We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning art deco hotel with stunning service”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #38 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Absolutely outstanding service is the most notable feature of a stay in the Savoy; from every single person we came in contact with at the hotel we had the most efficient and polite service. From the doormen checking the luggage tags and alerting the front desk to our name as we arrived, to the gentleman who met us 5 steps inside the door to welcome me back by name (I had stayed there once 7 years ago) and inform us that the key cards were coming in a few seconds - why check in? - everyone makes it a complete joy to stay here. Decor is fantastic, ditto location. Come for the service, stay for the style.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank TokyoNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,450 - 3,456 of 4,787 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We booked a 2-night stay as a birthday treat. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and attentive and relaxed, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is luxurious and classy, the rooms are beautifully decorated, retaining the style of Art Deco with a modern edge. We had a room with a partial river river view, which was beautiful, and the bed was just extraordinary, probably the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! For a luxury stay in London this just has to be the place .... you will find cheaper but you will not find better.

Room Tip: We were on 7th Floor with a partial river view, so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I treated my Mum to afternoon tea at The Savoy on Monday and we both thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The room was stunning and the service impeccable; the staff were extremely friendly and attentive, immediately putting us at our ease. The tea started with delicious sandwiches, scones, jam and cream etc. Next came a selection of tiny cakes and pastries which looked exquisite but sadly were absolutely stone cold, the lavender éclair was rock solid with incredibly hard choux pastry, on the whole they were disappointing; beautiful to behold but not that delicious. The final offering was a choice of either a rich fruit cake (my Mum had this and it was very good), a Victoria sponge (my choice but had way too much vanilla for my liking) or a chocolate torte which we passed on. The tea served was the Savoy blend which was fantastic. The only real disappointment was that I think there must have been decorating/building work going on in the vicinity and there was a distinct smell of woodfiller(?) which wasn't that pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally_laird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Four of us went to the Savoy for afternoon tea. Nothing was to much trouble. The sorted the sandwiches into vegetarian, those that only eat fish and carnivores. The service was very friendly and down to earth, not at all stuffy as some might expect. Your tea is constantly topped up as are your sandwiches. Non stop supply of cake, if you could make room. The hotel looks wonderful after its makeover. I have one criticism. Every one has to go down approx.' four steps to reach the level where you are seated. If you are someone with mobility issues, as one of our party was, this can be very difficult and I would have thought the Savoy would have solved that problem.
We all enjoyed our experience and I would certainly recommend "Afternoon Tea at The Savoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We went into the American Bar after lunch at the Savoy grill on Saturday. ( which was fab ) I love this bar and have been many times before. Very well organised service is impeccable and nothing is to much trouble. My sister wanted a cocktail that was not on the menu and without question it was made for her and was delicious. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank plugster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and i stayed in the Savoy for three nights recently and i have to say it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The king bed was so comfortable. The only down side with the room was the shower! It was over the bath and getting out one morning i slipped and only for the towel rack i would have really hurt myself! Im 5 months pregnant so it wasnt the safest. Also the shower wasnt powerful i found it very hard to rinse the shampoo out of my hair, i needed up having to use the hand held shower head. The toilet seat was also broke, when you sat down it swung to one side. All that aside i would stay here again but next time i would try and book a room with a shower on its own and not over the bath.

We went for breakfast one morning and it was a real treat! The french toast was the best i have ever had. Great hotel will be back after i have the baby to try out some cocktails in the bar:)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Savoy is a truely 5 star hotel. All staff were very accommodating. We did not have to check in as we were greeted and escorted to our room on arrival. We stayed in a 'Luxury River View Room' which had a fantastic view over the Thames.The room was stunning and sumptuous. The hotel's deco in general was beautifully presented throughout. Definately will be back.

Room Tip: If you want a stunning view of the Thames i recommend the 'Luxury River View Room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincoln1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,181 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#16 of 1,076 in London
1,785 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £472 - £797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing