We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very Best of British”
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claridge's
Ranked #46 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The very Best of British”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I had the pleasure of taking a short business stay at Claridge's recently and i must say that it does impress by providing a wonderful sanctuary in the heart of London.

Service, as you would expect is attentive and faultless, but never intimidating. Dining in the restaurant makes you feel that you are truly a member of an elite and very privileged club and you find yourself expecting to bump into Royalty at any moment.

The suite I stayed in was absolutely exquisite and full of old world charm, with a massive four-poster bed, that I had to climb up onto. The lounge was spacious and equipped with everything I needed - including a butler. The bathroom was sumptuous and none of this peeling the wrappers off soap, of squeezing a plastic tube of shampoo - it is all decanted into crystal dispensers. The downside is that you can't take any home with you.

I can't wait to return, but I could be some time saving up for it !

God Save the Queen.

Room Tip: Ask for the Queen Mother's favourite suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear “Rod C”,

We hope we made you feel like Royalty because that is what our guests are like to us.

With my best wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    204
    92
    51
    39
See reviews for
264
786
83
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012. 5 minute walk to Regent St. shopping. 1 block from last residence of Jimmi Hendrix (if you care about this), Bond St. tube is very short walk. Mayfair in general is a very upscale neighborhood in London. The Claridges is a grand old dame, our room was large and very well appointed. The staff was incredible as you can imagine. This place is not cheap, even by London high standards, this is expensive. Claridges will probably not disappoint the most discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank totravelnice60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear “totravelnice60097”,

Thank you so much for choosing Claridge’s whilst visiting London and for your generous comments, especially about the staff.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Claridge’s London The Claridge’s London is one of the most famous hotels in London, perfectly located in Mayfair; close to Baker Street and Oxford Street.

I would define it as a very elegant hotel but not showy.

The real experience is when you take the elevator. There is a sofa in it and a groom to push the button for you.

The bar is always nicely animated in the evening with a nice selection of cocktails and finger food. The Lobby serves an excellent afternoon tea in a chic atmosphere with singer and piano.

The real luxury is the size of rooms, the nice bathroom with en suite dressing room.

http://hotelixir.typepad.com/blog/2012/10/claridges-london.html

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelixir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear “Hotelixir”,

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience.

Merci Beaucoup for your kind review.

All good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We always stay with our three boys at claridges even though you might think it is not a place to take young children! They are always welcomed and the hotel really does their best to accommodate everything you might need with small children . The rooms are large and clean and grand and the bathrooms fabulously indulgent. The location is great for shopping and you can walk to many small cafes and restaurants - a great landmark not to be missed

Room Tip: Ask what family offers they have when you are staying - the family paradise includes breakfast which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesgreathotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear “Debi G”,

Thank you so much for choosing Claridge’s when visiting London.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon but, in the meantime, we send you all good wishes.

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Best hotel in thw world bar none. best service, best rooms, best location. Expensive but i didnt care. Was my anniversary and they really went out of thier way> if i win th elottery I will be a regular

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear “steven g”,

WOW - what more can we ask for?

We hope your dream comes true - fingers crossed for the lottery.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I were excited to stay here for 5 days and loved the location and character of the hotel. However we had a very unpleasant experience in the restaurant. My husband was going to play golf at a very smart club and went down to breakfast in knee length tailored golf shorts and polo shirt. He was refused entry!!! Yet sitting at a table was a young woman in the most minuscule denim shorts . I raised the apparent inconsistency with the manager but it seems there is an extremely sexist dress code. He agreed that the rules were inconsistent , as long as you are young female and attractive they are happy for you to show as much leg as you wish!

Room Tip: Rooms are unfortunately small and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Isolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

the moment you arrive and have your bags whisked striaght to your room greeted by name this was my first visit they had done their home work the concierge called me within 2 minutes to make any restaurant booking seen as we were in mayfair i asked for seafood and was told to go to scotts and he duly booked reservation the room was spacious with lush decor it was like standing in a tardis going back in time we slept very well but nearly died when we saw the bill dont use the mini bar shop around for best rate there is some value out there even with these 5 star hotels my credit card was hurting but my wife was smiling so all in all a good weekend well done claridges keep the good work up dont let standards slip please

Room Tip: any they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffmattLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear “jeffmattLondon”,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#7 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#36 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#27 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Property: Claridge's
Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#124 Romantic Hotel in London
#136 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing