We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is run for the guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is run for the guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I recently combined a business trip with a few nights with my wife, and a night with my wife and kids. Its rare for a hotel to get it right on all 3 counts but The Athenaeum did all 3 well. What I liked - free minibar, free wifi, free papers, friendly and helpful staff, awesome location, fresh water when I went for a run, comfortable rooms, and an excellent price. Staff were all friendly, and I got the sense that management really understood the model that 'we are all here to make the guest's stay terrific'. It wasn't perfect - why should breakfast be £27?, laundry is just silly expensive - but I couldn't have been more impressed with such great value combined with such a great attitude. Would definitely come back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    504
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,063
104
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Huge and luxurious rooms in a good location. There's free flow of snacks provided in the fridge (excluding alcohol) and nespresso machine. I love their service and the little things that they do as they aim to make you feel like home!

Definitely will be back again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank iwanttogotojapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are so pleased that you felt at home with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
840 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 853 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

You can tell a lot about an hotel about how they deal with the unexpected - this hotel is seriously good.

Staying one night on business, I checked in around 7.30, and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded. The check in process was painless and swift. Given a room on the six floor within minutes - however I was greeted by an unexpected surprise in the room,. I swiftly returned to reception _ no problem they would sort it, but I was not to worry they would upgrade me to another room.

Escorted to one of their town houses in the side street, to an apartment - this was outstanding. Sitting room, kitchen , dining area, bed room and a modest bathroom.

I have stayed in many hotels over the years and it is an occupational hazard that on occasions things go wrong, it is a mark of a great hotel on how they deal with these, this hotel was outstanding.

I cannot stress enough that the issue was minor and I have seen much worse with a significantly less response from the hotel.

THANK YOU, my only regret was this was a one night stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review, Barry. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for many times and highly recommend this hotel, especially when what you need is a great location and a modern trendy boutique hotel. Rooms are modern and clean, size is not that big but right one. Prices are high, so you better go for corporate rate if travel on business. Bar is dedicated for Whisky lovers - a great selection is found there. Breakfast is solid and offers a good selection if buffet is chosen. Staff is attentive and quick to react to your any needs. Rooms are also equipped with Nespresso coffee machine and tea kettle which is convinient.

Helpful?
Thank sbabayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

You really can't beat the location of this hotel. Right across the street from several parks. Buckingham Palace a 10 minute walk away. Harrods around the corner. Underground down the street.

The rooms are small but well equipped and comfortable. Some treats in the mini bar are included.

The front desk staff were nothing short of excellent - very personable and helpful. We arrived very early but they accommodated us immediately with one of our two rooms until the other was ready.
The same can't be said of the person who brought a game console for our son to use. He just dropped it on the bed and left. Seriously? You couldn't have taken 60 seconds to hook it up since you know the layout of the TV inputs? And, you brought an xBox, with a PS game and controllers. What a joke. Your attitude and sloppiness reflects very poorly on the hotel and your associates who go the distance - unlike you. And next time - knock - don't just walk in. You really should find another job - you are not suited to the one you have..

Outside of this clown, an excellent experience despite many local road closures for the Tour De France that we were alerted to in advance by the concierge.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are limited. Make sure you request them ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef_Baboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review; we are really pleased that our team at reception were able to make you feel so welcome and at home. We are truly sorry to hear that the team member who brought your son's game console to the room was unprofessional, this is unacceptable and has been addressed internally with great seriousness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for a couple of days last weekend. Room was well equipped, proper snacks and tea, hair dryers, room service etc etc. nice breakfast and afternoon tea. But it was the lovely front f house staff that mad he stay. Well done guys!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for your kind review Julia, our team on the front desk will be delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here as a birthday treat after considering a number of options. We used last minute as it was cheaper than booking direct (I double checked this on the Athenaeum website). On arrival staff were friendly and helpful. We decided to upgrade from the basic room to one with floor to ceiling windows.

We went out for a show and birthday drinks returning late to find a note in our room. The note explained that that The British 10k London Run was taking place outside the hotel the following morning. It went on to day the road would be closed, so there might be disruptions to travel arrangements. We thought nothing of it until we were woken up by organisers testing their speakers at 8:00am and then booming out music shortly afterwards. It turns out the race begins right outside the hotel and has done for 13 years. This meant we were fully awake with no hope of going back to sleep much earlier than expected. We had hoped to take advantage of the noon check out time.

The hotel were well aware the event was taking place but hadn't advised us when booking (no mention on their website or on lastminute.com) or when checking in. If I had known I simply would have selected a different hotel. Even a Premier Inn with their Good Night Guarantee would have been a better choice, but we wanted something special.

The receptionist was apologetic and refunded the upgrade charge. The upgrade had probably made more problems as our original room had smaller windows and was around the back, rather than floor to ceiling windows over looking the race start. In the end we have paid just under £200 for a less than special birthday experience. Very disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flossie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Its a real shame to hear that the London Run interrupted your sleep - not everyone wants to be up that early I'm sure. I am glad that we were able to refund your upgrade charges and hope that you will come back to your London home again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing