We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Second time I have stayed here and once again it has proved its elegance and sophistication. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I am very glad to hear you chose to stay with us at The May Fair once again and enjoyed our renowned 5* service.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,210
    1,042
    496
    269
    204
See reviews for
630
1,705
212
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed at the May Fair for 2 nights for a business meeting at the hotel. Was coming frmo outside the city - easily accessible from Paddington station via tube (Green park stop is a block away). Rooms were comfortable. Bathrooms are somewhat unique - as others have mentioned, in some rooms the wardrobe is in the bathroom. Shower in my room was standard UK shower with half a wall (vs. full curtain or sliding door. Helpful and pleasant staff. Buffet breakfast with decent selection of meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal. Very quiet and found bed comfortable. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
With warmest wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Something has happened here. I was here last year with my wife but this time the experience was so positive I can't wait to get back. Great staff team ... seems like everyone wanted my bag! From start to finish, start being sending my reservation via email, I was truly impressed. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your review.
I was delighted to read such positive comments and your compliments are truly appreciated.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and please do let me know when you return so I can have the pleasure of meeting with you.
With warmest wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on points - maybe that is why we got the furthest room possible from the lifts. The bathroom was very small and the extractor fan was not working. Tea selection poor. Expected a bit better for 5*

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was so sorry to read that your stay did not meet with your expectations and I would like to offer you my personal apologies for a disappointing visit.
I have taken note of your comments and will be following these up with my Heads of Department. Thank you for making me aware of your feedback.
I do hope we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and if you do decide to return, please let my office know so I could have the pleasure of meeting you.
With my best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

stayed 3 nights, room ok good size bathroom, busy hotel great buzzing bar area but not 5*

Room Tip: higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanrosemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that the hotel was not up to your standards.
If you do decide to return, please contact my office directly so I can personally oversee the arrangements for you.
Kind regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

my wife and i stayed on Sunday 6th May in a Junior suite . We have stayed at this hotel over the years quite a few times so know all about it . Its location is superb but recently i felt the hotel was on the down ward slide , that was until we stayed on Sunday .
The check in was faultless with very pleasant staff throughout the whole hotel. The Doorman were much better at greeting the concierge was efficient . The room was amazing lovely big room very clean and beautifully decorated. We had theatre tickets for a show and really fancied eating in Quince but unfortunately it didnt open until 18:30 but the restaurant staff the next morning explained to us that they are seriously thinking about a pre theatre menu which was a really great touch that she remembered to say something about it to her boss. So we had some room service when we came back from the show which was superb.Breakfast was excellent as were the restaurant staff very cheerful and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall our stay was excellent and are very much looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you so much for such a positive review.
I am very happy to hear that you have reconsidered and thoroughly enjoyed our service and that you enjoyed our outlets and facilities.
I will ensure to pass this feedback on to our teams.
We all look forward to your return and would be delighted to meet you on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in London for a 3 day tour. It happened we got there while Gas pipes had burst in the Mayfair area. The hotel staff was very helpful in trying to accommodate all our needs. The next day the problem was corrected and it was great ...
The Hotel is very centrally located and the Staff is great. The bar downstairs is very busy with locals and open until very late… I would definitely try to stay in a high floor. Rooms were very confortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafainLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback.
We really appreciate the fact that you decided to stay with us even during such a period as the lack of gas throughout the area. We are delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed the bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the May fair.
Kindest regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#386 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,297 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#44 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing