We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just FABULOUS”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #40 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“just FABULOUS”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

great attention to detail

the hotel is old school style but done beautifully and not too officious nor stuffy

the renovations have been respectful and the hotel retains its charm yet it is contemporary with its services

fabulous amenities+ lovely quality toiletries

lovely helpful staff

american bar is worth a visit

dinner in the river room also very pleasurable

have to go on diet tomorrow

we are already planning a return weekend

Room Tip: pay the extra and stay in a room with a river view we slept with the curtains open the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back for that weekend stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,562
    615
    240
    108
    88
See reviews for
965
2,208
168
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

In quiet art deco style the Amercian Bar at the Savoy welcomed us with elegantly dressed waiting staff and soft well intoned voiced singer playing the grand piano. The lighting in the evening is such that it is hard to tell the well known from folk like us - a couple from the North simply wanting to enjoy the sense of a time gone by atmosphere - for a price. The cocktails were wonderful, a Brandy Crusta and a Dry Vermouth Manhattan, along with nibbles that were replenished even before they had been finished. The price was just over £32 but as something to do once or twice it was a delight. The last time I was there, Stephen Fry could be seen tweeting in a darker corner. The small Savoy museum area is to the left as you walk into the bar and has a selection of memorabilia including room booking cards and signed photos.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A room so comfortable, I would wonder how it could be improved on. The staff are impeccable and everywhere you walk in the hotel, opulence abounds; Feel like a house guest at Downton Abbey! Expensive if you are paying the bill, on this ocassion I was not and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thanks for the review, it made us smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Savoy has recently been renovated. I stayed on my own for one Saturday night in September. My first impression was that the hotel had been modernised while retaining many of the features of the old hotel. I arrived at 1pm and was told that my room would not be available until about 3pm. That was no problem for me as I used the time to do some shopping. The delay may have been inconvenient for some travellers. The reception staff were very attentive and described the hotel facilities very well. I was allocated a room on the 9th floor. My room was very well equipped but much smaller than the old Savoy rooms that I remember.
I used the pool on the 3rd floor soon after check in. The staff were excellent but the facilities did not appear to have been well renovated and I was dissapointed with the finish of the changing rooms.(cheap fittings and ill fitting locker doors) My overall impression was that the owners had not obtained value for money from the redevelopers as I know that a fortune was spent modernising the hotel.
I had a drink in the American bar and again the service was exemplary. I also had a look at the other bar near to the River room and was very impressed. I concluded that it was much quieter than the American bar on a Saturday night.
I returned to the hotel at around midnight and wanted to have a cup of tea before going to bed. That proved difficult but was finally served in the seating area above the River room tea area. Apparently service finishes at 12.......not what I would expect for a 5 star hotel.
The Savoy is still a good place to stay but does not have the polish that I would have expected from one of Londons top establishments.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your understanding; we are sorry that we didn't have your room ready for your arrival on this occasion. Please mention next time that you would like to try one of the more traditional style rooms; as we are in the unique position at The Savoy of being able to offer our guests a variety of guest room styles, sizes and aspects we have many to choose from. Your comments about the Beauty & Fitness Centre are noted and will be reviewed by the team. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Savoy in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My friends had checked out most of the top spots for Tea and chose the Savoy. Couldn't afford to stay there though! It was nice to have a pianist tinkling the ivories gently in the background. The atmosphere/surroundings were luxurious and I was told "even if you don't need to use the loo - go anyway!) Our waiter was lovely and I got the impression that all staff are trained to make everyone feel "special" (maybe especially if they looked as though they don't do this sort of thing often!). We had all decided to go lightly on the sandwiches and save ourselves for the cakes and pastries. We thought we did an excellent job eating a reasonable amount of sandwiches, but then they brought another 3 tiers of the same! Our waiter was very attentive in refilling our tea cups, but eventually it got cold, even with extra hot water added. When a female waitress came with a tray of what we'd been waiting for, she asked which two cakes we would like - as there were about 6 choices we would have liked to say "one of each", but didn't get that option. It was a lovely experience and well worth the 40 pounds or so we each paid, but that done, we may not repeat the visit. Or we could choose somewhere else - will decide next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eillamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
It isn't every day that our Ladies Cloakroom gets a mention; did you notice hand-painted wallpaper? Please don't be shy next time in asking to sample any of the cakes, we want to you enjoy yourself. You might like to try our Sunday Art Decadent Tea served in the Beaufort Bar for a different afternoon tea experience. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed at The Savoy for one night on a trip to London.
Superb
Staff incredibly helpful without being overpowering.
Room was beautiful and we dined in the Savoy grill which was a very pleasurable experience.
When one of our friends asked the head waiter for the recipe for the treacle tart she'd just had for desert she was escorted by hand into the kitchen, introduced to the chef and received a copy of his recipe as requested!!
Cocktails in the American bar also very enjoyable.
Recommend room 234 which has a nice bay window looking out with the Thames just in view.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,179 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We return to the Savoy as often as we can afford and always for lunch. Recently, including this visit, we have used the Daily Telegraph vouchers and had lunch for 2 for less than £40 which is fantastic and includes a glass of champagne, 3 courses and coffee. The surroundings are fabulous, the servicve exemplary and the food wonderful. Wine starts at about £25 so you need to remember how reasonable everything else is if you are using the voucher. We ate a very unhurried meal and left through the crowded lounge full of people having late afternoon tea. It's the warmth of the service that makes this place worth going back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Your comment about the "warmth of our service" is lovely to receive, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,068 in London
2,497 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,068 in London
2,105 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,068 in London
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
791 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,713 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#14 of 1,068 in London
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing