We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this London Classic”
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claridge's
Ranked #39 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had to stay in London on a short business trip and conduct business at the hotel. the hotel accomodations were first class -- nothing was missed. An offer of coffee to my room upon my 7am arrival and room was ready. Comfort is top priority. Beautiful rooms and well appointed. Breakfast meeting and mid morning coffee interview were perfect and business center well managed and full appointed. Breakfast was excellent and service outstanding. Hotel gym was first rate with an array of cardio, weights and stretch equipment. Excellent location! Looking forward to a return visit (with multiple trips a year -- this hotel is outstanding choice).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MJSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear “MJSKS”,

We are so pleased that your business brought you to London and - most importantly - to Claridge’s and we look forward to all your future visits.

With best wishes

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Claridge's is the epitome of class in a city filled with many high end restaurants. Walking through their hallways and eating in their restaurants, you pass pictures of the Queen, Winston Churchill, and Audrey Hepburn, to name a few. This really is the stomping ground of royalty.

Stay here if you like: Outstanding service with a smile. Staff that goes out of their way to assist you. That feeling of old world charm. The elevator has a sofa on which to sit and is always attended by an operator who's main job is to make sure your finger doesn't get chafed pushing a button for the floor you want. Very comfortable rooms, nicely sized, with showers that have great water pressure. We appreciated both US-style and UK-style electric outlets. An area (Mayfair) that is very close to everything (Bond Street and all it's designer shops, Oxford St with all its shops and masses of people, British Museum, Academy of Arts, Hyde Park, etc etc), but does not suffer from the onslaught of tourists and craziness on the street surrounding some other high end hotels. We liked going to those places in the day or night, but coming back to the serenity of Claridges.

Now to be fair, don't stay here if you're looking for: A young, hip place. This is more old-school British proper service as opposed to nouveau swank. A hotel surrounded by bars, pubs, or nightlife - you'll have to walk/cab to it. They're very proper here - you can't wear shorts to breakfast and they frown on you taking pictures in the dining room. So if you're looking for casual all-the-time, this isn't really your scene either.

In summary - old school charm and service, great location (particularly if you like to be a couple blocks away from the zoo of humanity), and beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank leefarg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear “leefarg99”,

All the team join me in thanking you for your great review and in hoping that you and your family will be able to stay with us again soon.

In the meantime, we wish you safe travels.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Claridges for the first time on the 12th July 2014. We have visited the bar and the restaurant on a few occassions and they have always been amazing, but to stay here was a real treat.
The rooms are elegant and large and the attention to detail is unreal.
Our stay was just fabulous, if you ask any one 'would it be possible if I could have whatever?'
the reply was always everything is possible!
We loved this hotel, restaurant and bar, even if you can not afford to stay (it is expensive), you should at least go into the bar for a drink just for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear “Frances W”,

We are delighted that you enjoyed what we hope will be the first of many overnight stays with us.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Claridge's is a classically upper end British hotel near the ultimate in shopping Mayfair district. Extraordinary personal and friendly service defines this place. The rooms are large but do not look to plug in many of your computers, phones, ipads, or other techie things....We found the accessibility to and the quantity of available plugs lacking. Offsetting this - the amenities in the bathrooms are extensive and the beds you will want to bring home with you!

If you want to go to the theater-see their friendly theater Concierge. he was very helpful in getting us tickets and making recommendations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Claridges in June for four nights and did not want to leave. Our experience there was incredible in many ways but most of all made perfect by the wonderful staff and management. Our rooms were absolutely fabulous and housekeeping kept them perfectly. We had tea with family in the lobby restaurant and really enjoyed ourselves. We often had late night drinks in the cozy bar and felt right at home. The most lovely thing, however, was being treated so well by the staff and management. Everyone in the hotel from the front desk staff to the doormen addressed us by name and offered to help us. I doubt we have ever experienced quite such lovely treatment in our world wide travels. We look forward to future visits as Claridges is now our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lucindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear “lucindaw”,

What a super review – thank you for your many kind words.

We look forward to all your future stays and to your reaching out to us whenever we can be of assistance to you.

With best wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We used Claridges for a corporate drinks and dinner event. The room was superb (the Kensington & St James Rooms) and the service was outstanding. In particular Jenny McKeown from the Events team ensured that everything was perfect for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Aoife2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kochs, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear “Aoife2327”,

Jenny and the entire Private Events Team join me in thanking you for your great review.

We hope that either business or pleasure will bring you back to London … and Claridge’s soon.

With all good wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I found the hotel to be remarkably mixed, in a way that I would not have predicted for a place of such past eminence.
The room itself was small, dark and, actually, quite ugly (room 437, for the record). It faced an interior courtyard, the principal view being of service areas of one sort or another. I was pretty surprised when I opened the door, having some loose family memories of a fire in the fireplace and the like. Bluntly, I have seen better rooms in a second- or even third-tier hotel.
On the other hand, everything else (and I mean everything) was exactly as it should be, and a great pleasure. Passing the unfortunate big things (size, location and aesthetics), every little thing about the room (and one really big thing) was well thought out and flawlessly executed. The bedding was lovely, warm and cozy, the bathing both lovely and highly functional, not an easy trick, the soap fine and English, bottled water appeared like clockwork and, critically, the room was very quiet despite its unpromising location.
And, need I say, every single element of the service is perfect, polite and friendly, laced with the expected English reserve, without fawning and without wasted motion. One can only imagine the amount and rigor of the associated training.
So, all in all, a lovely experience, arrived at in a somewhat unexpected way. Perhaps the lesson is, since you are springing for Claridge's anyway, pay the extra amount required to have the beautiful room that no doubt exists.
One last thing, which I hesitate to mention. Look at the bill. There are some differences between things promised and charges ultimately received, which, depending on the temperament of the individual traveler, one might pursue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#10 of 1,081 in London
987 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,081 in London
460 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#17 of 1,081 in London
708 reviews
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#56 of 1,081 in London
1,638 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,081 in London
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#124 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £416 - £922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing