We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #211 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for business in a king room.

Positives:
Great location.
Beautiful lobby and bedrooms, modern and tastefully decorated.
Good size bedroom, with lots of mirrors and plugs in convenient places.
Reasonably priced and delicious room service.
Helpful and polite staff.

Negatives:
Bathroom is an average size but there is a poor use of space. The only shower is over a very narrow bath.
I have recently stayed at the nearby 5-star Corinthia Hotel (for the same price per night at a corporate rate) which offers a large bath plus an additional walk in rain shower.
The hotel is very noisy, with noise coming from the street (I stayed on the third floor), guests in the hallway, other bedrooms and a very loud fridge.
Mattress is very soft, which may appeal to some, but for me was a negative.

Overall a good stay and I would stay again as the hotel is part of the Club Carlson loyalty programme (same group as Radisson and Park Plaza).

However for a 5-star hotel I was slightly disappointed with the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Lucy,
Thank you for your informative review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed some aspects of your stay.
I have taken note of your feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention. I will most certainly follow up on your comments.
I am pleased to hear you will return to stay with us and perhaps I may have the opportunity of meeting with you during your next visit.
In the meantime, I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,251
    1,050
    503
    276
    208
See reviews for
645
1,728
218
952
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Great location. Reception very welcoming staff polite and knowledgeable. Rooms modern, decorative and clean. Only downside was breakfast where staff were not attentive and failed to deliver a 5* service. Would stay again if there wasnt so many great hotels to choose from. Visited bar which was nice ambience and busy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cubafan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I was so sorry to read your feedback about breakfast and please be assured this is something I will follow up with my Restaurant Manger. In the meantime, please accept my personal apologies for your experience.
I do hope this will not deter you from returning to The May Fair and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

perfect location for a short trip to London. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, park. Across the street there is a grocery store to buy any necessities. Small rooms, but nice and clean. Staff was nice and helpful. Thank you, Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naotama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
WIth my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at the May Fair Hotel last May as part of my good friend's Hen weekend. We stayed in the Schiaparelli Suite which was beautiful. The suite was very retro and was pink and gold- such beautiful decor. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodated us. We had a really great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbryant86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about our Schiaparelli Suite. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your friend's Hen weeekend and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic celebrations. Six adults in total.
Service was brilliant, attentive but not over the top.
Sandwiches, cakes kept being top up constantly & fresh boxed up of what we all liked for taking home. Enjoyed the sweeties offered as we left as well.
Considering visiting here again for further celebration & recommended to many.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WoodyEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon tea celebration. Thank you for your compliments and please be assured I will pass this onto the team.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband as a Friday night treat. We had a deluxe room which was very small. Although we checked in after 6pm, the minibar was almost empty & we had to request several times for it to be restocked. Bathroom was a fair size with bathtub & overhead shower. We dined at Quince, food was average but pricey. Our room rate did not include breakfast & we noticed that breakfast prices were quite excessive. We checked out & had breakfast at a nearby cafe! Overall, a tastefully decorated hotel, with a great bar but small rooms & very average service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim-brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have taken on board your feedback and thank you for bringing this to my attention. I am so sorry to hear that your mini bar was not fully stock and please do accept my personal apologies for this. I will most certainly follow up with the departments concerned.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for one night meeting family in London again, cannot fault a thing. True 5 star service, location and staff. I highly recommend this hotel when staying in London for luxury!!! Brilliant check in with Craig at reception, very helpful and friendly! Many Thanks The May Fair, we will be back again, for the 4th time - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirajasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your return stay with us. Your compliments were truly a pleasure to read and I will of course compliment Craig for your comments about him.
We very much hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#46 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing