We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in London!! Love it!! x”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #227 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for the past 6 years every time I go to London for the weekend! To be fair I only go when it's a special occasion, everytime we have been it has been fantastic! Front desk are always very helpful and guest services have always been great when needed. I did have a small problem once but it was handled brilliantly by the management.
I am due to stay again on 26th of January 2013 for my partners birthday and am very much looking forward to it. Fingers crossed that as a regular guest (only a couple or three times a year to be fair) I may get a little upgrade when we check in :)
Thank you to all of the staff and to the hotel for being a fantastic, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in London! xxx

Room Tip: I have stayed in a top suite (can't remember name though), a loft studio suite (very nice), a su...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to hear you enjoy your stays with us!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,713)
There are newer reviews for The May Fair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,122 - 3,128 of 4,713 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

The location was simply the best. Museums, shopping, sightseeing were very close from the hotel within walking distance.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Rooms were nice, cozy and quiet.
Breakfast was not a buffet but a real a-la-carte, which was nice as we could order anything.
We had a wonderful trip and we highly recommend the May Fair hotel. It's a great value for Money

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your review.
I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your delightful compliments.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

It depends on your expectations of a 5 star hotel. If you mean clean bedrooms, good bed and good location then you got it (and so probably did the Holiday Inn about half a block away).
If you mean 5 star service, a mini-bar that works (surprise! the May Fair mini bars are not refrigerated), a dependable restaurant and a great bar, a lobby to relax and read the paper, then don't even consider the May Fair.
The bar is a side kick business for them, it gets absolutely crowded with people that are not guests (neither good looking nor loaded, and very meat market-y), think nightclub conditions to get a drink - oh and it is SO loud. Also, the bar loads/unloads from door straight from the street on one side, and off to the lobby on the other. I was worried about my kids (tweens) being in the room by themselves even for very short periods of time, since this whole activity in the bar is very close to the elevators and who knows who can get upstairs. Same for them being not closely watched while at the lobby (oh the lobby - meaning just the check-in and check-out place, no lounge, no atmosphere and loads of traffic) with all these night characters around. Therefore I felt unsafe in the hotel for my kids and for my belongings. Should I feel like this on a 5 star hotel??? I like selective clientele, not a nightclub crowd moving around my family and my belongings. I like luxury, and attention to detail. I like cool wine in the mini-fridge, and a bar with a great bartender who will know my name and a bar that I can find a spot to sit. I do like the Ritz Carlton, although I don't always like their prices, but when I stay there I know I, as a paying guest, won't be rubbing elbows and fighting for a drink with the riff-raff that will go to a hotel bar to be "picked-up" by paying customers.
So, I do NOT recommend the May Fair. I believe that even the Holiday Inn around the corner would be more respectable than this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhantomOP_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was extremely concerned to read your comments and can assure you I take this extremely seriously. I will most certainly follow this up with my Head of Security and would like to thank you for bringing this most important feedback to my attention.
I was sorry that you felt like this and would like to offer you my personal apologies. I would like to think that all our guests feel secure when staying with us and I am just so sorry that this was not the case for you on this occasion.
If you do decide to return and stay with us, please contact my office so I can make the arrangements and personally oversee your stay with us.
With kind regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed here last weekend and it was a surprise planned for my fiancé. We loved everything about this hotel from the point of check-in until end of our stay. The staff here are really friendly and helpful. The lady who checked us in was really welcoming. Dinner in the restaurant was amazing and the new addition of the cigar lounge is a class apart. The young manager on duty made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed the service overall. The main bar of the hotel was really buzzing and enjoyed a couple of drinks before calling it a night. We are surely going to be back soon without no doubts to enjoy the classy Mayfair...!!!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments.
We do hope to welcome you back soon and in the meantime, I send you my best wishes.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

i was a guest in this hotel for 15 days in january for my workand i really enjoyed the rooms! and all the hotel....., they got a cinema , spa,everything you need

the staff is amazing,there is one girl named fatima, she took care of us really good, and all the staff was great.....

if i have to go back to london for sure 100% i will go back to this place

thanks to all the staff to make my days better in this hotel

thanks a lot

Room Tip: room 530 or 532
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T2OKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My mother gave it to me meant well and has paid for my stay in London 16-20.08.2012 in ReservierungsNr C3J99Q2 May Fair hotel with her credit card in advance, and this gave it to me as a gift presents.

The credit card has been with me and was in Sheck in presenting = * IMMEDIATE FULL PREPAYMENT, NO REFUND OR AMENDMENTS *
Credit card used for payment must be presented upon check-in. If this room booking is not for yourself but for a third party, please contact our Central Reservations office on +44 (0) 207 666 2662 for further assistance.

I am on 16.08.2012 in the May Fair hotel around 3 pm arrived. When checking from me was a credit card and asked, I knew that the card through which payment was made, they must be ev. So the mother gave me the card. The booking was made on 15.08.2012 to 5:40 pm and I've never booked in advance, I have tried the hotel to the HP http://www.radissonblu-edwardian.com/london-hotel-gb-w1j -8lt/gbmayfai/home? / 0 to reach specified TelNr to find out if it was all OK with the payment. Unfortunately no, which is on the hotel site, led me to the reservation department of the hotel, which was after 17 h no longer accessible.

When checking in, I thought it was with the whole booking something was amiss. As it has turned out later, the hotel wanted to have only the credit card to cover extras. I was not allowed into the room and had to wait about 2 hours in the cold lobby.

But I thought that the book was not paid to the employee by Philippe offered that I book the first night with points and they deduct the night of the existing booking. Then he has assured me that after the receipt of the passport copy of my mother, she would be satisfied.

I have purchased for 17 h room.
In this situation, I was glad that I did not need to stay in the park or Flughafe.
The next day I had a look at the room - it had a head-on view of the wall of the house. I called the front desk for 9 hours early Anund asked if an upgrade was given to me - no, there were no rooms for Ubgrade. I asked for the duty manager and wanted to know what happens next, because my mother has assured me by phone that she sent to 18 h londoner time a passport copy to the fax reception. The duty manager knew of nothing and said that he will return to reporting. Reported back has about 11 h Philippe again and said that my reservation was canceled. I asked why I was informed? The answer was: we retain no foreign money and there was not a fax from my mother the day before. it was incredible that someone informed me just canceled my reservation WITHOUT! Particular kind of disrespect! I have in my entire life never seen anything like it!

My mother, at my request sent one more time the fax, amazingly, came the fax to the 2nd time.

I have asked that I could talk to someone from the hotel management. Then came the reception manager. He knew nothing of the conflict situation and had to inform only once. Then came the general manager, has said that he would look at the matter, and I should go to lunch and to report in the near him.

In Zwieschenzeit my mother has had to scan their passport because the fax was not legible.

After lunch I went back and reported to the General Manager said that I already expect a certain gesture, if I should stay at his hotel, such as a free night or half board included. He replied that he did not something like this can offer. I have some wondering whether I should then lose the time to go to another hotel. Then I decided that I look at the room and I have decided to remain in the short term at the May Fair.

In the time I've seen it in my profile at the club already Radisson erschiehen one reservation, which I did not at the time. a confirmation to my email address was also not. The cancellation of the reservation confirmation

I must confess that I let myself be seduced by the side of the hotel that it was a luxury hotel, etc. I have seen a nice furnished house with a service that is less than satisfactory. If you order something (envelope / water / coffee and tea in the room sympathize) waiting for hours. At breakfast, the tea the special cheap brand is served. The SPA Zutrit cost extra if you are elite members or not.

For Membership. As a Gold member of Club Carlson, I have not felt Ted accepts. There was no welcome gift, not an upgrade. To late to get sheckout I have to fight properly. It is equal to it was offered to me something special price!

If such treatment at Edwardians hotels should be considered as standard, I'll start a nice ANTI-advertising for the hotel by all means!

I hope you find a satisfactory solution!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IchBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you for your review.
I ws extremely sorry to hear about your visit and I am assuming you have had conversations with my Hotel Manager as I have been away on annual leave.
May I ask that you kindly make contact with my Front of House Manager, Sonny, who will be pleased to look into this for you.
Please do accept my personal apologies and rest assured that Sonny will look into this for you.
With kind regards,
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

There are expectations when staying at a higher end hotel;none were met. We were greeted at arrival but certainly not made to feel welcome. Waited for our room to be ready in the bar and the service was deplorable....sat for 15 minutes before anyone acknowledged us and then waited 10 more minutes for our coffees. A refill was never offered; we were ignored. Walked into our room; it was not the Deluxe King I booked but my husband was so tired I let it go.....not something I usually do. I went to close the cutain and the panel came away from the wall (velcro) and landed on me. NICE! I got a chair and put that back together so my husband could nap.
A few hours later we went down for dinner....hignlights: they sat us at a cocktail/lounge table which was awkward-chair table ratio was ridiculous to eat a meal. Upon placing our order the waiter asked why we were not in the Dining Room....I told him I thought we were....we were relocated to another table. Placed our order, food was delivered...not bad....tried to get attention of staff for salt and pepper....finally had to get up and go to an empty table and swipe the S&P. No one asked how our meal was...no one refilled our wine glasses or water......
Deided to have a chat with the Duty Manager. She was very sincere in her apology. She moved us to a "suite" . The gesture was appreciated but the room was very rundown and old. Woke up to drip, drip drip....It was raining in London (surprise) and the room had three big ceiling leaks. One of the leaks was over the coffee table and splattering on my passport. Housekeeping knocked so I went to answer the door and slipped on yet another puddle of water in the hallway....my husband was rightfully upset at this point as I could have really hurt myself. Housekeeping manager told me the room would be looked at and water cleaned up.
Went to breakfast. Thought for sure we were part of a British sitcom as nothing could be this bad could it?? We were seated at a table that needed to be cleaned...I asked for another table. Got that. It was a buffet affair and when we sat down there was no cutlery etc. Again tried to flag down a staff member....forget it. Swiped cutlery, salt pepper etc. from another table and went into the back area of the restaurant to find someone to get a cup of coffee.
Returned to the hotel early evening (ate dinner elsewhere). the room had towels and garbage buckets on the floor, tables to catch the still leaking water.
Wrote my comments on 5 pages of small hotel stationary with the PENCIL provided. Went downstairs to speak with duty manager and give him my letter. He was aware of our room change and incidents leading up to it but was not aware of the leaks in the suite. He obviously felt bad about our experience but not much he could do at this point.Wrote us a very nice note apologizing and offered us some comp food and beverage. The waiter that delivered our comp food spent 5 minutes asking for deatils about what had happened as he knew the delivery was a comp, and then went on about the faults of the hotel.....My husband finally guided him to the door. There were 3 different knocks on our door in the next 2 hours.....all were unecessary and intrusive. Happy Aniversary to us!
Checked out the next morning and asked for a cab to Paddington to get to Heathrow airport. Concierge said there may be a delay with the Heathrow train. Good to know and we thanked him. Got to Paddinton and learned the train was cancelled and had been reported as cancelled two hours prior.....isn't this something a concierge should know? Lugged our luggage back to the taxi pool and took another to Heathrow. Will never stay at this hotel again. The 2 duty managers were amiable and as efficient as they could be but it is obvious this hotel needs a rehall of its interiors and its staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMRCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for your review which was I extremely disappointed to read.
I would like to firstly start by saying how sorry I was to hear of your stay and to also send you my personal apologies.
Your comments are extremely concerning to me and I will certainly be following this up with my Executive team. The standards you have described are certainly not representative of the service we strive to achieve here at The May Fair and I am just so very sorry this spoilt what should have been a special occasion for you both.
If you do change your mind and decide to return to us, please do contact me directly.
In the meantime, my renewed apologies to you both.
Anthony
Anthony Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#134 of 1,073 in London
1,756 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,073 in London
1,435 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#385 of 1,073 in London
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,073 in London
3,258 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,073 in London
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £287 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing