We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Must Do" on a visit to London”

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.72*
and up
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition with Optional Afternoon Tea
Ranked #34 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education.Together, the Globe Theatre Company, Shakespeare's Globe Exhibition and Globe Education seek to further the experience and international understanding of Shakespeare in performance.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"Must Do" on a visit to London”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We saw a fantastic performance of "Antony and Cleopatra" a couple of weeks ago. Quite unlike any live performance I have ever seen, the actors frequently interacted with the audience, and we all got to celebrate the wedding by throwing confetti on the happy couple. We sat the Middle Gallery, Row A, and found the seats to be perfect. Some folks around us had rented the seat cushions, but we didn't miss them. Fantastic experience on a beautiful summer evening, and make sure to walk back into the city over the Millennium Bridge.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,258
    1,637
    427
    127
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Theatre with a "wow" factor”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just seen Julius Caesar at the Globe and really enjoyed it. The performance began before actual start of the play with actors mingling with the audience outside the actual theatre. The "groundlings" all became Roman citizens in the Forum and I am sure this made the experience extremely memorable for the school children who were down there - they seemed to be loving it! I hope this will be something they remember forever.

The theatre definitely has a "wow" factor as a venue visually and the experience is as authentic as possible so, yes it is uncomfortable though I understand that the 21st century audience has more space per person than the Elizabethans. Having been before, we always try to book seats in the front row of one of the galleries and hire cushions and backrests.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience to see shakespeare in this 15th century venue, but so uncomfortable”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have seen Shakespeare in Stratford, England and in Ashland, Oregon and in The park In San Pedro , California, but to see it here in London in a reproduction of the original Globe was fantastic. The play was uncut, unlike in the other venues which tended to shorten the plays. So it was 3 hours long with a 20 minute intermission in incredible uncomfortable seats which killed my back (Only a bench to sit on with no back).

We left at intermission, having throughly enjoyed the original interpretation of the master's work. It was fantastic, even with a substitute reading the lead role of Anthony. We got the feeling and experience, but could not sit any longer. We were familiar with the play so were not disappointed in having to leave. No suspense. But the acting and direction were amazing, except for the substitute.

The location along the river and the walk both ways on the Millennium bridge to St Paul's at night was magical.So go for the experience and the magic and the great audience who really gets into the play and the scene and the atmosphere. Standing for 10 pounds, seats for 40 pounds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“See a play at the Globe”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Seeing a play at the Globe let me see theater as it may have been in Shakespeare's time. It was wonderful and more than I expected.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HokieTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue shame about some of the acting.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We saw “Julius Cesar” at the Globe on June 21. The building is truly amazing and apart from the lack of signage to toilets the venue is well organised. It’s a wonderful tribute to Sam Wanamaker’s vision that one really feels part of Shakespeare’s England. London is lucky to be the recipient of this living history.

I wish the acting had risen to the venue provided. Maybe voice projection and diction are no longer taught at drama schools but whatever the reason the experience was spoiled by constantly strain, and often failing, to follow the dialogue. There were occasions when actors seemed to forget the audience and have private conversations. I felt like shouting “Speak up” but I’m not sure audience participation stretches that far. Luke Thompson as Mark Anthony was a fairly consistent audible gem in the production Tom McKay’s Brutus waxed and waned in the hearing stakes a pity because when heard he was as good as Luke Thompson. George Irving’s portrayal of Julius Caesar as a limp wristed mincing mumbler was truly awful.

Here’s hoping the next production will seek to rise not just to Shakespeare’s genius but Sam Wanamaker’s too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare's Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing