We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about this hotel - just great”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about this hotel - just great”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just loved this hotel. I was looking for a hotel that was economical and could sleep three adults as my daughter joined us for this part of our trip. The room was great - clean and easily accommodated us all. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was good and filling. Location was perfect - bus stopped right outside - and it was easy to get to the train. Our room had an ensuite and the bathroom was a decent size. I visited three cities during my vacation and this was by far my favorite hotel. If I visit London again, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Since I tend to over pack, I appreciated that my room was on the first floor. Since we were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    471
    92
    26
    16
See reviews for
358
319
226
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I rated the Ridgemount a 4 Star only because it did not have air conditioning. The location is perfect, walk to Soho, theaters, Oxford Street, the British Museum and many other attractions. The hotel is older, but my single room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and the bed comfortable. The corridors were clean. It is obvious the owners take good care of the interior. No peeling paint or soiled carpets here. The breakfast (included in the $100.00 rate) was tasty and filling. A few things to consider if you plan on staying there. The back of the hotel is quieter than the front, so if you like to sleep with a window open, you should request a rear facing room. Also, there is no lift, so if you can't or don't like to climb stairs you may want to request a room on the lower levels. The wifi worked very well and they have two computers in the lounge to print out your plane tickets or research the local restaurants. All in all, a perfect place to stay if your visiting London for sightseeing and theater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ETROKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I don't have any experience with other London hotels, but after my stay at the Ridgemount last week, I have no reason to seek that experience in the future. Loved everything about the hotel. Great location in central London. Easy walking distance to many things, and for locations beyond that, there is easy, nearby access to a couple different tube stops. From what I've read in all my research, the room size was normal for the location and price. I hate Americans who complain about the size of rooms, so here's one American who enjoyed the room size. It was exactly what I wanted/needed. Why would I want a big room when I'm going to be out exploring the city all day anyway? If you do want more space, there's a nice parlor room to relax in, and also a couple computers there to use. When I was in my room, the bed was comfortable, and the Wi-fi was excellent. My stay included shared facilities, and this worked out perfectly. Nice, clean toilet and shower areas. Gower Street is a bit busy, and my room faced it, so if traffic noise bothers you, you might want a back room. I like the hum of the traffic, so it was great for me. The breakfast was exceptional. Good food, and the waitresses are incredibly friendly and attentive. The rest of the staff is very friendly as well.. Mr. Rees is golden! :-) From all my research beforehand, you also get all this for an extremely competitive price. I can hardly wait to get back to London, and when I do, I'll be staying at the Ridgemount again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is by far the best budget hotel you will ever stay in. Friendly and knowledgeable staff! Rooms are clean, neat and a fairly good size for a budget hotel. We did not have an en suite room, but found the bathroom facilities more than adequate. Breakfast is lovely with very friendly and helpful waitresses! The manager checked on us each morning at breakfast and made sure we had our arrangements for the day in order. Free coffee and tea facilities were a bonus after a late night out. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but if budget is what you are looking for, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at The Ridgemount on late October, I had a double room en suite on the first floor, as the room was on the rear it was very quiet. As in the other hotels in the area, rooms are small but efficient, I only spent the night in it so all I needed was a bed and a bathroom. Good wi-fi connection in room. Free hot drinks machine in the lounge, english breakfast included in the room rate with the possibility of lighter options. The family who ownes the place is really nice and friendly. The location is convenient, near the british museum, a lot of bus lines just across the street and walking distance to Leicester Square, Covent Garden and Oxford Street. I would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyFirenze_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Room was tiny, as expected for the price. Location was excellent. Full English breakfast included, but we got bored with the same items every single day. Staff were helpful with directions. Wi-Fi worked pretty well, and they do have 2 computers in the parlor for guests to use to print boarding passes as needed. Bathroom was antiquated and had problems with a toilet that flushed only sporadically. We were told that was because of 60 years of "abuse" by Americans! Okayyyy.... otherwise the hotel was a good bargain. The beds were tiny single beds, but were comfortable otherwise. Lots of street noise because it is located near a hospital so heard sirens all night. Earplugs solved that problem easily. We were unable to book into the same hotel for our return to London a week later, so we set out to find another and found our dream!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The room had two twin beds, a sink, a small wardrobe and a desk, and barely enough room to walk between the two beds. Even though the carpet that showed between the beds was only a small strip, it hadn't been vacuumed. Also, it was an usually warm night in early October in London, and the room was hot. We finally resorted to opening the window, and the street was very noisy - lots of traffic, the occasional police siren, etc. It was within walking distance from Euston Station and was relatively cheap, but I wished while still awake at 2:00 am that I had taken a metro to a hotel in a quieter neighborhood. The breakfast was good, though, and the waitstaff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
1,762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#257 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#62 of 1,069 in London
364 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Property: Ridgemount Hotel
Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing