We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Athenaeum overnight, it was a very convenient location for us given that we were attending Buckingham palace's garden party and this was just a stroll through green park opposite. We were first greeted by a lovely doorman, who was most welcoming and polite, we built a rapport with him immediately, he was very welcoming and helpful. The ambience of the hotel is what one would expect of a five star hotel and the room was very lovely indeed, marble bathroom, large bed and modern amenities and furnishings. Everything in the minibar is free! (Apart from alcoholic beverages). The staff were professional and friendly and all of that counts. It truly was a home away from home and I look forward to staying again. The only negative thing would be that I was not taken by the breakfast on account of the lack of choice for the continental selection and I found my eggs benedict bland and my husband found that his mushrooms were also the same, but that is a personal assertion upon my experience. I enjoyed my time at the Athenaeum and do recommend this hotel to others. I would like to add that it was my husbands birthday also and they very kindly had a birthday plate made up for him and we found that to be a much appreciated gesture! Thank you very much for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmisskaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are delighted that you chose us to be part of your celebrations and we look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    504
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,063
104
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

First time at The Athenaeum. Stayed for three nights with my husband and could not have asked for more. Fab location between Hyde Park Corner and Green Park so near to tubes, opposite a park and within walking distance of most of the sights. Our concierge also recommended going to Shepherds Market which is right behind the hotel and is a lovely, tucked away spot with lots of Mayfair pubs and intimate restaurants.
The staff were really on the ball and very friendly and helpful. The room was great. Lighting was a bit of a mystery to figure out but everything else was lovely. Free Wifi, a complimentary newspaper and complimentary non alcoholic drinks and snacks were a nice bonus (we were on the fifth floor - executive level).
Breakfast was lovely with some interesting choices such as rhubarb and pear brûlée! There was a good selection of both hot and cold options with everything tasting fresh and well cooked. The tea is real tea and not bags.
The whisky bar is a lovely spot with intimate lighting for a nightcap.
I loved 'Douglas' who sits by the front desk and, following this review, expect him to be packaged up and delivered to Scotland.......
The hotel is actually dog friendly too although I know our dogs would hate being in London!

Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Located at the quiet Mayfair area, very convenient and classy area, 5 minutes walking to Hyde Park. The room is clean, staff are helpful and efficient, some items inside the mini bar are free, there is a fresh water bowl for dogs next to the receptionist, so convenient. The hotel restaurant is good, there are other restaurants close to the hotel too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelloB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for a great review and your pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a really lovely one night stay at this hotel. Fantastic location (easy on street parking and free on Sundays) ideal for Mayfair, St James and Knightsbridge.
Friendly staff, good room and facilities and an overall homely feel.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times because of its ideal location, comfortable size and spacious rooms. For the vacationer, it is convenient to Hyde Park, Green Park, Buckingham Palace and other London must sees. For the business traveler it is close to Paddington and Victoria Station and the Green Park Tube Stop. Personally, I like the hotel because it has the amenities of a large hotel without the traffic. It's rooms are also relatively large and nicely decorated. Definitely a hotel I will continue to visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank planerider857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Athenaeum Hotel on Piccadilly.
Lovely hotel in close proximity to Buckingham, Big Ben, Westminster , many Parks and shopping.

The staff is friendly and very helpful.
My room overlooked Green Park with a wonderful view.
My room was exceptionally clean with many amenities.

I truly recommend this hotel - The Athenaeum to anyone traveling to London. You won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of us and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay here recently. Nice comfortable room & bathroom with everything i needed. This is a cosy Hotel with a very pleasant & helpful team. Elegant decor in the public areas. The Afternoon Tea served in the Garden Room is a treat with a wonderful selection of sandwiches cakes & deserts, & fine quality tea/coffee. Located near to Green Park & Hyde Park corner. Perfect for Knightsbridge too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AStylishTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank for highlighting our wonderful team! We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing