We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming budget hotel in great location.”
Review of Ridgemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgemount Hotel
Ranked #132 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my second stay at the Ridgemount and I was just as impressed as last time.

I stayed in room 25, a single room with shared bathroom, for two nights while attending a conference for work.

The room was small but spotlessly clean and with a comfy bed. The window overlooked the garden. The tv and hair drier were both in good working order and there was a wardrobe, desk and sink area.

The bed was made and towels replaced daily, all linen was soft and fresh smelling.

The toilets and showers available were small but very clean. I never had to queue to use them so them being shared was not an issue.

Breakfast on the first morning was bacon, egg and tomato with toast. Second morning was bacon, egg and beans with toast. I had coffee and orange juice both days and was also offered cereal, which I declined. All food was well cooked and tasty.

The staff were friendly and helpful and offered me directions and local information.

The hotel is very basic and the single rooms are very small, however it is very affordable and in a great location which makes it excellent value for money.

I have already booked a room for my next trip to London in September.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myles1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed one night with my adult son. We asked for a twin room with a shared bathroom, but were allocated a large room with two single and one double bed. The room was spacious if a bit stuffy but then the weather was very warm! The bathrooms were a short walk from the room. They were clean and we had no trouble getting a shower either in the evening or the morning. This is an older hotel and the furnishing are a little shabby, but the price is excellent for central London. We loved the location - very central. Breakfast was basic - limited choice served at the table rather than self service - but adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in triple ensuite rooms the first week in June. The first night our room faced the street. It was very noisy, even with both sets of windows closed which made the room stuffy as well. The next morning we asked to be moved, and the friendly staff were able to accommodate us with a triple room facing the garden which was much better. The twin beds in both rooms were not very good and the pillows were some of the worst we have ever had at a B&B or hotel. Breakfast was good and the service was friendly. There is good Wi-Fi and a large ground floor lounge with an coffee machine that made a surprisingly good cup of coffee. The location is excellent - one of the best features of the place. Given the cost of rooms in London, this is a good value overall.

Room Tip: As for a room off the street facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlcberns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently and very happy with everything. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Room small but that was expected. Excellent breakfast and terrific location. Will definitely stay again when next in London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is clean, has basic amenities, and is within walking distance of the British Museum. These are my requirements for a fantastic trip! I was able to sleep with the windows open, but if you're a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room away from the street. There is no elevator, but since I could use the exercise, I didn't mind. However, if you have trouble navigating stairs, you ought to request a room on the ground floor.

Room Tip: away from the street if you have trouble sleeping there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in Ridgemount in 2011 and reviewed it favourably. I've just stayed for a further four nights and can report it is unchanged and just as good. Breakfast is excellent. Wifi is much improved with better range and 5g now available. The price is unbeatable for a central location like Bloomsbury. The rooms (single rooms anyway) are small but functional. My only issue there is you must have the window closed to keep out traffic noise at night and they do get quite stuffy even in mild temperatures.

My room wasn't ensuite and toilets and showers were in the next landing. I never had to wait - they were always empty despite the hotel being full. The toilets were always clean. The showers had plenty of hot water. They are however on the small side. I recommended changing into pyjamas before using them and taking the bare minimum of things: towell and body wash.

Laundry is available in-house for UKP 5.0. This is a great service - very convenient. Drop off in the morning and it's ready in the evening.

The location is excellent. Walking distance to the Northern, Piccadilly and Circle lines, and Euston and Kings Cross/St Pancras mainline stations. 15-30 minutes walk from Trafalgar Square and the Embankment, and a couple of blocks from Tottenham Court Road where there are M&S Simply Food and Tesco Express.

The British Museum and a number of smaller museums are nearby.

The main issue is the stairs if you're elderly or unfit. I came across one older couple who were making heavy weather of the stairs. They told me that on arrival they required assistance to carry their suitcases up, which was no trouble for the staff. If this doesn't suit the alternative is a chain hotel with lifts and airconditioning for UKP 200.00+ per night with no breakfast and UKP 20.00 extra for wifi.

Speaking of the owners and staff they were always cheerful and helpful.

Observing other guests at breakfast the hotel appeals to all types: solo travellers like me, young couples, families, and older couples.

In summary the hotel has limitations and may not suit everyone but the combination of location right in the heart of London, price and service make it five stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BernardMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff here were fantastic , this is what will keep people coming back. The hotel is in a great location and close to the hop on hop off busses. It is also close to good restaurants. The rooms were sparse but clean and the rooms at the front of the hotel were noisy if you left the windows open. The breakfast was excellent as were those serving. From a price point you can't ask for any more.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#82 of 1,075 in London
1,794 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#281 of 1,075 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,075 in London
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#55 of 1,075 in London
376 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemount Hotel

Address: 65-67 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £78 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridgemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ridgemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing