We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #164 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

The Atheneum Hotel is PERFECT.
It was our "home" for 6 days, while in London the last week of October.
Customer service is impeccable - from doorman, to bellman, to front desk, chambermaids, concierge. Everyone is happy, friendly and polite no pretenses.
Our room was amazing - luxurious and comfortable bed, linens, towels, robe, slippers. Lighting, A/C & heat control right next to your bed.
Bathroom has all the luxurious amenities one may desire for and more. They provide REN bath products, mending kits, shower cap, cotton buds, facial cotton. Heated towel rack a huge plus.
Stunning view of Green Park, extremely lovely in Autumn when colors are changing.
5 stars for free Wifi and unlimited free supply of beverages (cola, water, coffee - Nespresso machine to boot, teas, hot cocoa), snacks of nuts, crisps and chocolate bars.
A skip hop and a jump away to Green Park underground and an M&S - grocery store. A stroll away from various high-end shops and restaurants.

The Atheneum is sheer perfection, a hidden gem in London.

Thank you Atheneum staff and management.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    493
    150
    68
    42
See reviews for
411
1,038
99
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

This hotel is perfect in every way. The staff are the hotels secret ingredient to a superb stay as they are welcoming, friendly, efficient, helpful and professional. The decor is really interesting and a bit quirky with artistic touches that make me smile. the rooms are comfortable with heavenly beds and pillows, lighting that can be adjusted to bright, for people like me who are not seeing as well as they used to, or muted for a more romantic touch. They are well equipped with free soft drinks, snacks, nespresso coffee ~(or instant if preferred) slippers and lovely warm bathrobes. Good REN bath products including both shampoo and conditioner (so much better than the all in one variety) big fluffy towels, powerful shower, good bath and, for a change, free wifi. What could be better than a good nights sleep in a lovley bed with a fresh cup of good coffee and the paper in the morning, in a room kept beautifylly clean and fresh by wonderfully efficient chambermaids and people who seem genuinely interested in your having had a good day/night and then after wandering back after the theatre to be greeted with "welcome Home". This hotel is heaven.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Athenaeum sadly only for one night on the 17th October.We have stayed here a few times before for a treat and never been disappointed,our last stay was no exception.
We were checked in speedily and also greeted by name which i thought was a nice touch.As it was our wedding anniversary the hotel very kindly upgraded us to an Apartment!!!! WOW it was the size of our house! very very comfortable and made our stay all the more memorable
The one thing that makes this hotel is that its family run and all the staff are so helpful and friendly.We cant wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

My family and I recently stayed in a 2 bed apartment at the Athenaeum. In short, the apartment we were allocated was situated directly above a very popular tapas bar (open 11.30am-midnight). The noise from below was very bad, and continued throughout the day, totally unsuitable for our young family (particularly our baby who was sleeping in the lounge area). Despite the promise of toys suitable for our children, a box of lego and 2 colouring books were provided for the first nights stay (we later requested a DVD which promptly arrived complete with popcorn).
The 2 bed apartments are situated at the back of the hotel and have yet to be refurbished. The decor is dated, but the beds were comfortable. Upon arrival there was a small leak in one of the bathrooms which was quickly addressed. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the entry cards which continually did not work (we ended up needing 6 replacement cards for our 2 night stay).
The kitchen was very handy and the inclusive mini bar a great idea (though it wasn't restocked during our stay). We ended up ordering breakfast in the room - arrived punctually, however, both mornings a couple of items were missing.
On the whole, the staff were very pleasant, it was more the accommodation that was very disappointing. Certainly the 2 bed apartments are not suitable for anyone who has young children, or light sleepers. Needless to say, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

This is the best place I have ever stayed in when in London. The staff are fantastic and always able to help. The rooms were perfect and much larger than most London hotels, plus they are equipped with everything you could possibly need. The location is perfect for walking or catching the subway as Green Park station is right there. My friend and I had the most pleasant experience and i would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyciaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

This is a boutique style hotel, newly refurbished so everything is pristine, lots of glass and light being used to good effect to create a sense of space. Well located about 2 mins walk to Green Park Station. Lovely comfortable rooms with every facility incl. an iPod dock, although not an LED clock somewhere in the room which would have been handy as I can't see my watch in the dark!.

Luxurious if small bathroom with fluffy new white robes, (slippers delivered at turndown time), and great view onto Green Park and beyond. A special feature is the staff who are charming and helpful. Table d'hote dinner is good value, for London, with prices at £22 for 2 courses, £27 for 3. Breakfast is expensive but the quality was great. It was a pleasure to find a mini bar where soft drinks and snacks were not charged for at a hefty rate, being free. We liked the Whisky lounge with its mellow atmosphere for the evenings, and the Garden Room is a nice spot for afternoon tea (for which the hotel apparently has an award) and is not too feminine in decor, so we spotted quite a few men having tea there, unlike some other places where it has all got very frilly.

We loved it and would happily return when we are staying in London again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Payno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

My three sisters and I had beautiful connecting rooms on the third floor overlooking Green park. The bay windows that opened with the juliet balconies were wonderful and we would sit having our tea or whiskies and watch the world whirl by. Shutting the windows cut the noise dramatically but we kept them cracked a bit to soak up the London sounds. The rooms were a good size with comfortable beds covered with fluffy duvets.The bathroom was larger than others I have had in London. Because we paid for these upgraded rooms we had free access to eveything in the mini bar, including alcohol. Everything was replenished daily. We loved the peppercorn crisps! The hotel has free wireless which was great.
The staff of this hotel is what really makes the difference. From Jim and John, the doormen, to Saleem, who checked us in and then personally took us to our rooms, to the general manager and his staff who invited us to a cocktail reception and then made us feel very welcome.....this hotel made us feel very special.
The location is perfect for seeing London. There are two tube stops nearby. You can cross the street and be at Buckingham Palace in 5 minutes. We had many restaurants within a couple blocks. We loved Pret a Manger for breakfast and stopped by several times. We had one breakfast in the hotel but we aren't really buffet brunch people no matter how elegant it is.
I can't think of a negative thing to say about the Athenaeum. It will be the hotel we return to on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tippicanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#59 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#95 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#125 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Property: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing