We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place in London”
Review of The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy
Ranked #41 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The place in London”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So imagine a hotel that seeks your needs and then before you can express them will have them met. Imagine a place in the heart of London- walking distance from Big Ben, in site of the Eye, and a cab from the greatest museums in the world. That would be The Savoy. Simple, elegant, perfect.

Rooms are great - even have some American plugs. Our room was upgraded, and had a great fiew of the Thames.

Service was amazing

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comments are praise indeed! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again to The Savoy in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,486
    610
    239
    106
    87
See reviews for
940
2,175
166
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

All was great till the power went out for over 2 hours one morning. No notification from the hotel. No one answered the phone. Walked down 5 flights to be told only that there was a power outage. Unable to shower or properly get ready for the day....Hotel should have made financial adjustments to the bill but my request went on deaf ears...only 'We are glad to have it back on and are investigating'.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

With the loss of electrical power the hotel being so sudden and unexpected, it was a priority for us to have every available member of staff on hand to act as quickly as possible to advise, assist and reassure our guests. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience this situation caused and understand that communication at such a time is so important. Although the cause was being investigated, we had hoped that by writing immediately to our guests and placing a message on the in-room televisions once the power had returned, we could offer some reassurance and our sincere apologies. Thank you for your comments and we trust that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The best part about the hotel is the location. Walking distance to so many quintessential London sights and landmarks. The hotel itself is old (but recently renovated) and grand. Rooms are on the smaller side by American standards but well sized for Europe. There were a few minor issues with the room that made it not quite perfect. The staff was friendly. I believe there is a dress code for the hotel, but we were treated well even in our jeans and t-shirts after a transatlantic flight. Overall, a very nice stay. I'd rate it a 4.5* if I could.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a riverside room with a beautiful view of the Thames (and St. Paul's, Tate, Shard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJSJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to hear that overall you enjoyed The Savoy Experience. Whilst the hotel is very much steeped in history, we have been able to blend comfort and elegance with discrete technology. It was disappointing to hear that you initially experienced some issues with your room, which I hope did not cause too much frustration.
We hope you will visit The Savoy again.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and am never disappointed.

The rooms are incredibly comfortable and well appointed and they've thought of everything down to a spare power adapter.

The staff is welcoming, knowledgeable and ready to take on any challenge a guest may present. I think their concierge is among the best anywhere.

The location is great for the West end (theatre district and most of the touristy stuff), but the stay is worth it even if your trip to London takes you a little further afield.

Be sure to check out the lounges while you're here. In my opinion they are part of the Savoy experience.

It is a little pricey - but if it's within your budget or close to your alternatives then stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

As a long-standing, loyal guest of The Savoy your comments and observations are particularly welcomed and valued, and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Thank you.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Given a suite upgrade on arrival. Suite was superb with spectacular views over the Thames and beyond. Visit The American Bar, excellent service, atmosphere and selection of drinks, cocktails and champagne. Pianist/singer is very good and adds to the overall ambiance of the bar

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank bobrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I was so pleased to hear that we were able to create such wonderful memories for you all to share. I look forward to sharing you kind words with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family was delighted to get so much wonderful service from door to guest room. Especially a young gentleman wants to say "Thank you very much" to kaspar's staff. He will remember her warm smile and good gift.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Joocheon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I was so pleased to hear that we were able to create such wonderful memories for you all to share. I look forward to sharing you kind words with the team and hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Savoy Hotel since it's refurbishment. Well what can I say, FANTASTIC. The refurbishment is perfect and it has kept its unique charm.

We ate in the Savoy Grill and the food was first class and the staff were very helpfull and always on hand to re fill your glass for you. After dinner we sat back and relaxed in the Beaufort Bar and watched the people come and go. We were also treated to a pianist who was very very good. We soon forget we're we were and melted into the atmosphere and
ambience that makes this place so special.

Even if you only visit once you must sample the delights of the Savoy, it is everything that is quintessentially English.

We will be seeing you soon.

many thanks

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andypickrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiaran_MacDonald, Managing Director at The Savoy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I’m so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the Savoy Experience, from dining at Gordon Ramsay’s Savoy Grill to the spectacular Beaufort Bar. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kiaran MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#70 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy

Property: The Savoy
Address: The Strand, London WC2R 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Business Hotel in London
#60 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Hotel London
Savoy London
Savoy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing