We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An iconic hotel, iconic suite with spectacular views of the River”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #38 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An iconic hotel, iconic suite with spectacular views of the River”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in the Maria Callas Suite room 418 to celebrate a birthday. Our stay was very special from being picked up from home by the Hotel chauffeur. in an S class Mercedes - we were absoutely cossetted. The service is second to none that the person who took our breakfast order on the second day remembered the extras we had - extra soya milk with an extra bowl. From the bell boy to the butler all greeted us with our surnames. There was also a very extensive room service menu but you could also order whatever you wanted and they would try to accommodate you. The food arrived hot and plentiful and served on Wedgewood china. The huge Savoie bed was so comfortable that you floated to sleep. The bed however is high if you are a short person and you might need a foot stool as my companion did. The stay was expensive but you get a lot for your money - a special personality room (there are 9 suites stayed in by Winston Churchill, Charlie Chaplin amongst others), pick up from airport; free beverages from the mini bar but it was the service from our butlers, John and Simon that made our stay special. In the suite there was a library of books on Maria Callas, DVDs of her life and a framed guest card of her stay - she only stayed at the Savoy when she was singing at Covent Garden which is close by) If you are an opera buff this would be the suite for you. You cannot beat staying in an iconic hotel that has hosted royalty, statesmen and celebrities.for over a century.

Room Tip: The Maria Callas suite room 418 on the 4th floor or for that matter any room facing the River Thames...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soosoo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,607
    619
    240
    108
    88
See reviews for
983
2,226
170
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

If your in a position to get a stay at the savoy as a present (us) or have the £££'s to splash out here, this is the definition of a luxury hotel, everything is just right and the service is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel is breath taking, the refurb is exquisite, afternoon tea here was pure indulgence for my birthday and the pianist even played Happy Birthday on piano to my surprise, I felt so special.attentive staff.A wonderful experience,I want to go back, the hotel is out of this world!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Thought I would treat my Wife,Mother & Aunt
Booked a Limousine & Driver,Box at the Theater & Four for Afternoon Tea with Champagne at The Savoy,we could not get the car down as taxis etc blocking entrance decided to walk,Doorman did not welcome us nor did anyone else,walked into foyer not sure were to go etc.
Then met by hostess shown to table,introduced to Connor very charming young man things looking up,then Connor said he had other duties to perform and Trevor would be looking after us,then things took a turn for the worst seemed hurried the exact opposite of the Afternoon Tea experience,although the sandwiches were Delicious,the cakes & patisseries were not good asked if we would like some more of the same we asked for Mint Macaroons & Apple caramel brought one of each on side plate,scones were not warm seemed hard and quite stale.
Asked for the bill took ages, then the card machine would not work had to get another one,no warm or sincere goodbye,what should have been a Grand Finale to a memorable day ended quite flat,emailed Savoy with my comments thanked me and said on my next visit to contact the manager who will personally book our table etc ? Such a shame an Institution like The Savoy !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoy, Hotel Management at The Savoy, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest, We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following a visit for Afternoon Tea. Please rest assured that we have shared your feedback with the relevant people so that any issues may be addressed accordingly. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and hope that a future visit to The Savoy will meet all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

At the time of booking we didn't realize how amazing and historic this hotel is but once we arrived we realized this is going to be a great vacation.
For European standards our room was large and very very comfortable. The service is as expected from any Fairmont property. Just the best you will find.
We loved the Tea room and the location. Even during our boat tour they showed the hotels to the tourists as a London landmark. I must say we were excited about tea and scone but the scones didn't taste as good as they looked but the entire experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbys
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

There is much to be happy about. As an international 5 star hotel it ticks all the boxes. The refurbishment is superb but this may man a little loss of character. Our room was very well fitted,
If a little small for this standard of hotel. As acouple of notes to management if guests are traveling light then sk them if they wish to have their baggage taken from them on arrival and do not wait for 35 minutes to deliver to the room. And although my name contains a couple of strained double vowels and may be a little uncommon it is shared with an international personality, is two syllables of standard english and might be recognized at reception without having to say it twice and then spell it. These are minor matters. When will any luxury hotel appreciate that if you are British the first thing which you may wish is to make yourself a cup of tea in your room whilst you unpack and it is better to have the kit to do this rather than to ring room service? only a private complaint!
What I must say though is that this has become an international hotel by which I mean that everything is here but it is now a little bland. The personal touch is missing as it is corporately run. You might have the same experience in New York or any other major city. he room information is in international english with American spelling. You are encouraged to dress cleanly but not formally so that it was unnecessary to pack formal clothes. If visiting royalty, major politicians or stars of film stagemusic etc were to visit they might find it not to be a place where their privacy would be respected. It was not always so and I suspect that they now stay somewhere a little more expensive?
On the minus side we did not take breakfast not only because it was expensive but because we could find places which were good and quick close by at a fraction of the cost. On the other hand the Savoy Grill was good for dinner.
With regard to location this is not the classiest bit of London if quite convenient for many things. Those who know The Plaza in NY which may now have similar management may compare and contrast?

Room Tip: Rooms on the South river side will be more expensive but have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband treated me to a night at the Savoy for my birthday and it was everything I had hoped for and more. The hotel is so glamorous and the service is spot on - they anticipate your every need but are never obtrusive, patronising or overpowering just totally charming. If you get the chance please stay here you will not be disappointed. Expensive yes but definitely worth every penny. Just need to save up now so that We can go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,069 in London
2,519 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,069 in London
2,141 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,069 in London
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
795 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#15 of 1,069 in London
1,702 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Book Direct Rooms, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing