We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great neighborhood for a true flavor of London”
Review of Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crescent Hotel
Ranked #540 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great neighborhood for a true flavor of London”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

1) A pleasant walk from the St. Pancras International train station if you are coming in on the Eurostar to the Crescent.
2) Russell Square station is a few minutes walk - the Picadilly line goes to Heathrow. There is an agent at Russell Square to help with questions and to purchase your tickets.
3) Great traditional pub right around corner from the crescent, as well as a great choice of ethinic restaurants.
4) The free British Museum which contains the Rosette Stone is a pleasant walk from the Crescent, cutting through the beautiful Russell Square Park
5) The crescent is quiet, with a park right across the street
6) The neighborhood is lovely and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    117
    43
    17
    1
See reviews for
84
41
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in a single room on the third floor (it's a bit of a trek and the last flight of stairs is narrow and windy) with its own shower but shared toilet. Common areas are kept spotless so no worries about sharing the facilities with other guests. For the £65 I paid for the night, it was excellent value considering its central location (five minutes from Russell Square tube, good shopping centre 3 minutes away and loads of eateries/pubs), room(clean bedding, towels provided and shower gel/soap etc) and breakfast thrown in. Breakfast was a little poor (poached egg overdone and only one slice of toast) but perfectly edible. Would question slightly their service thinking - another couple were served their cooked breakfasts a good five minutes apart - even though there was only me and one other in there at the time. Despite previous reviews, I found both the front door staff and the waitresses very polite and efficient.

Room Tip: As others have pointed out, back rooms would be quieter. I had a top floor front room. Little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimpysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is located in Bloomsbury, a neighborhood I like. It is on a nice crescent, several blocks from busy Euston Road; however, I did not hear any traffic noise from Euston Road.

On the whole, my stay was comfortable with only minor complaints. I arrived about eight in the morning knowing my room likely would not be available, and it was not; however, the person at the reception desk was pleasant and accepted my luggage for storage. When I returned later that night, the luggage had been taken to my room. I was pleasantly surprised to find that, rather than a room with a single bed, I, a single traveler, had been placed in a larger room with two beds. The room and bathroom were somewhat "dated" but clean. The room contained all the usual items one expects. The room was on the street side but I did not notice any unusual noise that would interrupt my sleep.

Positives: Location in Bloomsbury. Clean room. Pleasant, helpful receptionist.

Negatives: 1. On occasion, when water drained from the sink or shower, I detected an aroma arising from a drain in the bathroom floor. Because the extra space in the bedroom was nice, and not wanting to lose it for smaller room, I mentioned it only when checking out.
2. Breakfast is served in a basement room that is rather cramped. The breakfast servers were rather brusque.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here for one night. The hotel has character and is set in an old building in the middle of a large crescent (eighteenth century ?) . My room was a single en-suite on the second floor and was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Have read previous reviews with complaints about unfriendly staff but the young woman who served my breakfast was friendly with a lovely smile . The service was also efficient . Had scrambled eggs and the portion was large and tasty . I was very impressed by the overall cleanliness of the building- bedroom, bathroom, downstairs lounge were all impressively spotless. I appreciated being able to leave my bag at the hotel before I was able to check into my room, and the following day after breakfast I was able to leave my bag again while I went on trips to museums .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

It's a bit old fashioned, and that will either enrich or frustrate your stay. Walk-up narrow stairways, small bathrooms, traditional English breakfast in the (graceful) basement. The first impression was a disappointment, but I confess the homey place grew on me, and after day four it was cozy and comfortable. Unbeatable location in central London.

Room Tip: The rooms along Crescent drive permit street noise to come in. Some days, hearing traffic was rough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wertuio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here on a school trip for ten days. The location is close to three tube stops, the British Museum and the British Library. The breakfast is wonderful, the room we were in was very spacious for a London hotel. If you want to feel like a Londoner, stay here! It's not as touristy and you can get very acquainted with London very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Arriving after flight to Gatwick with leg injury from last day of holiday, we were changed to a room that avoided flights of steps and also had a bath. This was so welcome. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the location was quiet and the breakfast in the morning was very good. Dasha, the housekeeper, was extremely helpful and brought me some ice for my leg in the morning. There are extra touches that are not always there in a "cheaper" London hotel such as a cosy lounge where there is the option for a snack in the evening. So handy for St Pancras and King's Cross. We have found a gem!

Room Tip: Our lower ground floor room was chosen for bath and easier access. Could hear faint rumble of tube t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah24500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#444 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#565 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#541 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#891 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Property: Crescent Hotel
Address: 49-50 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#367 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing