We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect..... !!!”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #130 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect..... !!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just returned from 6 days at Ridgemount, and we are really satisfied with our stay; very nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, great location, clean room and cheap price for a room for a family of 5. We will definitely stay here next time we are going to London!

Room Tip: Room 17; quiet room on the ground floor facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trude_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    456
    88
    26
    16
See reviews for
342
312
209
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We where three people from Norway sharing a room with a bathroom. Small, but so clean, and just enough for what we where doing for the weekend. When we arrived the owner met us, and everything others rewievers have written is true, he is just great. For our four night stay he asked us what we where doing for the day, and he then told us the easiest way to get around London. He knew everything! The breakfast is good, the staff is lovely and the location is awesome! I will come back to this hotel the next time I´m going to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just loved this hotel. I was looking for a hotel that was economical and could sleep three adults as my daughter joined us for this part of our trip. The room was great - clean and easily accommodated us all. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was good and filling. Location was perfect - bus stopped right outside - and it was easy to get to the train. Our room had an ensuite and the bathroom was a decent size. I visited three cities during my vacation and this was by far my favorite hotel. If I visit London again, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Since I tend to over pack, I appreciated that my room was on the first floor. Since we were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I rated the Ridgemount a 4 Star only because it did not have air conditioning. The location is perfect, walk to Soho, theaters, Oxford Street, the British Museum and many other attractions. The hotel is older, but my single room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and the bed comfortable. The corridors were clean. It is obvious the owners take good care of the interior. No peeling paint or soiled carpets here. The breakfast (included in the $100.00 rate) was tasty and filling. A few things to consider if you plan on staying there. The back of the hotel is quieter than the front, so if you like to sleep with a window open, you should request a rear facing room. Also, there is no lift, so if you can't or don't like to climb stairs you may want to request a room on the lower levels. The wifi worked very well and they have two computers in the lounge to print out your plane tickets or research the local restaurants. All in all, a perfect place to stay if your visiting London for sightseeing and theater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ETROKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I don't have any experience with other London hotels, but after my stay at the Ridgemount last week, I have no reason to seek that experience in the future. Loved everything about the hotel. Great location in central London. Easy walking distance to many things, and for locations beyond that, there is easy, nearby access to a couple different tube stops. From what I've read in all my research, the room size was normal for the location and price. I hate Americans who complain about the size of rooms, so here's one American who enjoyed the room size. It was exactly what I wanted/needed. Why would I want a big room when I'm going to be out exploring the city all day anyway? If you do want more space, there's a nice parlor room to relax in, and also a couple computers there to use. When I was in my room, the bed was comfortable, and the Wi-fi was excellent. My stay included shared facilities, and this worked out perfectly. Nice, clean toilet and shower areas. Gower Street is a bit busy, and my room faced it, so if traffic noise bothers you, you might want a back room. I like the hum of the traffic, so it was great for me. The breakfast was exceptional. Good food, and the waitresses are incredibly friendly and attentive. The rest of the staff is very friendly as well.. Mr. Rees is golden! :-) From all my research beforehand, you also get all this for an extremely competitive price. I can hardly wait to get back to London, and when I do, I'll be staying at the Ridgemount again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is by far the best budget hotel you will ever stay in. Friendly and knowledgeable staff! Rooms are clean, neat and a fairly good size for a budget hotel. We did not have an en suite room, but found the bathroom facilities more than adequate. Breakfast is lovely with very friendly and helpful waitresses! The manager checked on us each morning at breakfast and made sure we had our arrangements for the day in order. Free coffee and tea facilities were a bonus after a late night out. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but if budget is what you are looking for, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze, Italia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at The Ridgemount on late October, I had a double room en suite on the first floor, as the room was on the rear it was very quiet. As in the other hotels in the area, rooms are small but efficient, I only spent the night in it so all I needed was a bed and a bathroom. Good wi-fi connection in room. Free hot drinks machine in the lounge, english breakfast included in the room rate with the possibility of lighter options. The family who ownes the place is really nice and friendly. The location is convenient, near the british museum, a lot of bus lines just across the street and walking distance to Leicester Square, Covent Garden and Oxford Street. I would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyFirenze_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Hotel B&B
#64 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
The Hide London
#60 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Property: Ridgemount Hotel
Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing