had a room on the 8th floor overlooking the park which is very nice
the rooms are quite small but that was not a problem to us the only bad point is the bathroom which is small and the bath has a shower with a shower curtain and not much room in the bath.
We had booked afternoon tea for the sunday at 12:30 and it was lovely and very interment with not too many tables something I would recommend.
The whisky bar is well worth a look and they do have other drinks for you to.
If you want a treatment in the spa book in advance as we were unable to get a treatment for both days we were there, which was actually part of the reason why we booked so a bit disappointing.
overall we had a very nice stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for a lovely review Craig! We hope to welcome you and your wife back to your London home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Athenaeum on Piccadilly is a very nice 5 star hotel in a really amazing position for seeing London.

I booked the room through Lastminute.com and I have to admit that I was disappointed with the room which we had been allocated. Whilst it was practical - an average size for London - it was at the back of the hotel and overlooked by another building very close and intrusive. Unfortunately the impact of this was to have the curtains closed (in the middle of a bright sunny day) and the lack of a mobile phone signal in the room. My fear here is that the real impact of the deal through lastminute.com means that you get the worst rooms in the hotel..... so the question has to be - when is a deal really a deal??????

I did raise my disappointment with a member of the management team who accepted my concerns and by way of apology offered me and my wife complimentary breakfast the following morning.

Now for the positives:-

- the hotel is in an amazing location for the sights, parks and shopping in the heart of London
- the rooms were practical - albeit on the small side - but extensive mirror finishes give the impression of being larger!!
- room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable
- soft drinks and snacks in the mini-bar are included in the price
- breakfast offered a fantastic choice to suit all palates

Overall, I would recommend the Athenaeum - as regards the Secret Hotels deal. I still hold the hotel responsible as after all it is the HOTEL who agrees to offer the deal to their 'agents'. Should they be up front and state that the rooms are 'not the best' or should we the customer accept that there is no such thing as 'a good deal'. Perhaps a complimentary breakfast is the standard answer for the minority of guests who do complain ( a small price to pay for filling a sub-standard room for just less than £300) Either way it is still the customer who loses out. Fortunately, it was only a one night stay had it been any longer then my disappointment would have had a greater influence on my overall comment and rating.

Room Tip: Avoid room 816 (and presumably *16 on any floor) and neighbouring rooms as you do NOT have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you sharing your thoughts with us during your stay - we are pleased that we could connect with you and arrange for a complimentary breakfast to brighten up your day. Thank you for the positive comments about the complimentary amenities our guests receive - we are quite unique in this respect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Having booked a birthday weekend with my sister, we were sadly disappointed by our 5star top secret hotel. The highlights were the exterior of the hotel, covered in lush greenery and the amazing tall doorman who welcomed us in, from there things went downhill, the lifts were out of order so we had to us the service lift and squeeze past black bin bags and rubbish to reach our room on the 6th floor, the room was basic but passable, the bathroom tiny with a taps that didn't reach the sink and leaked water around the basin. The shower was so powerful it almost knocked me over but the biggest disappointment was the view - a brick wall accompanied by pigeon netting and grubby fire escape, not pretty. The situation was made infinitely worse when we rang reception to ask for non feather pillows etc, I was advised that he(Olaf ) would need to see how we booked before he could help. Other staff did help resolve the situation but the damage had already been done, our bags also took over an hour to reach our room. Leaving us approx 20 mins to change and get ready to go out for the evening, also meaning I had no chance to charge my phone so missed out taking any photos on our evening excursion - thanks!
We were given complimentary breakfast which was superb but as a special birthday treat, we were left feeling very let down, staff maybe need to realise that a feather allergy can be life threatening to a chronic asthmatic and the added stress really didn't help. Not what we hoped or expected at all.

Room Tip: Sorry but would go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taz2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us to be part of your special occasion. I am sorry to hear about the delay with your luggage and pillow but delighted to learn that we offered you complimentary breakfasts to make up for it! Unfortunately not all our guests are able to enjoy Park Views unless booked, however we hope you enjoyed the stylish decor of your Superior Room and the complimentary amenities such a the wi-fi, all soft drinks and snacks from the mini bar and full use of the spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We love this hotel! It is perfectly situated in London, across from parks, a short walk to Buckingham Palace, a short walk also from the Green Park tube stop on the Piccadilly Line from Heathrow. Shepherd's Market (sp?) with lots of choices of restaurants is a few blocks away. The room rates have continued to climb, but the hospitality and service are wonderful.

Depending on your room rate, the rooms can be tiny or larger. Items in the minibar are included in the room rate, and alcohol from the minibar may be included or not--again depending on the room rate. The nicest rooms face the park. Ours this time is quieter and on a side street, just down from an excellent tapas restaurant. Room service is presumably as good as the rest of the food, but we blanched at the prices.

The Athenaeum has a very good dining room and also a Garden Room where you can have tea or lunch. The garden, The Living Wall, has been developing for around five years, covering a large swath of the side of the building, and we've learned that the plants are in recycled clothing rather than soil. The plants help moderate temperature extremes in the building.

If you are lucky or strategic enough to be at the hotel on a Wednesday afternoon, they offer a complimentary cocktail party for guests, where you can meet staff and other guests over cocktails and passed hors d'oeuvres. Apparently the Athenaeum tea was voted best in London in 2012. The hotel is a few blocks from the Ritz, whose tea has been also highly rated but requires booking six weeks in advance. Although we haven't seen the rooms at the Ritz, they are even more expensive than here.

The staff is excellent, the rooms are very comfortable and well-furnished, with a lot of mirrors. As
mentioned, this is our fourth stay at the Athenaeum.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get the smallest room as it's hard to even fit your suitcases. Piccadilly-faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for the warm words Barbara - we are delighted to hear from a regular guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Recently spent just over a week staying here on business in London, and am glad I ventured away from my usual hotels and discovered the place. Presuming you want to be in central London, the hotel is very well located, just opposite the Green Park on Picadilly, down the road from Green Park Station for easy access to the Tube. Plenty bars and restaurants in the vicinity, including Sheperd Market around the corner and St James proper a 5 minute walk.

The hotel itself falls into a sort of "grand old London" category that many hotels in this area do, and the pedigree is evident throughout. Fairly modest reception area leading off on to a bar (with a very good selection of whisky, although overpriced in my opinion) and restaurant area. The bar is relaxing and enjoyable for a drink or two at the end of the day - the vodka martini was pretty good :) Decor in the public spaces is overall luxurious without being pretentious or too over the top.

I stayed in two rooms over the course of my stay, and both were identical with the exception of the second one having a view over the park (an upgraded room, which was a nice gesture). Very spacious, with a good desk/work area and separate chairs. The bathroom was of an average size, with a shub (pet peeve of mine, but not intolerable). Rooms are generally well appointed, and I especially enjoyed the copy of "Say Hello to Sally" by the bed, a book detailing the history of one of the hotel's past personalities - thought it was a great touch. Additionally, my minibar was entirely complimentary, which was hugely appreciated - although this may be the rate I had and not a standard offering. The only aspect to note (currently) is that one of the elevators is undergoing maintenance...wait times can be a little long, although no doubt this will be resolved expeditiously in terms of getting both up and running again.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, and seemed to get on well with all the guests without being intrusive or unprofessional. The GMs reception on Wednesday (recommended - if you're there go!) was a great way to chat a little bit more with some of the men and women who run the place (great to meet a couple of fellow South Africans!).

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, and will definitely be looking at staying here again the next time I'm in town and need to be in Central London. Very highly recommended on my part!

Room Tip: Whilst the elevator is being fixed, try get a room closer to the ground floor. Rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We really enjoyed reading your review; thank you for taking the time to share your experience at your London home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed last Saturday at this hotel, having booked a mystery hotel via lastminute.com. It was really excellent, upgraded to a deluxe room, great mini bar and coffee/tea. But the main thing is the wonderful service. Would I return - I absolutely would.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spagirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. We are delighted that you will be returning to your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing