We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Savoy
Ranked #43 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
lucky8England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had dinner at the Kasper restaurant within The Savoy Hotel. The last time we ate at the Grill
before the renovation, it was very disappointing so our expection was uncommittal this time, but we were pleasantly surprised. Everything from starters to the cheese and desserts were absolutely delicious and imaginatively presented. The staff was very professional and friendly.
A most pleasant evening, but the drinks at the pre-dinner bar was quite pricey, but the atmosphere was well worth it. Will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky8England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,392
    597
    237
    106
    86
See reviews for
913
2,118
160
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a great end to a very long trip!

It was my first time in Europe and we went everywhere. But nothing compared to our trip at The Savoy.

We where exhausted after our trip to Paris and where taken straight to our room!
Which has never happened to us before. We felt like we lived there.

The hotel is just beautiful, The shop was so lovely and so was the American Bar.
The room was great aswell! we stayed in an art deco room, which was very cool

We had dinner at Kaspars, The food was great. We had the sirlion which was perfectly cooked.
But the service was impeccable,our server was so helpful, sorry cant remember thier name, the housekeeper was so friendly and so was the doorman. But what really shocked us was on check out. The flower boy asked me if he could take the pollen out of my lilles as he was worried it would stain my coat. My husband and I couldnt get over the attention to detail. The flowerboy knew I was concerned about it and it was perfect timing.

Our bags where collected and it was time to leave.
We where both so sad to leave. We where in the taxi and said "when are we going back?"

THANKYOU SAVOY

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying this hotel is very impressive from the facade at the front to the foyer and corridors. The staff are most welcoming and attentive. The rooms are beautifully presented and the bathrooms decorated and fitted out very well. But there then comes the parts that make it hard to enjoy the hotel to its fullest, you cannot go to the bar without making a reservation or hope there is a table available for you and drinks are very expensive 330ml peroni £7.50 plus service charge. The minibar is ridiculous, shortbread biscuits £11, half a bottle of champagne £53, a snickers bar £3 and it doesn't stop there no tea and coffee in the room, it is available via room service at £6 and breakfast £35 each and if you want a side portion of baked beans £7. It's not that I can't afford it I just cannot warrant it, obviously it's more geared to tourist and business people where it's not like spending real money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The sense of arrival you are presented with when you arrive at the hotel sets the tone: precise, efficient, professional and caring. Timeless elegance and sophistication surround you and this is reflected by the wonderful, attentive service. The services provided are thoughtful and have been carefully refined to match the expectations of the clientele, and what I personally like about the Savoy is the frequency in which they surprise and delight you. Rooms are comfortable and well presented, clean and crisp. The attention to detail is finely managed, nothing is to much trouble. Whilst it is an expensive place to stay, it is always worth while when you decide to treats yourself. I recently wanted to return to the Savoy, but could not get the room I wanted and so I stayed first at the Langham hotel on my way in, with a second visit on my way out of UK at the Stafford Hotel instead. Whilst those stays were wonderful, I couldn't help finding myself comparing them to the grand dame.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHP9477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had a riverside suite, did not think it was good value. But the Savoy Grille restaurant,everyone should experience it at least once. Capture quality dining and service from the 1930's. one of my favourite restaurants in the world

Room Tip: Unless you can get an online deal i feel it is bad value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior_Montague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went for early evening drinks, and were told to wait for a table in a corridor!! After watching 2 couples be seated immediately, decided in this vast city full of wonderful bars and restaurants, nobody should cue for a glass of Champagne. Get over yourself, the Savoy, and teach communication and customare care to your staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sisi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy a glass of champagne at The Savoy. We have two bars at the hotel and our team should have informed you of our Beaufort bar, a beautifully decadent and theatrical bar in the heart of the hotel and adjacent to the Thames Foyer.

Kindest regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

first class in every way. service ,food, ambience,surroundings and all round excellence. would reccommend to any visitor to london.(maitre d' especiallly friendly) visited from scotland and met up with my son and daughter who both live in england. A special occasion topped off with our visit to the savoy.A memorable end to a marvellous weekend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Kaspar’s Seafood Bar and Grill. Thank you for mentioning out Maitre d’, I look forward to sharing your kind words with him and the rest of the team.

Kindest Regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#38 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#20 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#75 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing