We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 Star family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Surely not as grand as most of the other 5-Stars in London, but the room felt great with its Parkview, floor-to-ceiling windows and free Minibar. Very nice to have Gym (Precor Crosstrainer) and hot tub/sauna. Breakfast with limited choice, but of high quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your views of Green Park! We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    503
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,058
103
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our sixth visit to this lovely hotel. We have stayed here for both business and pleasure and cannot recommend it enough.

The location is terrific - direct (fast) access from Waterloo station via the Jubilee line, direct access from Heathrow (Piccadilly), or either via cab. The tube station is a five minute walk.
Staff are lovely, and they are genuinely welcoming to children; milk and cookies at night, toys, a range of DVDs and bird seed are provided so they can feed the birds in Green Park (just across the road).

Great breakfast with a lovely range of fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads etc...plus cooked options. It is pretty expensive if it it not included with your room, but kids eat free with an adult so this makes it much better value. Ditto the lunch and dinner menu - and their curries are delicious!

The area is wonderful - walk up to New Bond Street, Bruton Street, Burlington Arcade or Jermyn Street for some retail therapy, or continue into Piccadilly Circus and on to Oxford or Regent Street. All of London is very easily accessed via the tube or taxi. Green Park itself is a lovely place to walk or take the kids for a run around.

We will return again later in the year. This really is our new London home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meinturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are thrilled to be your new London home and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is well situated for the West End and Knightsbridge, overlooking Green Park,and only 5 minute walk to Green Park tube. The accommodation was first class, although you could get noise from adjoining rooms, and there were complimentary nibbles and soft drinks. The breakfast, although slightly pricey was good value.
Perhaps the best thing was the very friendly staff, no matter what their function.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms on each floor overlook Green Park. We were on the fourth floor and there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay and the Athenaeum. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A great perk is the fact that the (soft drinks and the snacks in the) minibar is FREE! However, in general we felt that the hotel needed a little bit of updating. The bed was a little bit small (a double is most definitely a double, not a king size) and the general feel is it needs a bit of modernisation. Having said that, there are signs that the hotel is moving with the times - there is a nice modern, clean and comfortable spa (consisting of 2 jacuzzis, a sauna and a steam room) which is definitely worth a visit. Another slight issue was the fact that the only choices for breakfast was the 'cold' menu (approx £20) or the 'hot menu' (approx £30), which meant you couldn't order item by item and a bowl of cereal would essentially cost you £20. Despite that we had a comfortable stay and the hotel is located in a perfect location right opposite Green Park.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJacquiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just a note to say thank you for what was the most super stay, the location, room, ambiance, team and overall experience was excellent! Seriously brilliant!
Big thanks to lovely Jim for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMeetandPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely note, we are thrilled to be your London home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here as a very last minute 'secret hotel' deal. We were pleased with the room and the location is okay. The bathroom was quite small and a little tired. Mini bar is well stocked but had to pay for alcoholic drinks in the room we booked for. We didn't use the spa as when we went down there were children playing in the hot tubs. We went out for dinner and there are plenty of restaurants close by. The check in was very pleasant and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We stayed for breakfast, which was very good. There was lots to choose from but my poached egg on toast was not very nice as it tasted only of vinegar, which was a shame. Considering the amount we paid and as an offer we can't complain. There is a welcoming atmosphere and we are glad we stayed.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can, the basic rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerfunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are delighted that you felt so at home with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I spent a mid-week night here. We stay at this hotel about once every 6 months and it's a good experience. The location is fantastic: 10 mins stroll for Buckingham Palace & Bond Street; 15 to Knightsbridge and Regent Street etc. The hotel is modern and efficient; the rooms are very well equipped: mini bar, free-standing hangers, iron etc.. On arriving in our room this trip our Air con had tripped-out, but a call to Front Desk had a Maintenance Man arrive and fix it inside 5 minutes - great service. Also, great to have no-nonsense, free wifi with a good response time. All-in-all: recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review; its great to hear from our regular guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#209 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing