We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #40 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Afternoon Tea as a Birthday gift from my son and his wife. What did my husband and I expect well it was most certainly not what we got and not in a bad way whatsoever. I was nervous as people like us (working class in our 60's ) do go to posh places but I was treated like a queen by all staff there were no stuff shirts to be found everyone had a smile for us and a chat I had a birthday cake given to me and the pianist play Happy Birthday to me I think both of us were in heaven for a few hours and really appreciated everything that was done Harrods eat your heart out I will eat and drink in the Savoy in future you are a paying person and treated as such Can I come to you Riverside Reasaurant soon please lol #
Wonderful people everyone of them xxx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty_1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,512
    609
    239
    107
    87
See reviews for
948
2,188
167
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two night visit to the Savoy the 13th and 14th February. This was booked as a christmas treat to ourselves something different and boy was it different. We arrived by black cab from the station to be welcomed by the doorman and it just got better and better from there on. The doorman introduced us to our personal receptionist who informed us that we had had an upgrade which we were more that happy with to say the least she accompanied us to our room and showed us around. AMAZING. While at the hotel we used the swimming pool daily it was bliss quiet and warm the changing rooms were excellent pure luxury. We met up with a friend on the Tuesday and had afternoon tea wonderful and as it was Valentines day the ladies were given chocolates when tea was finished. Our young friend had to leave early as we did not realise how long it had taken (not that it was over long you just took your time) and did not have time to eat the last round of cakes. No problem here they were boxed up for her to take back to work. To finish off the day dinner in the Riverside dining room again excellant and with champagne roses and MORE chocies what could you ask for. The piano bar was also an experience we even had a song played for us all in all a wonderful experience. The staff could not do enough for us and even although we may not be there usuall guests (Loaded) we were treated like kings and queens for a few days. Anyone wanting to treat themselves give this a try worth every penny

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was in London to do research in the Bank of England, and so relaxation and rejuvenation was important to me. I had a wonderful time including using the gym, sauna and steamroom facilities, lovely high tea with intellegent piano accopaniment (some classical music included, not just the usual low brow fra-la-la) and delicious meals. It was a delight to walk to St Pauls, to the Bank of England every day, to the Royal Opera house and to Ronnie Scott's for great jazz. The staff are from all over the globe, and very well trained.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maynardophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We are delighted to learn we were able to offer a sanctuary from your busy day of researching, and your review highlights just how close The Savoy is to some great places to visit that are literally just a short walk away, and let's not forget the great views of the River Thames!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our first visit to the Savoy since the major refurbishment, and was a special birthday celebration. They have done a fantastic job -- everything looks wonderful, the hotel has lost none of its character whatsoever, and still exudes understated elegance and charm.

The service was impeccable, and as in all good hotels the staff unfailingly get the balance right between friendliness and respect. Nothing is too much trouble, and they are alert at all times to ensure guests' enjoyment, comfort, and convenience. Checking in and out formalities are kept to an absolute minimum, and doormen and baggage staff are helpful, efficient, and cheerful.

The room was lovely, exceptionally comfortable and well-applied, with masses of storage space and the best TV we've ever had in a hotel. It was extremely well serviced twice a day.

Afternoon tea in the Thames Foyer lounge was an absolute joy -- flawless in every respect, providing a memorable birthday occasion and a highlight of our trip.

Fully served breakfast (no buffets here) in the delightful new art deco River Restaurant or the lounge was also impeccable in terms of choice, food quality, and service.

Dinner in the famous Savoy Grill was most enjoyable and good fun. The food and service were again excellent, even though they were very busy. But the atmosphere is lively and vibrant, in contrast to the relative tranquility of most parts of the hotel.

The American Bar has changed little, apart from being smartened up, which is exactly what one would have hoped for because it retains it's super atmosphere. The daily performing American jazz pianist/singer is very good, and the cocktails are still top notch. We did not get a chance to try the new Beaufort Bar, but enjoyed listening to the entertainer (a lady singer) over supper from a nearby table in the lounge.

Don't know whether the Savoy is definitely the best hotel in London, but it's difficult to imagine a better one if one wants a traditional, elegant, British experience. In the past we have found that another iconic traditional hotel on Park Lane could give the Savoy a run for its money, so will have to try that one again also in order to compare them now that the Savoy has been so beautifully refurbished.

We had a great and memorable couple of days, and we look forward to the next special occasion providing an excuse for us to treat ourselves to another stay at the fabulous Savoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here on our way to Paris and enjoyed every moment .The hotel has been refurbished since the last time we were here but has not lost any of its Beauty ,Style ,Grace and Atmosphere .Staff and service both wonderful and warm .Treat yourself sometime !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for finding the time during your busy travel schedule to write such a charming review. We very much hope that you will have time to stay a little longer when you are next passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent a long weekend in London and decided to go for a centrally located hotel. So this was the first time we have been in the Savoy and it was a great experience / can definetly recommend. Despite the size of the hotel, the atmosphere and attention of staff was phenomenal and very personell. Attention to detail and the well-being of the guest is a clear priority. The rooms are large and spacious and nicely decorated in traditional English style, yet all the modern features you would expect from such a hotel. At night we paid a visit to the Champagne bar which had a live performance with band. Very nice setting and great cocktails. The breakfast is also an experience it itself in the beautiful setting. Will definetly come back. Only drawback like in many hotels is the surcharge one has to pay for high speed internet access.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelStar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at this iconic hotel for three nights from the 4th December last year residing in Edwardian suite 358 and Savoy Queen 356 with my mother.
We arrived by black taxi (and contrary to another review we were not ignored) from the railway station and were given a fabulous and friendly welcome by three charming gentlemen at the door. This greeting was all I needed to realise we were going to have a wonderful and memorable stay.
Our rooms were very fine and very spacious indeed. The view from the sitting room ran down towards the Embankment and to the side we overlooked Savoy Place from the bedrooms. (There is some noise at night due to deliveries and staff having their breaks. It did not bother me particularly as it is the centre of London and I expected to hear a bit of life).

I have to make a special mention to Carly, our delightful butler who saw that my mother got a cup of tea (very important to her!) on arrival. Also a special mention to Said Bayoumy who took time to give my sister, niece, grand-niece whilst visiting us at the hotel, mum and myself a very illuminating and interesting tour of the hotel after our indulgent afternoon tea, being very kind to my 8 year old grand-niece. We were very impressed with him.
All staff were very accomodating and so very polite and helpful with few exceptions. I preferred having breakfast in the Thames Foyer which has a fine ambience compared to The River Restaurant's more modern feel; the service was a little tentative and slow on our last morning (my only criticism) but our dinner had been very good with sevice to match.

Our stay was close to perfect, lovely service, wonderful welcome, superb accomodation, great caberet in the Beaufort Bar that I had booked prior to arriving. I booked directly with the hotel and also all reservations such as afternoon tea and entertainment in the Beaufort Bar to ensure a place weeks in advance which I would strongly advise to avoid disappointment. The Savoy puts other London 5 star hotels I have used in the shade in my opinion.
Hopefully I will return.

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneDoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thanks for the special mention of Carly and Said who helped to make your stay extra special. We have shared your lovely review with them both and they are delighted. We also really hope you will have another opportunity to return again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,464 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,067 in London
2,061 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,067 in London
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,662 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#69 of 1,067 in London
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing