We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I smiled for the entire stay”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #40 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff. We arrived very early and a very helpful lady Kate ensured we were able check in. We are at the Savoy grill; The food was amazing and we had a few cocktails at the American bar; fab! We smiled for our entire stay! The hotel is luxurious and service impeccable! Amazing hotel in the heart if London.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Aoife H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed a say at our iconic hotel, dinner at the Grill and cocktails in the American Bar. I look forward to sharing your review with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kairan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,658 - 2,664 of 4,855 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the door to the minute we regrettably left the Savoy we had a perfect experience. The staff is gracious, professional and friendly. Our room was absolutely lovely. Very well maintained and very spacious with a lovely sitting room. Air-conditioning worked perfectly (very important to my husband). Bathroom was well appointed with very nice amenities. Service was excellent at every level. The common areas are beautiful and the history of the Savoy is something not to be missed. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you have an issues with stairs make sure you ask for a room on the part of the floor where you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lledfordny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Your comments are praise indeed! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a stay at The Savoy, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had a party at the Savoy a few months ago.The ladies toilet facilities were closed for guests due to drain blockage.We had to go all the way up to the next level so we could use toilet.Accordingly to one of the staff that I spoke to this happens quite often-:)
Food that was served that evening wasn't great and the event manager on duty wasn't at his best as he was unable to sort our problem with cold food that was served to us.He was appalling and unsure of himself(at least his English was satisfactory though with a strong German accent).

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186338Zoran_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry to read your comments and share in your disappointment for the service you experienced on this occasion. Whilst it was very unfortunate that the ladies toilets were taken out of service on this occasion, I am pleased to report that our technical team were able to quickly rectify the issue. I was disappointed to hear your comments with regards to the food on this particular evening, and have shared your feedback with the chef and events team for their review. Whilst your feedback is very much appreciated, please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards of service. We very much hope that you will give us another chance to show you a true Savoy Experience.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A lovely hotel, lovely room that was a double upgrade to a suite. Check in was in the lobby and we were escorted to our room. The view was fabulous, great bathroom with soaps and creams and everything you would need and a very comfortabe bed! However....no bottles of water until after 6pm which I found very poor indeed as water should always be provided. The service in the restaurant, The Savoy Grill, was very poor, the waiter took ages to take our order and then ages to serve our food. He was very apologetic but we were going to the theatre so were on a time schedule. Not impressive for this hotel. The service in the bar and at at the breakfast the next morning was very good. All the staff seemed to know what had happened the night before and were very attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Savoy. Whilst I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the upgrade and views from the suite, I recognise that there were some inconsistencies during your visit that needed addressing internally. I was disappointed to hear of your experience at The Grill, which is managed by Gordon Ramsay Holdings. Please rest assured I have shared your feedback with the team for their review. It was however reassuring to hear that you had a positive experience at the bar and breakfast the following morning.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend one night at the Savoy. From the moment you step out of the car, we had one sent by the hotel, to the gentleman welcoming us to the hotel, great experience! The staff we encountered was very friendly and welcoming and happy to accommodate any request. The hotel is beautiful and the room we stayed in had extremely comfortable beds and the rain shower head and heated towel rack in the bathroom were nice perks. We treated ourselves to afternoon tea, and weren't disappoint.

Expensive, yes, but it's a worthwhile treat and so enjoyable!

Room Tip: treat yourself to afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tadr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It’s wonderful to hear your positive feedback with regards to The Savoy experience. I look forward to sharing your review with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A truly splendid hotel. From the friendly welcome by the door staff, easy check-in, immaculate rooms & pleasant & welcoming staff, I could not fault anything. My thanks to all the employees for making my stay so pleasurable. See you again soon.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed a return visit to our iconic hotel. Many thanks for your kind words, which I look forward to sharing with the team.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is possibly the best hotel in London, the location is fantastic, Covent Garden is stone throw away, 20 mins walk to the British Museum, Piccadilly Circus/Leicester Square and House of Parliament. Staff are well trained and more than happy to help. The room is very clean, and decorated in very high standard. The bed was so comfortable you won't want to leave the room. Larger than average size bathroom with free standing shower and bath. The only fault is that you have to pay for Wifi and there is no kettle in the room, not even a bottle of complimentary water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Savoy. I was so pleased to hear you made the most of location and appreciated The Savoy’s décor. Complimentary Wi-Fi is offered to all Fairmont Presidents Club members, which is also free to join. Please accept my apologies if this was not highlighted upon check-in. Equally, with regard to amenities we take pride in providing the little touches that go to make a stay special and I am extremely sorry that these were overlooked during your stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your visit and I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,684 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,594 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#14 of 1,077 in London
495 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £433 - £864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing