We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful staff”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #135 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff here were fantastic , this is what will keep people coming back. The hotel is in a great location and close to the hop on hop off busses. It is also close to good restaurants. The rooms were sparse but clean and the rooms at the front of the hotel were noisy if you left the windows open. The breakfast was excellent as were those serving. From a price point you can't ask for any more.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Rooms and bathrooms were a little small, but comfortable. Staff was very nice and accomodating. Very good with communications when making reservations. Bloomsbury area is really nice - make sure you go to British Museum which is in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for the night before an exam, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room and bathrooms both very clean, and a luggage store for your luggage following your stay. Plus a great breakfast. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcub101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A great location, reasonable rates and a comfortable place to stay in central London. While not a "deluxe" hotel, it is certainly a very good bet of its type. Great breakfasts (cooked to order), fast free wifi (although it may be slower in some rooms so check if that is important to you). Very knowledgeable host who is happy to provide essential visitor advice. Definitely a hotel we will use again.

Room Tip: Front rooms facing Gower Street have good double glazing so street noise is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank still_trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We chose the Ridgemount Hotel because we wanted to stay in the Bloomsbury area and the price was right. As it turned out the location was perfect...close enough to Pancras that we were able to walk from the station with our luggage, right around the corner from a number of good restaurants and on the route of one of our favorite bus lines #24.
Our room was London tiny. We had opted for a double and were warned in an email from the owner the room would be very small and it was. However, the space was utilized in such an efficient manner that we had places to store everything for our week-long stay. We decided to pretend we were staying on a canal boat and that image worked well! I was a bit uncomfortable sleeping against the wall, but our chamber maid moved the bed out a foot and that helped. Next time we'll opt for a bigger room, maybe the lovely triple we saw on the ground floor.
The bathroom was perfectly adequate with good water pressure. Everything was clean and well-maintained.
The best reasons to stay here are the people who run the hotel. Both owners and staff are friendly, helpful and generally great to be around. You can tell that they care about their business and their customers. Breakfasts were hearty---full English with additional cereal selections. Service in the breakfast room could not be beat.
We felt very safe in the neighborhood. Every night we walked back from dinner after dark with no qualms.
The only real negative was our bed. It was not comfortable and we hope that there is a plan to replace it! We saw stacks of beds in the entry so maybe by the next time we stay here the bed will be more to our liking!

Room Tip: Ask questions about the room beforehand. They will be very honest with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a budget hotel in Bloomsbury and to be honest, 'very good' is probably pushing it a bit, it's better than the average similar place, but if 'good' were available, I'd choose that.

PROS
Price - I paid £70 for a one night mid-week stay in April.
Staff - very friendly, a family run establishment.
Food - not cordon bleu but a nice hot cooked breakfast.
Cleanliness - Excellent
Wifi - free

CONS
Room - I had a tiny single room next to some sort of water pump, which was on and off all night.
Decor - Tired
Facilities - no tea/coffee in rooms, though free in downstairs lounge.
Beds - ok, but abysmal pillows.

It was adequate for a one night stay on business, staff friendliness and cleanliness being its main attractions. I think I'd have struggled for longer.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I started our European adventure here for 4 nights at the beginning of April, and we're glad we did. This was our first time in London, and the location was perfect. The directions they provide you upon booking are bang on and easy to follow. Close to Russel Square train station on the Piccadilly line, it's very easy to get to and from Heathrow Airport and all other major London sites during your stay. There's also a bus stop close by if that's the type of transit you'd rather take. Either way, easy to get to a lot of the main sites in the city.

Rooms are small and simple but very clean and have everything you need to feel comfortable. I would recommend a room away from the street if you'd prefer a little less noise, as this place faces a pretty busy street. My wife and I had a street facing room, and it wasn't that bad, especially at night when things quite down a bit. But we don't really care about that type of thing.

Staff was excellent. As soon as we arrived they were helpful, accommodating and friendly.

The breakfast was bang on with a good selection of eggs, bacon, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, etc. Definitely a great way to start the day, There are also some good pubs, restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance.

All this, with the price, would definitely get us staying here again and recommending to others. Great work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#305 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,081 in London
1,847 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#270 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#542 of 1,081 in London
374 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#97 of 1,081 in London
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £80 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing