We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, Great restaurant and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #154 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The hotel is on Piccadilly opposite Green Park, a few doors down from Hard Rock cafe, so right by everything. The entrance was as grand as you'd expect, and staff very attentive.
The room was great, lovely bed, came with a Bose iPod dock and all kinds of fancy lighting.

One really nice touch was the mini bar which was very well stocked with quality drinks and snacks was complimentary (apart from alcoholic), We stayed in a deluxe room.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was really nice, the food was excellent and the ambience was great, reasonable price for a set meal at around £80 + tip for two.

Breakfast was quite expensive at £30 each, and not being a big eater, they were happy to recommend some local cafe's as an alternative, the staff were really pleasant.

Stayed last time in the Hilton, which was okay, but this is so much nicer. Didn't make much use of the facilities whilst we were their as it was for Christmas shopping.

Highly recommended, and will definitely book again when going to London.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDommett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

I visited this Hotel in October 2009 and was really excited to visit again for 6nights in October 2010. This Hotel is lovely, fabulous service, excellent location, the rooms are really nice and have everything you could need. In 2009 i was upgraded to a suite on both my visits however an upgrade wasn't available this time. The Guest Services Manager did upgrade the room i was in and try to accomodate accordingly. Mini bar is free and excellent and contains: 2xstill water, 2x sparkling, 2x apple juice, orange juice, nuts, kettle chips, mars bar, kit kat. If you are in an apartment you have fresh lemon and lime daily, a washing machine plasma tv with surround sound. I love this hotel. It isn't cheap but for London it is worth every pound! Bottled water available on exit each day. The gym was being renovated but with Buckingham Palace and Green Park over the road i found no need to visit the gym. Love love lovvve this Hotel! And will be going back this year!

Plus it has FREE UNLIMITED WIRELESS!

You would be crazy to stay anywhere else. Great Location in beautiful Mayfair district! Close to the tube- one block away! Brilliant hotel, You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I spent my anniversary here with my fiancee. We purchased 'run of the house' which was a room on allocation and was given one of the best rooms in the house. I was very impressed with the service, cleanliness and most importantly room layout and quality. I would reccomend this for people visiting London for business or pleasure and do try the spa- it's AMAZING....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aylin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We were in London last year on holidays when my Dad fell ill and was unable to fly home for six weeks. We stumbled accross the Athenaeum by accident and it was the best accident we ever had!
We stayed for almost three weeks and it became our home. The staff were fabulous and very helpful knowing our situation - nothing was too much trouble. The cleanliness of the rooms was fabulous and staff were constantly checking that you were happy and that everything was to your satisfaction. Great mini bar and your own espresso machine made things very comfortable. The occassional celebrity at breakfast always made things interesting!
You can stay at many 5 star hotels but you won't get the individual service that you get at the Athenaeum - whether it was your "welcome home' from John the doorman or the warm smile from all the front desk staff as you walzed in and out. Jonathan I would like to thank you and your staff for making a difficult situation for us so great. It was a great pleasure to stay at The Athenaeum.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky_6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night to meet up with our parents who were having an extended stay in London.
We arrived from "up north" at around 9.30am. The doorman greeted us and said that our parents were in the breakfast room waiting for us. We checked in (even so early in the day) and were shown to our room where I quickly freshened up before going downstairs to meet our family.
The Doorman is a star. Friendly, amusing, efficient and a great asset to the hotel. He sums up the service and atmosphere you can expect when staying here. All the staff were very friendly, they knew who we were and made sure we were well looked after.

The rooms are very comfortable and elegantly furnished in a contemporary style.
The bar has a nice atmoshpere in the evening with a wide selection of cocktails and other drinks including 150 types of whisky!!
At breakfast there was a good selection of cereals, pastries, fruit, smoked salmon, cheese, bread, yoghurt etc. There was also a good cooked selection on offer.
My mother-in-law had waffles and maple syrup. Unfortunately they were virtually inedible (quite rubbery). She didn't want to make a fuss, but the waiter noticed that she hadn't eaten much of them and asked. He apologised straight away and asked if she would like somenthing else. She declined because she didn't want to make a fuss. Later the waiter told us that they wouldn't charge for her breakfast. I think the situation was handled perfectly.
To get this location, level of service and quality of hotel there is obviously a price to pay! The rooms are not cheap and neither is the breakfast - £22.50 for continental, £27.50 for cooked breakfast. However, for a short stay in London it is a fantastic find.
I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Stayed in quite a few 5* hotels in London & can say that this is up there with one of the best i have stayed in. More traditional that the more "contemporary" hotels i tend to sway towards, but this hotel feels more personal. From the minute you walk through the door you are greeted by a polite, yet funny doorman. Check in was the most efficient i have ever experienced. Was upgraded to a park view room - which had beautiful views over London. Complimentary soft drinks/snacks & nespresso made this hotel stand out from others who could take a leaf out of the Athenaeum's book - lovely touch. Room spacious & clean. Great location. What more could you ask for? Would recommend & revisit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the weekend, the service is superb from the minute you walk in the door. Check in was most efficient and we were shown to our room and all the faciltiies were explained. The complimentry soft drinks and snacks in the mini bar is a lovely gesture. There is a pillow menu and I can highly recommend the anti snoring pillow that worked for my husband!! The spa looks wonderful I am just disapointed that we ran out of time to make the most of the facilities. To wake up and see the views of the park from our room was a great way to start the day. The food was excellent, I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,073 in London
1,110 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#134 of 1,073 in London
1,759 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,073 in London
3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £244 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing