We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #37 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving in London and we chose the Savoy after a meticulous analysis of excellent properties in the city. We wanted a place close to everything, with good accommodations, we prefer classic to modern but not fixed with it. We are members of many programs since we love to travel and we love the perks, who doesn't. We did not request an early check in since based on our experience, a 9am is asking too much, and we understand, we were expecting to drop our bags and go. First wow, when we arrived, the usual attention to detail, they new our names etc, etc, and the lobby host, immediately told us, "your room is ready", I didn't even have a chance to ask when we should come back. Right there I was sold, I love to refresh immediately after a long flight to try to help the jet lag, and we were going to meet friends for dinner so I knew it was going to be a long day. After that, everything was hill up, the room, very classic and fantastic view, the Big Ben Parliament and London eye; and let me tell you, London is like New York, views are very hard to get, you usually get an office building, and is expected. Everything was up to their level, and of course is the Savoy and is suppose to be like that but based on my experience some times the big ones fall very short to the expectations. Savoy is history, is a very fine, they do try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Location is the best, although you are in the middle of London rush, you do not feel it since they have their own street. And if you notice like my local friend told me, it is the only street in London where they drive on the right. I would recommend to anyone who love classic hotels, excellent service, spacious rooms, and centrally located.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,738 - 3,744 of 4,884 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is the best hotel in the world! The butler, doormen and greeting staff were simply the best I've ever encountered - they knew my name straight away and dealt with every care and need from hot chocolate to a double Windsor knot tie. The suite delightful, the care and friendliness of staff were unrivalled and the views impeccable.

Do you want the best? There isn't any hotel in London that will come close to this fabulous hotel steeped in history and style

Room Tip: Only take a river view. Unmissable views of Parliament and the London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have stayed in most of the West End 5 star hotels, but always had a feeling that the service was geared for customers they knew… making the stay uncomfortable. The Savoy is totally different to the rest! They make every guest feel like royalty. Every member of staff stops and speaks when you walk past them, even the domestics stop and pass the time of day.

You are met at the door, your bags whisked away from you and you will be given a tour of the public areas before being taken to your room.

The rooms are of a very high standard and the bed is so very comfortable! Because the hotel has been completely revamped everything is new and in pristine condition.

The food and wine in the River Restaurant is excellent and the service perfect. The bars are friendly and again the service is excellent.

Yes, it is as you would expect expensive, but it is worth every penny. We are planning our next visit already.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear David H, thank you for your feedback which it has been our pleasure to share with all our colleagues. It is really very special when a guest takes the time to comment not just on the hotel itself and decor, but on the good service they have received from the staff. We look forward to warmly welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stay at nice hotels all around the world - but there is nothing which comes close to the Savoy experience.

Every detail from check-in through to check-out is sublime.

The staff have that third sense of being approachable and helpful without being over attentive.

Not cheap, but well worth the experience.

Pure class!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon-S--UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel is one of the most luxurious hotels in the world. Amazing service with helpful and friendly staff. Elegant furnishings surround you in the hotel. On arrival you are met by a personal receptionist while your luggage is being sent to your room in the luggage lift. The room decor is beautiful like the rest of the fabulous. Defiantly a must go to Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Excellent, perfect, as always. Will be back next year for our third visit. Staff are fantastic very helpfull and always on hand for anything at anytime of day. Lovely food. Afternoon tea is great well worth a try. Was treated like royalty the whole stay, the queens suite is fab.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsT844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Just back from a weekend at the savoy in London, on arrival we where met at the door with a personal receptionist who took straight to our room and we booked in, next we went for afternoon tea which was beautiful, the decor in the hotel lounges is breathtaking, on sat night when we came back from seeing a show, the hotel cabaret was entertaining guests, I had my brolly and coat the waitress took them up to my room for me, the show and atmosphere was brilliant. The a mercian cocktail bar was amazing, the selection of cocktails worth sampling ! The staff are very helpful and extremely efficient, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments; it sounds as though you had a really enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,078 in London
3,702 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#13 of 1,078 in London
2,609 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,078 in London
540 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#45 Family Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £418 - £784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing