We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant trip - excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #144 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I noted that a few of the previous reviews were from people who had received upgrades. We didn't so I feel that this is a very unbiased account. Our room was no bigger or smaller than most other hotel rooms. Flat screen TV hung in the corner wasn't huge, air con was quite noisy. The view, being at the back of the hotel was a bit grim; directly overlooked another building. That's all the bad I can say. The use of mirrors in the decor was lovely. I noticed that the hotel service brochure even offered a pillow menu! Hotel is in a good location. The complimentary snacks and soft drinks from the fridge was a nice touch (a kit kat, a mars bar, bag of crisps, jar of nuts and about 16 soft drinks). Continental breakfast was included in the price and was probably the best I've ever had. There were pear brulees, lots of fresh fruit, danish pastries (my daughter loved the apple and lavendar ones), cereal, yoghurt; even a fresh honeycomb! However the thing that sets this hotel apart is the staff. Every single one of them went out of their way to make the stay pleasant - nothing was too much trouble and you get the sense that all of them enjoyed their job. Not the cheapest hotel but a nice treat and I felt I got my moneys worth. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,128 - 2,134 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

Fantastic place to stay. On arrival my 19 month old son was very ill. The staff bent over backwards in arranging the best and most prompt care available and even organised a private doctors visit so my son didn't have to wait hours at the local hospital. Children are more than welcome and so catered for. Children under 12 eat for free! The meals are designed with creativity and flair and for even the fussiest of eaters! Great location and value - stayed in the apartments which are spacious, clean and so comfortable. The level of comfort is beyond excellent. The staff are also exceptionally helpful and courteous at all times. Will stay again and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarbee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed here for one night for our anniversary. We booked the run of the house due to previous good reviews of this option. As soon as we arrived in reception after being greeted very warmly by the valet parking/doorman staff, we were welcomed with a "Happy Anniversary". Our room was to be ready in 20 minutes and was offered a complimentary drink in the very "Mad Men" bar and was delivered the best raspberry mojito i have ever drunk.

We were then taken to our room by one of the reception staff and givena short talk about the facilities in our room including the super coffee machine, mostly free mini barand superb lighting. There was a fab view of Hyde Park and even a very seet anniversary card-nice touch.

I cannot comment on the food as we already had a reservation for dinner with friends and a breakfast at the Wolsley.
But what really made our stay memorable was the excellent service. We never left or entered the building without the staff recognising this and asking if they could help with our journey or if we had had a nice time.

We have stayed in some of the best hotels in Dubai with 6 star service and The Athenaeum completely match this which is rare these days.

We stay in London about 3 times a year and have no desire to stay in any other hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah hargest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed at the Athenaeum on Saturday 5th February.

We booked a Deluxe Room but were upgraded on arrival to a Park View Room which was overlooking Green Park. It was everything you wish for in a hotel room, if not more. From the beautiful complimentary Ren products, to the coffee maker, nuts, chocolate, crisps, slippers, gowns.. The list is endless.

The Athenaeum certainly goes the extra mile for customer service which is simply outstanding. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at in the UK, it exceeds expectations.

London's best kept secret!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This hotel was perfect for us in every way! The location - we walked everywhere from the front door, in my opinion very central for shopping, sightseeing etc. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The food in the restaurant was just exquisite - we chose the 3 course set evening meal with a bottle of wine (around £82 for 2 of us) and because it was so good I would say it was very good value, the free minibar (soft drinks and snacks) and the free wifi - all made this a perfect 5 * stay for us! We didn't have time to have Afternoon Tea - which looked really good, nor can I comment on the Spa (not enough time!) And we chose to have breakfast a little further up the road (still on Piccadilly) at The Wolseley - which was an experience I would also recommend and certainly for us represented much better value than the breakfast at The Athenaeum!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The hotel is on Piccadilly opposite Green Park, a few doors down from Hard Rock cafe, so right by everything. The entrance was as grand as you'd expect, and staff very attentive.
The room was great, lovely bed, came with a Bose iPod dock and all kinds of fancy lighting.

One really nice touch was the mini bar which was very well stocked with quality drinks and snacks was complimentary (apart from alcoholic), We stayed in a deluxe room.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was really nice, the food was excellent and the ambience was great, reasonable price for a set meal at around £80 + tip for two.

Breakfast was quite expensive at £30 each, and not being a big eater, they were happy to recommend some local cafe's as an alternative, the staff were really pleasant.

Stayed last time in the Hilton, which was okay, but this is so much nicer. Didn't make much use of the facilities whilst we were their as it was for Christmas shopping.

Highly recommended, and will definitely book again when going to London.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDommett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I visited this Hotel in October 2009 and was really excited to visit again for 6nights in October 2010. This Hotel is lovely, fabulous service, excellent location, the rooms are really nice and have everything you could need. In 2009 i was upgraded to a suite on both my visits however an upgrade wasn't available this time. The Guest Services Manager did upgrade the room i was in and try to accomodate accordingly. Mini bar is free and excellent and contains: 2xstill water, 2x sparkling, 2x apple juice, orange juice, nuts, kettle chips, mars bar, kit kat. If you are in an apartment you have fresh lemon and lime daily, a washing machine plasma tv with surround sound. I love this hotel. It isn't cheap but for London it is worth every pound! Bottled water available on exit each day. The gym was being renovated but with Buckingham Palace and Green Park over the road i found no need to visit the gym. Love love lovvve this Hotel! And will be going back this year!

Plus it has FREE UNLIMITED WIRELESS!

You would be crazy to stay anywhere else. Great Location in beautiful Mayfair district! Close to the tube- one block away! Brilliant hotel, You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#116 of 1,077 in London
1,891 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,077 in London
4,179 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#70 of 1,077 in London
1,132 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#41 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £223 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing