We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would go back today! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #165 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“I would go back today! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Amazing location, service, attention to detail. Separate entrance to the suit. Big room, proper coffee. Walking distance from Harrods.. what else do you need? It is heaven!
The bar was a bit busy, but great ambience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
So glad to hear you will be coming back to your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,458
    494
    150
    68
    42
See reviews for
412
1,039
99
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ah, the Athenaeum! This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and I has certainly maintained the standards that I have come to expect. It seemed that this time around there was more formality in some aspects of the service. It did win an award for the Afternoon Tea, which made it slightly harder to get a reservation, just whenever I wanted.The housekeeping staff is at the top of their game and are always cleaning the rooms. Be sure to make reservations well in advance if you want the intimate experience of the afternoon tea. I was even brash enough to ask for the kitchen to heat up one of my meals for dinner that I bought at the grocery, and they did! I think what separates the Athenaeum from other hotels is there continued desire to make you feel special. They do it effortlessly. By the way, the teddy bear Arthur Naeum came home with me. Three cheers!

Room Tip: Call in advance and make sure that you specify exactly what you want. Rooms can seem smallish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coloraia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It's wonderful to hear from a guest who has returned to stay with us - we are delighted to be your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a special treat.
Arrived early and were asked if we'd like to wait in the bar while a room was prepared. On the passing of the official check-in time at well passed 2pm, we then had to prompt reception to ask for the progress of our room, which was indeed, ready,
Once we were shown to our rather small room, it was discovered that our view was of the back courtyard, which is rather grotty and unsightly... On asking whether there was something else, Teena (the helpful staff member) intimated that for a view of the park we would have to pay to upgrade (understandable) but that there might be a room looking onto a side road available which we thought would be far preferable.
We then received a phone call from reception intimating that, as we were only 'superior room guests', our current view would be the only one available to us unless we wanted to pay £60. As I hadn't booked the room directly through the hotel's reservations, I was not aware of this old-fashioned tiering system.
The cherry on the cake was when in the same phone call, I was referred to by the wrong name and my partner was called my 'colleague' when it was made clear on arrival that we were indeed a couple, looking forward to a special trip away. Sadly this hotel is not one for that special kind of trip and while, we're not accustomed to complaining, it's surprising that a hotel of this apparent calibre has such poor customer communications and antiquated views.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Opera-hotel-hopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are famous for our warm hospitality and so I am surprised and saddened to hear that you did not feel at home with us. Unfortunately we are not able to offer everyone a view of the park and most hotels do have a rate system for their rooms - however I do hope you enjoyed the complimentary soft drinks and snacks, wifi and use of our spa facilities that come with everyone's rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and our three kids spent a total of six nights at this hotel over our two week trip to Europe. Three nights on the front end and three on the back end. Both visits were fantastic. When without kids we normally stay at the Berkeley but two rooms there is too much. This hotel was a great surprise. The rooms were ample especially by London standards. Location is terrific. Our children were treated like VIPs. The staff went out of their way to make them feel welcome - soccer ball in the room, ideas of what to do, free mini-bar and of course nightly milk and cookies. I cannot say enough about the staff. They are warm and genuine. We felt like family guests rather than paying patrons. We were honored to be allowed to be guests at this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGK_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for such a warm review, this made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was in a terrific location for watching the Tour de France (Buckingham Palace, etc.). It is also close to excellent shopping and dining. The room was my largest yet in London. What is with all the mirrors though? The restaurant and bar were good quality and they do not nickle and dime you on water and the mini-bar. The room also had a good cable tv set up and plenty of plugs for electronics.

It is just a block from the original Hard Rock Cafe so you can relive your college days (T-shirt shop open late next door).

Room Tip: My room was very quiet on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for posting a review about us Julie - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel rooms are stylishly decorated, I'd recommend going for at least a Deluxe room though as the floor-to-ceiling windows mean the rooms are very bright and have good views. You have everything you need in the rooms including bathrobes, slippers, coffee/tea making and free soft drinks/snacks from the mini-bar.
The staff are really friendly and efficient, especially the reception desk staff.
The hotel is ideally located for walking access to so many sites in London - including Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Leicester Square, Kensington/Knightsbridge etc etc. We hardly used the tube as it was so easy to walk to lots of interesting places!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for your lovely review; we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant stay at this superb hotel! Right in the centre of London perfect for shopping, sightseeing and the West End. Beautiful contemporary rooms with views of Green Park! Friendly and helpful staff. Small but cozy spa with hot tubs, sauna and steam room. Would recommend this for all occasions

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you James, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#59 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#207 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotelopia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing