We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A London Must!”

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.65*
and up
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea
Ranked #34 of 1,629 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education.Together, the Globe Theatre Company, Shakespeare's Globe Exhibition and Globe Education seek to further the experience and international understanding of Shakespeare in performance.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A London Must!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our family ran out of time last summer while visiting London to stop at the Globe, so this year we made sure that it was a priority on our list of places to see. Our entire family really enjoyed the tour which lasted approximately 40 minutes long. Our guide was Anthony and he did a really great job sharing the Globe's history and weaving all the information together for us. I had no idea that American actor San Wanamaker was the person responsible for the modern recreation of the theatre. It was fascinating to listen how his dream of recreating the original Globe took over 20 years to do. It was fascinating to see and learn about the details and workmanship that went into recreating this new theatre as well hearing about period facts.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,245
    1,633
    426
    126
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Visited today interesting exhibition although globe was closed to tours this afternoon due to rehearsals. As I have been to globe before not a problem especially as this was replaced by tour of new indoor theatre.
Guide was informative and pleasant new theatre awesome. 2 hours well spent. If only I had time this trip to get to performance. Recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank lyndzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worst over priced £13.50 ever spent”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I am not writing a review of a show.. This is regards the tour. Have always wanted to visit the 'home of Shakespeare' .. Of course do so but do not take a tour. Apart from the totally mis guided age of the current building .i.e. built I 1997. The cost is over the top, is totally un-informative, as a matter of fact it is a total rip off.

Do not do it ladies and gentleman.

Even at £3 it would be just worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have been to the Globe many times and have never failed to be enchanted by it. It has an atmosphere unlike any other theatre I've been in, and I've been in a lot. The combination of the unique design of the building and the joy of being there that every audience seems to feel make it an unforgettable experience. If you are visiting London and want to get a feel for what has made the UK the country it is, go to the Globe.

The new indoor theatre - the Sam Wannamaker - is equally enchanting and unique. Much smaller than the Globe and with a really intimate atmosphere. It's lit by candlelight. Magical.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kittywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Titus Andronicus is brilliant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went for the theatre tour and then a show in the evening. The tour was fine, although others have mentioned live displays there was nothing going on while we were there. The museum is excellent though. However the show was absolutely superb. The story was brought to life so well and it was surprisingly humorous for such a blood thirsty tragedy. The theatre is very hot and people were fainting all over the place - would advise taking some water.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare's Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing