We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting museum”
Review of Jewish Museum

Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.35*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #230 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Jewish Museum London is for people of all backgrounds and faiths to explore British Jewish heritage, identity and culture. Set against a spacious and modern architectural backdrop with displays across four permanent galleries, the museum brings the Jewish story to life, placing it in a wider context of British history. Our education programmes, exhibitions and events encourage a sense of discovery and creativity and tell the story of Jewish history, culture and religion in an innovative and compelling way.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Jewish Museum is near to Camden Town station and covers 3 floors. Much of the history and focus on the 2nd level relates to Jewish people who migrated or had some tie with the UK. The first floor focuses on the Jewish culture and traditions. I think it's a great experience for anyone and a good reminder that everyday, we write our history that is never forgotten.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank secretgardenofjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    56
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A 'must-see' experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Visited as a 'parent helper' with a class of 10 year olds who were beginning to learn about the Holocaust. The workshop they experienced was absolutely amazing - really engaging, interactive and thought-provoking. It was also very well pitched for the age-group, with appropriate messaging about history's most devastating and appalling episode.
Children and adults alike also loved the museum itself, with interesting displays, exhibits and clear information boards.
I would say that this is a 'must see' for anyone with an interest in Judaism, Jews in Britain or the Holocaust.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
691 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Informative and Educational”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Although not Jewish, I found this relatively small museum very interesting. I learned much from the items on display and the special exhibition on the 3rd floor devoted to the contribution of British Jewry during World War I was excellent. It also reminds one of anti-Semitic elements and resultant suffering.
The staff on duty were friendly and welcoming. For a small museum the entrance fee is a little high.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betula103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Jewish Museum London”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wow this was a wonderful experience. The welcome from security and the ladies running the entry were superb.

The First World war exhibition on the 3rd floor was very informative and at the same time a reminder of the anti- semitism in our society.

Much here to learn about the Jewish faith and to realie how very British the Jewish people are. How they hve suffered eveb here in this country. Emotionally I found it draining but so glad I came.

Call at the cafe where you are also made welcome

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank david_littlewood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amy winehouse”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

the staff were great made me feel overly welcome could not fault them 10/10 as my intentions were just to see amy winehouse exhibition big thank you to alex winehouse. I learned so much more regarding holocaust very moving.a must see museum for all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TARA1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing