We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUNCH YESTERDAY......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #42 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“LUNCH YESTERDAY......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Fantastic experience for lunch yesterday. Great service, food, drink and all at very reasonable places compared to competitors.

Nothing too much trouble in terms of the service and attention from waiters/waitresses.

Would definitely recommend, and cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,428
    600
    238
    106
    86
See reviews for
927
2,137
162
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Staying at the Savoy is meant to be a treat. This trip was more of a bind that a treat.

The hotel is resplendant in its newly refurbished 'coat' but every effort made here is thoroughly undermined by the arrogant and rude attitude of the staff. Not all of them though i am sure.

We had a little walk around the hotel on saturday to decide what we would do whilst staying over the weekend.

Walking into the American bar we were about 15 feet away from the room when the 'waitress' saw us and thew up her hand (flat towards my face) and shouted 'stop, i will be with you in a minute'. I dont think so! When i told he we were residents she swiftly changed her tune.

The same in the River restaurant. We were looking where Sunday breakfast was to be and were stopped at the door by a stern faced woman who said 'you cant have a loo, there are plates being carried around you might have an accident'. Feeble excuse at best. Again, reminding the woman of our residents status she swiftly changed her tune.

There are lots of people in the lobby of the Savoy taking pcitures most days so if it is they that the staff wish to stop then they should rather than be rude to everyone.

The food is great, the rooms very high standard but without a decent tv package or internet (£9.95 PER DAY). Dont fall for the historic charm, as sweet as it is because anyone who has eyes and ears will end up being upset by the rude, intrusive and often aggressive attitudes of the staff, sadly.

I will say though that the head doorman Tony Cortegaca is polite, warm, friendly and genuinely the only one that made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Spend your money on another 5 star hotel in London. I am sure that you will get better value, better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mansmanreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We were so disappointed and shocked to read your review, as we receive so many lovely guest compliments about our staff. There can be few challenges on very busy days, but your experiences are not acceptable at any time and we thank you for your comments. The reactions you encountered during your stay are definitely not reflective of the overall warmth and professionalism of our staff in general, and those concerned have been reminded of our expectations in terms of their conduct and service towards all our valued guests. Please do visit us again so we can show you some true Savoy hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

For my birthday my wife treated us to a Sunday night stay at The Savoy on a special offer package which includes dinner in the River Restaurant and breakfast. The package is excellent value and seems to be very popular.

Although we had a 'basic' room it was large enough, very nicely appointed, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed except tea and coffee making facilties which, however, seems to be the norm for 5 star hotels who obviously want you to use room service. The bed was very comfortable. Although it wasn't advertised as such, the room even had a partial river view as I found out by craning my head out of the window!
All the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly but not falsely or unbearably so and we liked the nice touch of the receptionist greeting us in the foyer and personally escorting us to our room. We used the car valet facility which. although not cheap, saved us the hassle of finding somewhere convenient to park.

We had a pre-dinner drink in the very busy American Bar but, unlike some other reviewers, we weren't overenthralled by it. At first we were a little disappointed in the River Restaurant because they only offer a set menu with four choices for each course on Sunday evenings. If we had pressed them I think we could have chosen something from the a la carte but we stuck with the set menu and we didn't regret it because we both agreed that ithe presentation and food quality were excellent. Service was tending towards leisurely but it didn't really bother us because we weren't in a hurry.

The restaurant was very busy the next morning so we were offered a table in the Thames Foyer which wasn't a problem because this is a beautiful room. The full English was fine.

The recent multi miilion pound refurbishment has been carried out very tastefully and you can imagine what the hotel was like in its heyday. However, my wife visited the hotel on business many times before the restoration and she thought that a little of the ambience and "Je ne sais quoi" had been lost. I can imagine what she means but as this is a very nebulous and subjective view I'm certainly not going to mark the hotel down because of it.

We really enjoyed the experience and we wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tone20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My Husband & I stayed at The Savoy on Saturday 19/02/2012. We booked a King deluxe room. From the time we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. The doorman from portsmouth was very welcoming he took us through to reception, where we were met by Francesco who took us to our room. We were very pleasantly suprised to find we had been upgraded to an Edwardian Junior Suite with Butler Service. Franceso was very helpfull and efficient. The Butler soon arived giving us a friendly welcome.and offering any assistance needed. Our room was absolutley beautiful, with everything you could possibly want. It was more than i imagined. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the Thames Foyer Restaurant. I really want to state my husband & i consider ourselves middle classed people and at no point felt we were out of place, we did not encounter any rudeness nor did we feel looked down on. Savoy you have a beautiful establishment and your staff are all, dare i say perfect. You made one of my lifelong dreams come true. We come from Australia each year and look foward to visiting you next year. Once again thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenae1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

No question the Art Deco is fabulous but the river view is basically looking over some railings and compared with the view from windows on the world at the Hilton this is not spectacular.
The amuse bouche of various seafood was ok.
I had to keep asking the waiter to top up my champagne flute since this special Valentines meal was £125 plus service per person.Meat and fish notning to write home about.Staff just were not attentive enough.I wish I had gone to Petrus where every aspect was perfect.
If you just want to snoop around in the new Savoy save your money and have a cocktail in the American Bar.Pre book though otherwise the robot on the door will say there's a 20 minute wait.
I didn't book a room and Peter Crouch and Abbey ate there also on Valentines.

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yourhavingalarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Well we booked about a month ago and went on the 17th Feb, first sitting for my son's 18th (he loves afternoon tea, especially scones) - we arrived about five minutes early and waited a while to be seated. It began well and then tailed off from Patisserise(3rd course onwards), for some reason we were waiting for tea. The Scones were amazing, very light, not doughy, lemon curd not so good. The patisserise/pastries were tiny and well presented and made, good flavours, signature cakes, apple and cinnamon, flourless chocolate and fruit, glazed with fruit cakes. We asked for the champagne to be served towards the end. The cloakroom assistant was dozy and in the toilet facilities offered me a towel and left (no extras). I had been informed by someone who had been before the experience would be second to none. I do not feel that, neither does my husband -fortunately my son and his friend were quite enamoured. I paid and the the bill was another £30 including seervice charge of £25. I wish I could have visited all of the best tea venues in London because I am pretty sure I would have found something far superior to this!!! I will be taking this up with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheriekookai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Taking extra care over the finer details definitely makes all the difference to a memorable visit, so we thank you for sharing these observations with us. You can be assured that our Chefs and Thames Foyer team will continue to strive for perfection and focus on these areas of service that we need to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Afternoon Tea as a Birthday gift from my son and his wife. What did my husband and I expect well it was most certainly not what we got and not in a bad way whatsoever. I was nervous as people like us (working class in our 60's ) do go to posh places but I was treated like a queen by all staff there were no stuff shirts to be found everyone had a smile for us and a chat I had a birthday cake given to me and the pianist play Happy Birthday to me I think both of us were in heaven for a few hours and really appreciated everything that was done Harrods eat your heart out I will eat and drink in the Savoy in future you are a paying person and treated as such Can I come to you Riverside Reasaurant soon please lol #
Wonderful people everyone of them xxx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty_1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#28 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#72 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing