We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #150 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We chose the Athenaeum for its family-friendly reputation and great location. For our daughter and her family (two boys ages 6 and 8), we wanted two connecting rooms guaranteed, with my wife's and mine nearby. Our three rooms were perfect, spacious and bright, overlooking quiet Down Street.

Upon confirming the reservation, we received a cheery e-mail from the "children's concierge", asking about the boys' interests and preferences. Included with their welcome packets were birdseed, a kite and a Frisbee, all enjoyed in Green Park just across the street.

Service and staff were all very friendly and helpful and good at remembering our names.

As noted by other reviewers, the only off-note was the GBP22 cost of breakfast at the hotel. We chose instead to start the day at one of the numerous small cafes in Shepherd Market, just a five-minute walk up behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadready75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Atheneum and have to say that we thought it was fantastic, the green park suite was beautiful, very spacious, large bathroom, beautiful comfy bed, quality fixtures and fittings and the little touches such as a nespresso machine in the room and complimentry mini bar was well appreciated after a day shopping in London. we only had a room only rate so did not try breakfast but the other reviews seem to say that it was good. Location couldnt have been better close to all main attractions either by foot or tube. It was a shame that we were only there one night as we would have liked to have stayed the week! The staff we found to be very helpful, cheerful and professional so would definately recommend and will be returning ourselves and hopefully you will have as good a time as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jono7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel came up as a lastminute.com secret hotel - so we got it for a reduced room rate. Have to say, I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, it was lovely, very clean and extremely friendly/helpful staff.

The room had obviously been redecorated in recent times and was very nice and comfortable indeed. Room service was great as was the food we had (both evening meal and breakfast).

The location is great - 5/10 minute walk from Green Park tube and is at the Park Lane end of Piccadilly.

I would definitely stay here again if I could get it at the "secret hotel" rates, not sure I would want to pay the normal room rate as it was considerably more!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HantsTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed a couple nights for my partners 40th Birthday wih our 8 month old baby. We picked a nice hotel but were surprised the rooms were not better for over £600 a night We paid more for a suite which had a seperate living room but it was very small for the cost. Especially as breakfast then costs £22 (cont) on top. The bathroom had a lovely huge power shower but the actual bath and sinks were quite dated and not partiularly lovely. In term of the view over Green Park, in the height of the summer all you see is the tops of the trees. The hotel does make children very welcome, putting toys in the room and allowing them in the restaurant but the noise of the road at night is not good. The spa is currently out of action so no added bonus of the facilities to use. Overall good location and friendly staff but expensive fo what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooty2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Athenaeum last May and we were terribly disappointed with the hotel. The bedroom wasn't very clean and the floors and table at the bar were sticky.
The hotel needs refurbishment and you pay a high price for very little. We wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jamesandtessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

having stayed in about two dozen London hotels (most excellent), I like variety and tried this with very fine results -- thoroughly enjoyable stay. service staff particularly warm and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jms-ny-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We've never been treated better when traveling with our kids. Serina, the kid's concierge, really outdid herself in preparing the unit for our arrival and making us feel comfortable while staying in one of their apartments. They thought of everything - games and activities for the kids, kid sized slippers and robes, teddy bears, video games, bird seed.... the list goes on.

The apartments themselves were fairly recently remodeled. They were large enough to comfortably hold our family of four. The king size bed was very comfortable. The sofa bed not so much. The bathroom was small but functional. The kitchen was quite small - I wouldn't want to cook a dinner in it, but it suited our purposes fine - keeping drinks cold, making coffee in the morning, etc.

Housekeeping was very responsive to our requests and room service was quick and good. It was nice to have the features of an apartment with the services of a hotel.

The bedroom was in the back of the building and very quiet. The main room with the sofa bed had much more traffic noise. Although these units are pretty updated, they are essentially older apartments and have the requisite squeaky floors, etc. London was quite warm during our stay. The unit had a/c, but there was not specific temperature setting (just fan speed and relative cooling). We had trouble keeping our room comfortable - some nights it would be too cold and others too hot - even when adjusting the controls.

All in all, we were quite satisfied with our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#55 of 1,076 in London
1,115 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,815 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £247 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing