We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in everything”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #40 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just as you would expect, outstanding service and nothing to disappoint. Faultless charm and outstanding service! London at its traditional and classical best. Everything from check in to check out works so smoothly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldsOldbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,802 - 3,808 of 4,854 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

Decided to pop in for a couple of drinks. As the bar was packed had to wait a few minutes in the Museum Bar before being lead to our seats at the bar. The atmosphere was superb with a cool pianist. All of the staff were polite and friendly - our 2 Vespers were incredible. Glad that we had dressed up - highly recommended for an evening of indulgence

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hitchinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

After watching the TV program on the restoration of the Savoy we chose the Savoy to begin our trip to Europe (from Australia). It was the perfect choice. The Hotel is outstanding in everyday. It works. The public areas are stunning , our room was an absolute delight , the staff - complete professionals in a friendly , welcoming way. What we experienced was a Hotel that respects the past but has not stayed in it. There is no "stuffiness" at all but there is polite , elegant attention to detail. An example is that every time we ate or drank in one of the restaurants or bars when we returned to our room it had been freshened up. We arrived very early in the morning from Australia and were whisked unexpectedly straight to our room overlooking the river. What was highly appreciated it that the Savoy has eliminated the queue! We were taken straight to our room and there was no formal check in , just a verbal confirmation of my details and credit card on file. Check out was the same. In the restaurants and bars we did not have to wait to sign a bill , just a thank you from the staff and we were on our way. If you are thinking of staying here don't hesitate , you will not regret it. Fortunately for us we booked the hotel to finished the trip to Europe off before we fly back to Australia so we get to experience it all again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

From the moment I walked in the door you feel special and appreciated. I was passed from one person to the next until I was escorted to my room. The room was very large and very luxurious. The finishes were beautiful. It was modern elegance. The room was very quiet and comfortable. The bed linens were so soft and lent to a great night's sleep. I was blown away at the level of service throughout my stay. I even had a few star sightings, Russell Brand (walked right past my room in his robe!) and I heard rumors of Katie Holmes and Victoria Beckham. Had a cocktail in the original American Bar, it was the "Renovation Cocktail" and it was amazing. Also had drinks in the Beaufort Bar, a beautifully appointed lounge with amazing live entertainment. I had a lemon tequila drink, so good.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank vickieDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

It sounds as though you had a wonderful memorable stay. Thank you for posting your review and we hope to welcome you again to The Savoy very soon for another of those gorgeous cocktails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Wow! It's a throwback to the 30's with the updated amenities. Comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms! The staff was great, except for one missed wake up call. Decorated beautifully with The classic "American Bar". The best mixologists in town. We had a lovely classic tea at the "Thames Foyer". Russell Brand even made an appearance! Reserve your tea time early. It's very popular! Of course, this luxury doesn't come without a price tag! Booked through Platinum Am Ex Travel which gave us additional perks. A visit of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Rooms that are really close to elevator have more noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosettaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at the Savoy Hotel for 2 nights while visiting our son who had recently moved to London. We booked an Edwardian suite as a package through AMEX travel, which included breafast, one meal and a late check out.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay, our room was excellent and the staff were very friendly and formal without being intrusive.
We tried many of the great cocktails in the American bar and had the Sunday Jazz Lunch, the music was not really jazz but still very pleasant. We had breakfast in our room each morning and both times it was excellent, room service at night was efficient and the food very good.
Unfortunately we left it too late to book the Savoy Grill and were unable to get a table, which was a big disappointment.
During our stay we found by chance that there was a Caberet / Burlesque show planned for the Sunday night in the Beaufort bar. We booked through the Concierge, but were a bit apprehensive about what the atmosphere would be like as the room only looked big enough for around 60 people.
It turned out to be one of the best evenings we have had in a long time, the entertainment was excellent with the right amount of audience participation.
Holly the lead singer introduced her father who was 95 years old and surprised everyone by singing Maurice Chevalier's most famous song and making a great job of it, earning a standing ovation from a delighted audience.
The most stunning act of the night for us was an Elvis lookalike who did unbelievable things with a set of gold hula-hoops (honestly its true) .
The best part of the night was at the end of the show when quite spontaneously everyone in the audience circulated and chatted with each other and the acts.
We met some really nice people especially 2 boys from Essex who told my wife all about Towie.
Stephanie the manager of the Beaufort Bar who organised the evening (great work) also chatted with us and said the show was planned to take place on the first Sunday of each month.
Its not as well advertised as it deserves to be so you may have to ask the Concierge. It's a great evenings entertainment - if you get the opportunity you must go and see it.
This show ended a wonderful weekend which we plan to repeat soon.

Room Tip: A river view room would have been great but we have no complaints about our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Had a lovely birthday dinner with friends. Food was devine - shame I was with my ex! Would defintely return - and stay the night. Location wise you cant get any better. Price was £100 a head but worth the money. Keep your eyes open for some celebs!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrsSalvati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,682 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,594 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#14 of 1,077 in London
495 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £433 - £864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing