We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #158 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Well located in Mayfair, on Green Park, quiet. Elegant, with lots of modern extras: free wifi, newspaper, complimentary minibar for snacks and nonalcoholic drinks,good lighting system, nespresso machine in room.
Expensive taxi ride from Heathrow, but near Green Park tube station and Piccadilly line which goes to airport.

Room Tip: We had no view on back of hotel, but very quiet.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review Vera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    503
    155
    70
    44
See reviews for
429
1,058
103
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to London, and I was a bit apprehensive that our hotel was rather on the small side. However, the Athenaeum came through for us with flying colors. Jim, the British giant, greeted us at the door with a hale and hearty welcome. Our adjoining rooms were spotlessly clean with a beautiful view above Green Park. The free minibar with fresh milk and cookies every evening was one of the many kid-friendly things that sets this hotel apart from the rest, along with the adorable child-sized bathrobes and bath slippers, board games, and DVD selection.

Right outside the front door is an entrance into Green Park, with Buckingham Palace only a brief walk away. A couple of blocks away you will find a BigBus tour stop, a Barclays bikeshare, and Shepherd's Market. A few more steps is Piccadilly Square and Soho. Hyde Park is right around the corner, with bike paths and a lake for duck feeding and paddle boating. We didn't take the Underground around, but cabs were convenient, and everywhere else we needed to go was walking distance. There's also a (really smelly) red London telephone booth right outside for your first tourist photo op. The area is bustling with activity until late at night so you always feel safe. Several times we walked back to the hotel well after dark, an obvious tourist family of 5, and felt perfectly safe.

The concierges (esp. Duncan and Alan) helped us immensely in scheduling tours and finding restaurants, even when we were away on day trips to other cities. And even after business hours. While we were traveling in Paris, Duncan managed to schedule us into the Buckingham Palace Stateroom tour for when we returned, which turned out to be a real treat. Alan booked us for the London Eye, the Tower of London, and the BigBus, all of which were loads of fun.

The hotel lobby is tiny, but the elevators are fast, and the restaurant was rarely crowded. After a long day of sightseeing, it was nice to have a gourmet restaurant for dinner right downstairs almost to ourselves, an adequate wine list, and an extensive kids menu where kids eat free. Excuse me? Kids eat free, as much as they want. Two entrees each? Still free.

A Classic English Breakfast is an institution unto itself, and the Athenaeum does it beautifully. Plus you can order omelets, waffles, and basically anything else you might want to eat, plus a well stocked breakfast buffet. Even better, breakfast is included with your room price.

We loved staying at the Athenaeum. It is definitely not cheap, especially when you need two rooms, but I felt the service made us feel special, which in the end is all you can ask for on a vacation. The only two complaints I have are 1) that the room key cards were temperamental, and 2) our hotel driver to the airport brought us to the wrong terminal. But we had plenty of time to get over to the right one in time, so no harm done. I wholeheartedly recommend the Athenaeum to London travelers, especially families with kids.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CTDad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased that we could make you and your family feel special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I have been lucky enough to have visited the Athenaeum three times for Afternoon Tea and have never been disappointed - in fact, being a fan of 'afternoon teas', the Athenaeum is by far my favourite - the service superb, with attentive, yet discreet staff.

In February this year, as a special treat, I brought my 10 year old grandson to stay overnight and to have afternoon tea too - he loved every minute of his stay, including his visit to the spa. From the moment we arrived, every member of staff went out of their way to make him feel very special. A special thanks must go to Jim (in my grandson's words) "the nicest doorman ever".

Our room was extremely comfortable, with excellent facilities and extra special touches specifically for young guests,when visiting. Breakfast was superb.

Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review Paula, we are thrilled that you brought your Grandson with you this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Me and my husband visited this hotel on bank holiday for one night and we both wish that we could have stayed longer. This is the perfect location to explore London. There are two tube stops which are five minutes in either direction (green park / hyde park corner). The rooms were of a great size. Lots of room and very luxurious.

After a long day of walking and shopping the spa was a lovely retreat to relax in the hot tub / sauna and steam room!

Little perks like the complimentary mini bar really add to the experience.

Will definitely stay here when we are in London next!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AD2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Upon arrival there were games and puzzles and cards in the room for the kids. The breakfast is elaborate and delicious, although the cooked items take awhile. We'll located for site seeing and public transportation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Perfectly located for those that want to explore Hyde Park, Green Park, Buckingham Palace, etc or want to go shopping in Knightsbridge, Picadilly, or Bond Street. Even Oxford Street is not that far. Neither is the West End and all that Mayfair has to offer.

When you walk in the front door you feel like you are stepping back into another era - in a good way. It just has something quite charming about it. It isn't a bit expansive lobby but who hangs about in hotel lobbies anyway? The bar is small and atmospheric.

The staff were very friendly in that reserved British way. Happy to serve, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The room I had was a decent size for central London. I especially liked the mirrored furnishings giving it its own unique style. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had everything in it that I needed and with white marbling, seemed lighter than many other windowless hotel bathrooms.

The hotel was undergoing a bit of a refurbishment while I was there so rates were possibly better than normal making this a good value choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Athenaeum offered a perfect stay in a centrally located hotel. Just a few minutes away from Buckingham Palace and right opposite Green Park, the hotel gives you luxurious surroundings in a comfortable hotel.
We were able to drop our bags of early which saved us dragging them around London. I would stay there again, and recommend anyone staying for a weekend break or longer to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambsto___
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Marketing Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are glad that you felt so at home with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#209 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing