We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatstic stay!”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #38 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and i stayed here for wedding anniversary, everything about the place was lovely, the staff couldnt do enough to help us, from the valet parking when we arrived, to check out when we left. We ate in the savoy grill which was a wonderful meal, friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere.

We had a few drinks in both bars, enjoyed some coctails and soaked up the history of the building.
We will most definatly stay again and recommend it to any one wanting something a little special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swrightes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar G, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed a celebratory stay at our iconic hotel. Your kind words about the service you received are much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the team here.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Savoy in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,186 - 3,192 of 4,787 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed at the Savoy September 2013. Had an Edwardian room in the Riverside wing; art deco is also available (edwardian personal choice). I was welcomed every time I arrived and departed. Every member of staff would always say hello. Room pristine, maids quick but thorough. Biggest shower head I have ever seen, it was like taking a shower in a waterfall everyday made even better with Le Labo Rose 31 products. Located on the Strand is central to everything in London worth seeing. History kept with reno's. Excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar G, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to The Savoy.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the shower head, which at 10 inches in diameter is designed to replicate the relaxing sensation of rainfall. Thank you for mentioning our Le Labo amenities, which are created using only the highest quality raw ingredients and are entirely natural.

I look forward to sharing your review with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I still can't believe that I brought a living social voucher for £19.50 which enabled us to have a wonderful two course meal with champagne! The hotel is beautiful, we had cocktails in the bar before dinner which were lovely, this was a leaving party for 8 people and I don't think I could have made a better choice for our final good buys, the staff were brillant taking photos for us and just making our night special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonK894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were in London for a few days and called into the hotel for a cocktail before heading to see The Bodyguard was musical. The bar we went into was actually quite dirty. The table next to us had not been cleaned after the last customers left and to my shock the beautiful mirror above our table was so dirty and full of streak marks that you couldn't see your reflection. Not what I expect from such a top notch place!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dougie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to read that your recent visit to The Savoy did not meet expectations.There cannot be any excuse for service issues such as tables not being cleared and cleanliness. Please rest assured that the matter has been addressed by our executive director of food & beverage for urgent review.

Please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards of service and I do hope that you will return to The Savoy as I am sure that you will find the service to be much improved

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our 2nd stay since renovation and reopening. We have such fond memories of the hotel before renovation. Once again, we were pleased to be there. Tony, the doorman, has been there for 30 yrs. and is always glad to see you. The staff meets you right inside the foyer and somehow knows your name. You are led to another beautiful room, invited to sit as a staff member checks you in. Our room was huge with the most comfortable bed, linens, decor and bath.
The glamorous and sophisticated Beaufort Bar dressed in black and gold is a must for a drink before dinner or after the theater. Sit at the bar and watch the theatrical preparation of their signature cocktails.
We dined in their new Kapar's Seafood Bar and Grill and were delighted by the delicious meal by an open window overlooking the Thames.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give such encouraging feedback on your recent visit to The Savoy. As a returning guest it’s a pleasure to hear that you continue to enjoy your time at our iconic property.

I was also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the opulent surroundings of the Beaufort Bar and our latest addition Kaspar’s Seafood Bar and Grill. Thank you for also taking the time to mention Tony, who has indeed been with us for over 30 years and takes great pleasure in welcoming back our guests. I look forward to sharing your comments with him along with the rest of our team.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

There were four of us. It was a birthday treat for my mother. We had the afternoon tea at £45 a head. The staff were very professional and helpful. The food included sandwiches, scones, pastries, and cake all washed down with a massive selection of teas. You could have as much as you wanted. The surroundings and ambience is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give such encouraging feedback following your Afternoon Tea experience at The Savoy and I am so pleased that you enjoyed a celebratory visit to our iconic hotel. Your kind words about the service you received are much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Savoy in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were walking along The Strand in London on a glorious day after a lovely light lunch and we thought we'll go inside the Savoy because the last time we were there was a long time ago before it was closed down for the £200+ million renovation . As soon as you step inside the door, you know you are in a different world. We went to ask if we can have an afternoon tea, unfortunately we have no reservations and it was fully booked. The friendly and polite staff offered to take us to the American bar where we can have tea or coffee and we were quite happy to oblige. My son who is 24 but looks under 18 has to produce his photo ID to prove that he is old enough to be admitted to this classy, sophisticated with an old world charm bar with partial view of the river Thames . The lady receptionist by the entrance was very polite and was dressed smartly that he didn't mind being asked at all he said he was used to it. We had a laugh. Anyway, we ordered cappuccinos and tea and we asked if we can have some cakes or something nice to go with it. The waiter told us that the hot drinks come with freshly baked cookies , so we said that's fine. When it arrived, it wasn't just a piece of cookie it was a few pieces of delicious cookies, quite generous than what we've expected. We ate it all , slowly of course and when the waiter noticed that the cookies disappeared in no time he asked if we wanted some more, and of course we said, YES please, without a shame. We ended up ordering a glass of champagne each before we left . My husband said, that's not a cheap afternoon coffee , but hey he was quick to add we are on holiday , life is too short and it's The Savoy . Glad we went to pop in, because next time we are back in London we will definitely make sure we book an English afternoon tea if not dinner in one of their restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give such encouraging feedback on your recent visit to The Savoy. I was most pleased to read that you were able to experience a taste of The Savoy in the iconic American Bar, despite the Thames Foyer being fully booked for Afternoon Tea. Thank you also for highlighting the level of service which you experienced during your visit, it will give me great pleasure to share your kind words with the team here.

I sincerely hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again and experience Afternoon Tea in all its pageantry.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,181 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#16 of 1,076 in London
1,785 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £472 - £797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing