We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #226 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nice hotel, good service provided.
Rooms are nice and big for being London, although you may want to ask for nice London views (some rooms do not have such).
Great help from Pau Arbona, at the fron desk, who helped us a lot in the room assigned to us, the logistics, etc. Great service provided. Thanks a lot for that!

Room Tip: Check the views.. some rooms might not have a nice London view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meritxell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you also for your compliments about Pau.
We very much hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,704 - 2,710 of 4,848 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 at The May Fair whilst in London for our daughters birthday. We always choose The May Fair due to its location and proximity to Green Park tube station, when it is available. The 'family' rooms are always big enough for us with two small children, which is not always the case in London hotels. The service we experienced whilst we were there was of the highest standard and, having had the pleasure of dealing with Anthony Attenborough, we were extremely impressed by his willingness to do what he could to make our stay perfect. In addition, often its the little touches that make the difference - we were asked by a receptionist at check-in as to why were staying and explained that it was a birthday trip. We ate breakfast the following day at the hotel and without prompting or request, our daughter was given a birthday breakfast treat with a candle and birthday wishes by the serving staff. We would thoroughly recommend staying at The May Fair.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Gareth,
Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in celebration of your daughter's birthday! Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and I am just so pleased our team here exceeded your expectations.
We very much hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, the cost you pay is reflected in the service and rooms, the whole experience was lovely and will stay here again!!!

The hotel is very busy but lots of staff to tend to your needs, it's clean and spacious rooms with nice touches!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Juliet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Juliet,
Thank you for your kind review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have recently stayed in The Mayfair, for the second time in the last year. The staff are only too pleased to help, lovely rooms, great food and a brilliant atmosphere. Very conveniently situated in the heart of Mayfair, just around the corner from the underground, so no where is far. We have decided to go back again within the next year. Good for a shopping/site seeing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Lynda,
Thank you for your kind review.
I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I went with my sister, her boyfriend and my boyfriend for 1 night as a special treat. We stayed in the nero suite and it was amazing! Super comfortable bed and beautiful decor.

Also as my sister had mentioned it was my birthday, they put a little cake in my room on arrival - such a treat!

We then ate in the restaurant and again the welcome was lovely, I was sung to and well looked after all evening. The food was delicious, we had steaks, monkfish and venison - I can recommend them all!

We explored the cigar room which had a great atmosphere but settled on having cocktails in the bar downstairs. Again, delicious.

Breakfast had great choice and all the staff were very helpful. I also really liked how it was all presented.

We did a bit of site-seeing the next day and Pau sorted us out with holding our baggage. As we were so central it was really handy to get around London which was a massive bonus.

I honestly had a brilliant time, couldn't recommend it more!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Naomi,
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear how much you all enjoyed your stay with us in celebration of your birthday!
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice, upmarket, central part of London with an underground station just a 2 minute walk away. The reception area is very nice and has a lively bar. All of the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

Our room was relatively small but clean and nicely decorated; the bathroom was clean and well appointed but as with so many hotels it featured a shower over bath which always makes for a second rate shower experience and water all over the floor no matter how careful you are. The bed was soft, lumpy and uncomfortable.

The main problem with this hotel is noise, the room was not well insulated from any direction: we could clearly hear a thumping base line of music being played in the bar two floors down, road noise from the street outside and were woken three times during the night between 03:00 and 06:15 as noisy drunk guests returned from their nights out. There was also light pollution, as the hotel thoughtfully fitted flood lights to the outside of the window ledge to make it look pretty for arriving guests but lit up our room like noon.

This hotel is ok,but not worth the premium price charged, I would not stay here again even at a third of the price.

Breakfast was ok, but not great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MattP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Matt,
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
I have taken note of the points you have made and I was sorry to hear that this disturbed the time you had in your room. I have asked my Deputy to follow up on these two points and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Thank you again and I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location can't be beat. The service is great. It has a clubby feel to it. I've stayed here 3 times in the last year. Some of the rooms and bathrooms need to be updated soon. I also found it silly to charge hotel guests for using the spa sauna and steam bath.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#115 of 1,077 in London
1,883 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,361 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
#423 of 1,077 in London
1,503 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,077 in London
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £231 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing