We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, fantastic, what a way to round off Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #42 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, fantastic, what a way to round off Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here last week on our final days in Europe. We had heard a lot and to be honest, expected a lot. They did not disappoint! From the minute we drove up Savoy Court and experienced the greeting by the doormen we knew it was money well spent. They do not have a reception as such and we were able to check in online in our suite.

Initial impressions of the foyer are amazing, supremely decorated and you know you have stepped into an extremely special building. There was a young woman there to greet us and show us to our quarters.

I cannot begin to put the entire experience into words. It is a must do experience and should not be missed out by anyone that is able to do it.

The bed was not only comfortable but exquisite. Linen entirely designed for the Savoy and soft.

We think that they have replaced the carpets already since they opened which again reinforces the value for money and adds to the experience.

Having after drinks in the Beaufort Bar is something you cannot miss out on either and Shannon and her team are there to wait on you hand and foot for your every need.

We had a chat with the security team and even they had a keen interest in the hotel, it's history and place in London and gave us a tour of some of the private rooms on their security rounds.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough to anybody. Outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjrocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,432
    600
    238
    106
    86
See reviews for
929
2,138
162
495
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed at the hotel for just one night when traveling through London and was delighted with an upgrade to gorgeous suite with butler service. Room had stunning views over the Thames with incredible views. Room was immaculate and beautifully furnished. Butler service exceptional - only wished I was staying longer! I have stayed at the hotel a number of times in the past but this was only second time since the refurbishment - its truly exceptional and I highly recommend if you want real luxury in London.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OuterHebridesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Have not stayed at The Savoy (yet!) but have enjoyed at few drinks at the American bar and The Beaufort Bar.
The Beaufort Bar is absolutely STUNNING! The gorgeous gold and black alcoves with the bar on the old stage makes the bar very theatrical.
The drinks menu has a good selection of cocktails with a twist on the classics. The champagne, wine and spirits list is large and has all that you could ask for. All drinks on the list are of very good quality as you would expect from this kind of establishment eg Tanqueray, Hendricks, Grey Goose, Belvedere etc.
We had The Gilded Cage - two cocktails served in a birdcage, delicious mix of gin and champagne with a hint of berries - this was £26. A glass of Pol Roger is £19.50, expensive but very very nice. Bar snacks consisted of olives, nuts etc - all very nice!
The ambiance of the bar was wonderfully slighty old school retro, man on the piano playing the old classics and even a birthday dedication to me!
Definitely a place for a special occasion. Staff were all wonderful and spoilt you rotten.
There is a 12.5% service charge on top of the bill as you would expect. But I wouldn't go here everyday - celebrating a special occasion DEFINITELY!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Everlong08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We love your review of the Beaufort Bar and really hope that you will soon have the opportunity to stay with us. Thank you for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a hotel to be experienced. I will DEFINITELY be back. Everything about the hotel can only be described most highly. I absolutely loved every minute of my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I got the top floor and the room was amazing - Always request one of the higher floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stopped by for lunch without booking and this was no problem. We were welcomed as if we were expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A lovely stay.Patrick who dealt with check in was normal and charming.He carefully explained all the benefits which came with the booking made through the Amex promotion.
An upgraded room was superb with a fine bathroom and high ceilings .The beds are stunningly comfortable.
The breakfast menu is massive and banana waffles were a rare treat, magnificent.
Great service and only once did someone utter the stupid sentiment , "Enjoy " .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicBathEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

What a treat to stay in a suite at this hotel! Booked 3 nights throughout July and were given a different suite each time. They were all spectacular - beautifully decorated, nicely layed out, spectacular view of the Thames and a butler on call as well. We were treated like royalty - greeted by name every time we entered the hotel. Within walking distance to great sights, restaurants and theatre. Left the suite at 7:25 p.m. for a 7:30 show at the Savoy Theatre! The gym is filled with state of the art equipment and a beautiful pool. The American Bar is very relaxing. We travelled throughout England and Scotland for 3 weeks and stayed here at the beginning, middle and end of our vacation. It really was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: the Frank Sinatra suite was a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurryandrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for your review. The Savoy certainly is in easy reach of some amazing places to visit, and with a different suite every night you were also able to take in the stunning views of the River Thames. We all hope to welcome back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing