We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have stayed twice recently at The Mayfair and the service is impeccable. The general manager Anthony Lee knows how to ensure excellent customer care. I stayed in October 2013 for a great stay, lovely room, amenities, friendly staff.

I loved it so much that I then brought 7 friends for us to celebrate a big birthday it was worth every penny. Iman and Sophie are so friendly and helpful at guest relations.

I can't say enough good things about the hotel. Anthony is now moving on to Cafe Royale and I wish him all the best. What a gentleman.

Farah

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Farah,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased we met your expectations and thank you for your kind comments. It is delightful to hear that you and your colleagues had a great time on such a special occasion. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to Ipek and Imran. We all wish Anthony the best, and hope to welcome you back very soon.

With my best wishes,
Inderneel

Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,290
    1,067
    510
    277
    211
See reviews for
662
1,750
222
966
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Dingy, lightless, scarcely furnished room with the soap and shampoo locked to the wall. £300+ a night and you can't pick up the toiletries!!
Uninspiring corporate hotel. Great location but spend your money somewhere with style. This is a Radisson playing at something else. Fur coat and no knickers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review which I was extremely saddened to read.I would firstly like to offer you my personal apologies and assure you that your comments will certainly be taken on the board. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Hotel and if you do decide to return, I do hope I will have the pleasure of meeting with you personally.

With best wishes,
Inderneel

Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
324 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Met outside the hotel as soon as I pulled car up, car went in valet parking, which was very reasonable for 24 hours on London. Bags taken out of car and speedy registration. Staff here are excellent and not over powering, very welcoming, front lobby smells wonderful! Lovely candles burning. Room very nice, quiet and very clean. Not much if a view, but the central location just in waking distance of the west end, and all the major shops made up for this. Would definitely stay here again. Had room service for breakfast, and cost was again, very reasonable,

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSolo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind words. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

With my best wishes,
Inderneel

Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Went for afternoon tea at the Quince restaurant of the Mayfair hotel yesterday. Although not as well known as tea at the Ritz or Savoy, the Mayfair is more relaxed and lesss stuffy (no need to wear a tie). The food is just as good as the more traditional venues and there was a good selection of teas, I had Cornish Earl Grey, which was delicious. The sandwiches were open smoked salmon with avocado dressing, ham and tomato and open egg mayo and when finished you can ask for more! Then there were scones with clotted cream & jam, 2 custard tarts and various petit fours. The atmosphere was very ggod and the staff were attentive & helpful. Will definitlely go back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBayES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea with us and your compliments really were a pleasure to read.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time and please do let me know when you make your booking so I can perhaps have the pleasure of meeting with you.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great location, very friendly staff......

Hotel looked amazing all festive & Christ-massy, room was a deluxe very plush and modern enjoyed watching the TV in the bath that was a nice treat, also given a box of chocolates in room for being a Carlson Club member used 50.000.00 point to pay for this room for free.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my warmest wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in Mayfair for 1 night with no breakfast the price we don't know has we stayed with a package deal organized by Imagine Cruising be warned don't use this company For what I have heard the price of the room is not worth it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzo186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Perhaps you would like to book directly with the Hotel next time as we would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements for you.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I thought the room given was cosy, clean and warm. Service was excellent, we had staff knocking on our door checking whether we needed them to make up the bed etc. Unfortunately I didn't get a good nights sleep here. The pillows weren't as comfortable at other similar standard hotels I've stayed in. Secondly, it was rather noisy outside. I could hear staff doing some DIY or something in the early hours of the morning and it was rather disruptive. Overall though I expected bit more from a hotel in this area. Although not relating to the rooms themselves.. the drinks sold at the bar downstairs was also ridiculously overpriced!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michi_leung1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to hear you found the room to be cosy, clean and warm and you were pleased with the service you received. I have taken note of your additional points and would like to thank you for bringing them to my attention. I am so sorry for the noise disturbance you experienced, please accept my personal apologies for this.
We very much hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#172 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#379 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing