We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Natural History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.87*
and up
London Night Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #13 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A center of scientific excellence in the discovery of taxonomy and biodiversity, this world-famous museum promotes the discovery and enjoyment of the natural world through such exciting exhibits as the Life and Earth Galleries, wildlife garden and geological collections.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent collection of dinosaur skeletons, and the most extensive collection of mammals I have seen at a museum.

The highlight, without contest, for me was the blue whale skeleton and model. Seeing a full-sized blue whale, dwarfing all other mammals (present and past), was truly amazing and worth seeing.

The museum is free, but busy as a result (no matter when you go - classes are there weekdays, families on weekends), so be patient and give yourself sufficient time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_vonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,626
    6,141
    1,969
    468
    167
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Looking Tired”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

First visit today and won't be rushing back. Arrived about 10:30 and queued for about 30 mins to get in, not too bad considering it's school holidays. Once inside we went up the escalator to start the tour in the red zone. We quickly became disappointed with many exhibits either not working, under repair or missing altogether.

Paid £10 per adult and £6 for my student son to gain admission to Mammoth exhibit. Cashier was very sarcastic about my son's student ID looking at it intently for 5 mins and then commenting it "looked funny"! Trust me, I'm not about to try and swindle £4 saving out of a museum!! Very rude. This exhibit was very good, though I would not say it was worth the money but didn't mind as it all helps the museum. Only took us 20 mins to walk through this part.

Had lunch in one of the cafés which was very poorly organised and cost us £27 for 3 sandwiches, 3 cold drinks and 2 packets of crisps!!

By the time we got to the blue zone I'd had enough - too crowded, too hot (open some windows!) and everything looked so tired and unloved. There must have been a decade's worth of dust on top of some of the exhibits suspended above the blue zone!!

Helpful?
2 Thank NicDanStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience, dont get a crepé”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visited the museum last week, on a day out with friends. Was a really good experience, lots to see and learn. But we made of the mistake of getting a crepé from one of the cafes near the Darwin centre. This was a huge mistake, as for roughly £8 I got a crepé (which was cold ham and cheese in a cold pancake) some crisps and a drink. Awful, and did affect the day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Simply breathtaking. The number of displays is immense, as is the size of some of them. From insects to dinosaurs; there's something for everyone.

Had lunch in their restaurant which was fab. Great food, and not badly priced. The gift shop as well had a great range of souvenirs.

We went at the weekend in the summer holidays, so it was quite busy, and took us a while to get through the dinosaurs across the bridge. Bring plenty of water with you to keep hydrated as the museum gets incredibly warm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Capital landmark that continues to excite all ages.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have been visiting the natural history museum since I was a child and now, my own teenage children still cannot fail but to be enthralled by the variety of exhibitions! There's the trusty favourites ..... the dinosaurs and mammals with some fantastic interactive activities for all ages; then there's the awesome escalator which passes through the centre of the earth to get to the earth room. The building itself is architecturally spectacular, and you could easily wind away the hours wandering from exhibition to exhibition. My advice would be to 1) arrive early to avoid the crowds; 2) visit the popular exhibits (eg dinosaurs) first to avoid queues;3) take your own drinks and picnic as refreshments are ridiculously expensive. Having said that the museum is completely free relying on donations; a silly priced drink is then not so silly if you put it into context. A must see free family venue in Central London with easy tube access (South Kensington).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linds70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Natural History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing