We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, awesome Greenwich”
Review of Greenwich

Greenwich
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.78*
and up
Greenwich Food Tour in London
Ranked #32 of 1,616 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Set on the south bank of the Thames, approximately five miles from central London, this city borough is rich in maritime history and features the Royal Naval College, National Maritime Museum and the Old Royal Observatory, which was built by Sir Christopher Wren for King Charles II.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Paris, France
Level Contributor
272 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Amazing, awesome Greenwich”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Take the Thames clipper from Embankment, and during your half hour ride, you'll get to see many London attractions.
Alight at Greenwich, and just be awed.
Great little college town.
And huge history.
King Henry VIII held court here.
Don't miss Queen Anne's palace.
Don't miss any of the absolutely fabulous parks, museums, the planetarium, the meridian, and the great views of central London, etc, etc, etc...
Without a doubt, my favorite place in London!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,875
    1,417
    224
    37
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
196 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just cool because its where time begins”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A visit to the Meridian Line is well worth the effort. Take the 188 or 199 bus to the end of the line. Greenwich Park, close to the arena, and the beginning of time...what is not to enjoy?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Go for the day”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent our last day in London going to Greenwich. I am glad we did. We opted for the river boat (vs river bus) so we learned lots and saw the Thames. I liked the slower pace of Greenwich. The Painted Hall and Chapel were closed for a graduation but we did see the Queen's Home (nice tulip stair case - free), National Maritime Museum (a little boring - free), Cutty Sark (fee), Greenwich Market and Shops. The highlight was climbing the hill for the amazing view (don't bother paying to go in the Royal Observatory - you see plenty from the hill). Be sure to lunch at Café Rouge while in Greenwich

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hipmomandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greenwich Park”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Greenwich Park is wonderfully varied, from formal flower garden to sweeps of up and down slopes to flat areas for cricket.There's a children's playground at the bottom and tennis courts at the top. Also at the top the Greenwich Observatory and at the bottom of the hill Inigo Jones' double cube Queen's House with the newly expanded National Maritime Museum on the left (courtesy of the Olympics which held the equestrian event here) and across the road Wren's Naval College (chapel with ceiling by Hogarth's father in law Thornhill) etc etc etc.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PJCrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
386 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven Here”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Took an afternoon boat ride from London, about a half hour or so. Nice interesting trip. Greenwich is the Place of Royal Naval academy and home of the meridian line. Nice piece of history here. Parks, shops, and restaurants here. A great afternoon getaway from the big city

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenwich also viewed

 

Been to Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing